There Is Freedom!

The fall season has arrived here in the north country, we haven’t had a frost yet but that’s coming one of these days for sure. Even without a frost many of the leaves on the trees are already thinning out. A fella can see allot farther into the brush than he could of a month ago. And with this season coming upon us here  there’s the seasonal work starting soon of bringing herds home, weaning calves, vaccinating calves, checking out cows, and getting a good portion of the cows on late fall pastures. Another job, an in house job, is to go through the veterinary catalogs and see what supplies we need for all of this, check out prices, and see what’s the best deal a person can come up with while still giving maximum protection to all the cattle again this year. I kind of like going through the catalogs, cause once I get the vaccines figured out I keep on browsing and farm and ranch catalogs are a type of wish book for people like me.

And after a hot and humid summer I enjoy this weather, even when its cool and windy. Refreshing and good for the soul I figure. The air pouring in from the great Northwest is about as clean and invigorating as it gets! Some folks don’t really like the north country, but all in all, I do. Oh, it can get rough in winter for sure and a person wonders, what in the world am I living here for, but the benefits out weigh the down sides, by allot! And when there’s plenty of winter feed for the cowherd, well things get mighty good. A fella can sleep at night knowing that the feed for the cows is there for them the next day, and the days following that. It is a blessing having an ample supply of hay and silage! And I don’t forget that these blessings are from the Lord! No sir, a person had better not start figuring that he or she has got it together because it seems the moment a person starts feeling that way, things head south, fast.

2 Corinthians 3

17Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.

Always liked that verse, even like it when they sing a song with some of those words in it at our little country church. Yep, where the Spirit of the Lord is….THERE  IS FREEDOM! What does this have to do with what I wrote above? Durned if I know, it just came to me to put that verse down. And tonight I’ll leave it at that!

Published in: on September 24, 2010 at 7:12 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2010/09/24/there-is-freedom/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well, Tom, living down here in the Amazon I can say I feel about the same way over my little patch of jungle that you do over your piece of “10,000 Lakes”. It’s all about being content with where you are and what you have. We run a cow-calf, grass-fed operation and what better place then where it rains enough that you can almost see it grow behind the grazing cows.

    And you’re right, when a fella starts thinking about how well he’s done for himself, and forgets the Lord who is the fount of our blessings, well I guess there’s no better place than a grass-fed operation to bring home these verses from The Book of Daniel:

    Daniel 4:33
    Immediately what had been said about Nebuchadnezzar was fulfilled. He was driven away from people and ate grass like cattle. His body was drenched with the dew of heaven until his hair grew like the feathers of an eagle and his nails like the claws of a bird.

    Daniel 5:21
    He was driven away from people and given the mind of an animal; he lived with the wild donkeys and ate grass like cattle; and his body was drenched with the dew of heaven, until he acknowledged that the Most High God is sovereign over the kingdoms of men and sets over them anyone he wishes.

    And so I will acknowledge the Lord God as my Sovereign and thank Him for the blessings he pours out on us on a daily basis. God is indeed good, in fact Jesus teaches that ONLY God is good. But His blessings sure a nice. No matter where you live.

  2. I could only dream of an cattle outfit like that!! Nearest I get to you is Central America, Honduras to be exact, and I love it down there! I was working cows in the chute today and was surprised on how well they looked this early fall season. And it has very little to do with me. The grass fed em, and they are fat! God did it, not me, I didn’t make the rains come, He did, I didn’t make the beautiful sunny days, He did!

    I think it was Paul that said he was content no matter what the situation or where he was at. Contentment is a great blessing to carry with a person, more valuable then the riches of this earth.

    And I thank you for posting here. An honor really, to have a fellow cattleman from down your way on this blog! I always say, a cattleman is a cattleman, no matter where they are from cause cattle all speak the same language and we all understand it the same 🙂

    God Bless You and Thank You!!


Leave a Reply

