Believe in Him

John 6:28-29 (New King James Version)

28 Then they said to Him, “What shall we do, that we may work the works of God?”
29 Jesus answered and said to them, “This is the work of God, that you believe in Him whom He sent.”

Beautiful day this Sunday! Church is done and I have a few minutes to sit back. Hopefully the nice weather that’s forecast will knock the snow pack down somewhat. Then maybe some jobs can start getting done around here. Its nice to see the cattle relaxing so much lately, not hunkered up against the cold. Last evening I was reading my Bible and came across the verses above and for some reason they hit me.

As winter slowly progresses and cabin fever seems to be affecting the folks in the area more and more about the only thing a person can do in the late evenings is read the Bible. Now there sure ain’t nothing wrong with that let me tell you, but I guess I’m a little like most folks around here and getting a little restless as we wait for the snow to start disappearing. Even with church I’m getting restless. Now there sure ain’t nothing wrong in church, just that I’m starting to like being out with the regular folks, spreading the Gospel, and I get just a bit bored in church where some folks think that church is where its all at. In many ways its a bit boring putting up with the same old thing all the time. I’m not alone in this at all though. There’s a few others that seem to be getting the bug to get out amongst the unsaved and spend a greater share of time with them. At least there when someone responds to the message it means something most of the time.

If a person truly believes the verses above a strange thing happens to them. Now, a person is a vessel that is supposed to be carrying the Holy Spirit around, doing the will of Christ, and the more a person just simply believes the words in verse 29 above the more he or she is driven to step out. Good thing to because I know that if a person is trying to spread the Gospel on their own power it usually doesn’t work out that great. I’d rather believe in Jesus with everything I have and then things go simply compared to just ol’  Tom trying to witness. Thus things simply come out because of belief. Life doesn’t get much easier than that in comparison to trying to go out on our own with some formula evangelism method that is about as comfortable as getting a root canal.

This next week there’ll be a few more personal visits to farms and homes. Kind of addicting for me.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2010/02/28/believe-in-him/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Farm visitation…now that is awesome!!! 🙂 God bless & fill & empower you in His work!

    p.s. John 6:29 is one of my life verses…SIMPLY BELIEVE Jesus. No need to complicate the gospel! 🙂

  2. “That you believe in Him whom He sent.”

    Yep, simple. Who’da ever thought! Believe in Him who He sent and also tell what He did and does for us every single moment. Durn, Christianity sure does simplify fast this way. Don’t have to take two steps to the left and three to the right, just believe! Amen!?

    I’m kinda glad the “weekend” is over and I can get back to the regular flow around here. Sometimes I like the week a whole lot better than the weekend. Lots of good work to do around this place and hopefully spend a few evenings here and there telling what God has done through His Son in our lives around here!

    God Bless!

  3. Your church sounds like a good church and could be a good place to fill up before you head out to pour yourself out for the lost.Drop your duties at church before you drop church.The Lord often changes your mind/heart as He shifts your ministry. Just my opinion

  4. Hi Patti!

    Well, your opinion is a good one! Cause I sure ain’t dropping our church! Its just like working out here with the cattle and crops, if I don’t get a good meal, allot of food, I sure won’t get the work done that needs being done. Besides I still go by the saying, “you better dance with the one that brung yuh”.

    Old Peter, when Jesus asked him if he would leave too after the majority of disciples turned tail and run for the hills said, “To whom shall we go?”

    Nope, I’m staying right where I’m at as far as church goes. Your right on with saying drop your duties before dropping the church. Thanks for this Patti, I needed the confirmation!

    God Bless!


Leave a Reply

