Which Is Easier?

With the week winding down here tonight I look back and am satisfied. All is well here, the calves are gone and they commanded a high price. Three steers are butchered and hanging at the locker plant. The temps are beautiful and there has been very little wind since this past Monday. Things are slowly melting on the driveways and corral roads. I’m hoping the snow pack goes down a bit so I can make it into the woods. The wood pile here is getting rather small, the main farm woodpile is fine I might add, but the pile for this house is almost done. The snow is to deep to make it to the back forty and cut anything so it looks like I’ll have to borrow from the other pile and maybe get some slab wood from a sawmill locally to tide us through. No big deal.

Tomorrow is Sunday and that means church if the cattle are good. I decided to take a month off from speaking in church and get into some other things around the area. Just a temporary break, a time to refocus on the main mission. Tonight I was dwelling on something from the Bible. From Luke chapter 5.

17 Now it happened on a certain day, as He was teaching, that there were Pharisees and teachers of the law sitting by, who had come out of every town of Galilee, Judea, and Jerusalem. And the power of the Lord was present to heal them. 18 Then behold, men brought on a bed a man who was paralyzed, whom they sought to bring in and lay before Him. 19 And when they could not find how they might bring him in, because of the crowd, they went up on the housetop and let him down with his bed through the tiling into the midst before Jesus.
20 When He saw their faith, He said to him, “Man, your sins are forgiven you.”
21 And the scribes and the Pharisees began to reason, saying, “Who is this who speaks blasphemies? Who can forgive sins but God alone?”
22 But when Jesus perceived their thoughts, He answered and said to them, “Why are you reasoning in your hearts? 23 Which is easier, to say, ‘Your sins are forgiven you,’ or to say, ‘Rise up and walk’? 24 But that you may know that the Son of Man has power on earth to forgive sins”—He said to the man who was paralyzed, “I say to you, arise, take up your bed, and go to your house.”
25 Immediately he rose up before them, took up what he had been lying on, and departed to his own house, glorifying God. 26 And they were all amazed, and they glorified God and were filled with fear, saying, “We have seen strange things today!”

There’s nothing I love more than Gospel stories and the Gospel of Luke is a winner, or should I say a loser? Sometimes called the Gospel of Outcasts, I identify with so much of it.In reality all the Gospels are loaded with outcasts. That makes me feel right at home with them I guess! Many know the Gospel story above but I want to dwell on these words; 23 Which is easier, to say, ‘Your sins are forgiven you,’ or to say, ‘Rise up and walk’? The last couple of days this hit me! Hit me right between the eyes!

Now I must confess with my limited human reasoning I always read this and for some reason when Jesus said your sins are forgiven I always figured that was the easy part and I waited for the “good” part, the action part where the man gets healed to the Glory of God. But I confess I was wrong. Which is easier?

Sometimes God is so touched by what He sees that He gives us what we need and not simply what we ask for. Cause face it, what we ask for is simple, very simple for God! Healing, having our needs met, all very simple for God and His promises are all over in the Bible regarding all of this. But God is a whole lot smarter than us folks and sometimes He will jump over what’s obvious to us, the needs we see and He’ll jump right to the very heart of the matter, the parts that are much more important than what we see.

Nothing is more important to God than our standing with Him. He wants no one to perish, He wants eternal life to all, to all that will believe in His Son. We all have problems, some have terrible problems but one thing is for sure, none of us are immune to problems. God sees all of our problems and cares for us as a good father would. But since the beginning of time I wonder if anyone has ever uttered a prayer like this. To tell you the truth I don’t think one person ever has since the world began. Why? Because we can’t think like God thinks. “God, would you please hang yourself on a tool of torture as a substitution for every mistake I have ever committed?” And then have the gall to add, “And after you forgive me, could you prepare a place in your house to live forever?” And if that ain’t enough, “And would you please live within me and protect me and guide me and bless me with more than I could ever deserve?”

No, we only ask for the small stuff. Praise the Lord God took it upon Himself to jump over our small needs and get right to the big need! Every promise and every blessing in the Bible is available to those who “only believe”. But isn’t it good to know we have a God that is far ahead of us, who knows our every need and goes far, far beyond what we ask for in our simple ways!

That Gospel story has a very new meaning to me this winter evening. A God that cares for me much more than I could ever ask.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2010/02/20/which-is-easier/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great post!

    it feel like spring here to day! 😉

    take care

  2. Morning Jan!!

    It don’t feel like spring here 🙂 Two feet of snow everywhere and it don’t look like its leaving anytime soon! But its been rather nice out lately and I ain’t complaining one bit!

    Thanks!

    God Bless!

  3. Been a while since I’ve been around, don’t know if you remember me. I’m reading over some of the posts I missed – good food for the soul. Glad to see you are still writing with fire. I look forward to stopping by more often. God bless.

  4. Howdy Lorie!

    Glad to have you back! I guess I’ll write till I can’t write any more which hopefully will be a long time from now 🙂

    Thanks and God Bless!

  5. Amen


Leave a Reply

