The Real World

2 Kings 6 (New King James Version)

15 And when the servant of the man of God arose early and went out, there was an army, surrounding the city with horses and chariots. And his servant said to him, “Alas, my master! What shall we do?”
16 So he answered, “Do not fear, for those who are with us are more than those who are with them.”

Spent the day, after morning chores working on the Bobcat.I was hauling silage and bales and I noticed the heater fan was about to give up the ghost, was grinding and growling so I decided it was a good time to make the 35 mile journey to the city and stop in at the Bobcat dealer to invest in a new fan motor. Spent the greater part of the afternoon doing the impossible, that is, working on a Bobcat. I tell you, it isn’t for the weak of heart! You gotta be double or triple jointed to do anything on those machines. But it got done and I can visualize a warm farmer tomorrow morning in the sub zero cold, feeding cows and praising the Lord without shivering! Glory!

Last evening I taught Children’s Church in the nice and warm doublewide alongside of our church. I taught on the verses above and a few more before and after them. The words “Do not fear, for those who are with us are more than those who are with them”, really stuck to me yesterday while working on the farm and I just had to tell the kids about it in my own unusual way. I love those kind of things from the Bible. Good old Elisha, he wasn’t afraid of an enemy army surrounding his house. He knew who was on his side, the armies of God!

17 And Elisha prayed, and said, “LORD, I pray, open his eyes that he may see.” Then the LORD opened the eyes of the young man, and he saw. And behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha.

Amen to that! Yep, this farmer was dwelling on that yesterday while working out here on the frozen tundra! Do I really believe that God is there to protect us? More and more I sure am! The more a person looks to God, believes what His Word says, the more a person starts to see reality. Beyond our five simple senses and starts getting into the real world! Think about it, if we believe this, if we really believe what is written, we aren’t alone in this journey, in fact we out number the world! Kinda neat if you ask me. The usual Christian way of expressing things is that we are alone, the world doesn’t understand. But reality of the Word says that the world doesn’t  understand that they are out numbered by a multitude to big to imagine! Hmm, think about that.

Think about that in our every day lives, where ever we are, where ever we go.I think about that on the farm, while I’m working,looking up on the hay hill to the east and wondering how many chariots of fire are up there. I know they are there! I believe the protecting angels are all over the farm. This is when Christianity gets really interesting, when a person believes the Bible. When a person sees miracles all the time. When a person sees God move in every situation, and recognizes it!

Farming takes faith. And faith is simply believing that God is who He says He is. That God will do what He says He will do. That His promises to us are real. More real than anything we sense with our natural  senses. Just believe! Just believe and God will do everything He has promised He will do. Boy, Christianity sure is simple when a person gets right down to the brass tacks of it. It doesn’t do a person a whole lot of good to go to church all the time, going through the motions if we don’t simply believe that God is who He says He is and will do what He says He will do.

The whole Bible is chock full of promises! Good promises by a God who delivers, who cannot go back on His promises. All He asks is for us to simply believe. And when we believe we get filled with God’s love that builds up our faith and hope. Believe like a child, not doubts, just trust that God is who He says He is. Tell the wise to just leave me alone, I’m trusting the King of the universe, not in a fallen system that will burn away. I’ll trust in those horses and chariots of fire from the real world and not in the corruptible horses and chariots of man!

Old Elisha, he knew, he saw. He knew reality. These days are exciting times to be living in. The world is going one way, and the Kingdom is going another. This farmer is going with the larger crowd! What a way to wake up in the morning knowing that we are the overwhelming majority! What a way to work all day long knowing that we’re on the winning side! How can a person even deny knowing Jesus when they know this for a fact! I guess this is one of the reasons this farmer will openly declare Jesus Christ to any and all. This is why I can take something like farming and make it into an adventure for the Kingdom of God. Do I ever get bored with this? The answer is no. day after day, week after week, year after year it just keeps building.

Published in: on January 28, 2010 at 9:34 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2010/01/28/the-real-world/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Amen & Amen! I’ve been praying, lately, that God would open my eyes to the things unseen & strengthen my faith! Vain is the help of man, King David said…but God’s help is irrefutable!

  2. Morning Nina Ruth!

    Same here, that God would open our eyes to see what we call the unseen, but are truly the real things!

    I know that I know that yesterday God was with us here in our family. Miracles unfolding one right after another!

    “God’s help is irrefutable!” Amen to that!

    God bless!


Leave a Reply

