My Father’s Will

Been a while since I wrote here. Where does the time go? Tonight the wind is howling outside, cold out, snow is drifting and I’m staying put in our nice warm house. Fired up the outdoor wood boiler good and full and that should take care of that till morning. The cattle are taken care of as good as I can. Nothing more I can do for them. Fed them till they couldn’t eat any more. Bedded them down in the loafing barn and now they’re on their own. In reality it isn’t that bad out, it could be thirty degrees colder with the same wind. Now that starts to get tough! So tonight I sit a few moment and sip a hot cup of coffee and gather my self back together after another rough Saturday.

“For my Father’s will is that everyone who looks to the Son and believes in him shall have eternal life, and I will raise them up at the last day.” John 6:40

Winter time means some long evenings in the house, which I’m not complaining about by the way. In the north country the days are really long in the summertime and a fella works those hours too. Now is the time to recoup some of that time spent working  all spring, summer and fall. Spend the evening looking through the newspaper called “Western Ag Reporter”, checking out cattle prices, trends, and news in the cattle business. Reading the old stories of days gone by, checking the advertisements of the seedstock people for the new bloodlines of bulls. Read some of the comical articles that give a person a belly laugh. All in all, I enjoy evenings in a warm house. And there’s planning to do, there’s figuring out when to sell the backrounding calves, there’s grain to sell soon to build up a money supply for this next year’s crops. Taxes are coming soon too, although I usually put that off as much as I can.

I remember a few years back when I read about a rancher in Oregon that also preached the Gospel. Now I was really spiritually sheltered, or some could call it flat out stupid, but I always thought a person had to be a clean handed, never do any work of any kind type of person in order to become a preacher. But I read about that rancher, and remember seeing him cutting hay with a team of horses and a horse drawn mower and it told how he spread the gospel in his area. Now that caught my eye, so much that in fact I will never, ever forget it. That moment, reading a ranching magazine is truly the moment I knew that I could do something similar. I had always thought that there were two types of folks as far as Christianity was concerned. Clean handed preachers and pew sitters. And I always figured if you didn’t go to some bible college as a young person you ended up being a pew sitter and that was that for that. You found your place and stayed in it.

Thanks to a ranching magazine things started to happen around here. Now this way of life is the only one I truly do, cattle raising, and over the past few years I have discovered that it can blend with preaching the Gospel. A while back a person that I was leading to Christ was somewhat shocked. He knew I was a cattleman, but couldn’t believe that I was a minister too. I guess he thought like I used to think! But the job got done regardless and he accepted Jesus, but I know he was thinking about that cattleman preacher for a few days!

Its the Father’s will that everyone that looks to the Son and believes in Him shall have eternal life. That’s all a fella has to spread. The world is hungry for the truth, for something lasting. And the Gospel sets people free. I don’t hammer them over the head with it, just tell em, and let God do the work. If I try to do the work I just get in the way.

Published in: on December 11, 2010 at 8:11 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2010/12/11/my-fathers-will/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

