Like Calves Let Out To Pasture

“But for you who fear my name, the Sun of Righteousness will rise with healing in his wings. And you will go free, leaping with joy like calves let out to pasture.” Malachi 4:2

The calves around here ain’t exactly what you’d call leaping for joy today, they just got weaned off their mamas and its a noisy one for sure on this place. The yearly ritual of weaning em off, get em going on some corn silage and second crop hay, back round em till late January or February and take em to the salebarn and get em sold. Hopefully the whole bunch gains some good weight by that time but don’t get fat. The buyers want a good frame that meat will grow on easy and fast. Those calves just have a shine on em in February and the buyers go wild bidding em up.

But looking back over the season I gotta admit, one of my favorite times of the year is about in May when the calves for the most part are just a few weeks old. They might be in the calving pasture yet which is a lot that’s seven acres of mostly well drained land, or they might’a just been put out on fresh, lush pasture with their mamas and enjoying every minute of it. Either way, many times on those really nice, calm, quiet spring evenings, just before the sun is going down for the day, they many times do what I call the “calf dance”. To me its probably on the top ten list of things that make life worth living. Now if you’ve never experience it you probably won’t get excited about reading about it, but for me its one of the most joyess things in creation!

By that time of the spring there’s quite a few calves on the ground, (that means born for those who ain’t living out here and don’t really understand the language). They’re little yet, but putting on some muscle fast, bones toning up and they are getting down right quick. Mama’s milk does wonders fast in those young calves. They’ve learned a bit about herd life by then, they follow along fairly good when the herd moves, but they also have friends, the calves around them. Come near sundown and those calves are prancing around, butting heads with other calves, sparring with each other and having fun. I don’t know what touches it off, but all of a sudden they will do what I call the “calf dance”. A group of them will all of a sudden take off in a run, all together, tails up in the air, hooves looking like they aren’t even touching the ground. They run fast, weaving in and out of the cow herd, then breaking free of the herd they just take off in the open land, all together like a flock of birds, making the same turns, running together so free spirited. The cows watch from the sidelines, probably chewing their cud, keeping one eye on their kids but letting them have the fun. Soon the sun will be going down, the calves get settled back with their mamas, the show is over for the day. I’ve watched from a distance, sometimes up close, right in amongst the herd. In the later part of calving the cows are so used to me I can be anywhere right among them and they don’t even get up. I can hear the calves breathing hard when the shoot past, feel the little hooves pounding the earth. There’s just something about it that brings a person closer to God, like no church could ever do. Life, newer life, celebrating life!

Its just a memory now, a memory until next spring starts the cycle over again. Those dancing calves are growed up allot bigger than they were back then. My cattleman’s handbook, (the Bible), says,  “And you will go free, leaping with joy like calves let out to pasture.” That’s a promise when we believe the Son, when we believe Jesus and what He did for each and every one of us on that old rugged cross.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2011/10/02/704/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I sure am lookin’ forward to that time…

    • Me too…..

  2. And I’ll tell you what (I’m editing an audiobook right now about why so many young people are leaving the church by droves), if they could see the LIFE Jesus has for us…exhibited in the joyful ROMP of the calves you describe & the heart of God as expressed in the verse you shared, they might leave the traditional church, but they’d NEVER leave the real Jesus, the God who makes calves & causes us to leap for joy at His love for us…that’s the GOSPEL…it’s GOOD news, not religion!

    I’d appreciate prayers from y’all here for 2 of my coworkers, Chris & Ed. I’m trying to communicate w/them THIS Gospel, the TRUE Jesus & GOOD news, not the “churchianity” that they run from…please pray God opens their eyes to see the difference between religion & relationship & that He DEEPLY loves them, as they are, and being a Christian is NOT a boring list of rules…it’s TRUE, JOYFUL LIFE!!! 🙂

    • I always say, I’d quit the church on the spot if it’d just be church as usual. In fact, I hate what most folks think of as “church”. It was Jesus that got me turned around, it was Jesus that cleaned me up. Not going to church. The reason why young people leave the church is because it ain’t real. That’s the same reason I’d leave a church. But when Jesus is the center, the church is alive, even when the folks are far from perfect.

      Oh Lord, this subject can get me going, but I’ll cut er short, You got the prayers for Chris and Ed. I know how they feel cause I was on the run too a few years ago. God Bless You Nina Ruth!


Leave a comment