An Open Door

Revelation 3:8 (New King James Version)

8 “I know your works. See, I have set before you an open door, and no one can shut it; for you have a little strength, have kept My word, and have not denied My name.

All continues to go well as January is winding down. It cooled off in these parts again and to tell the truth I like it better. It was just starting to get sloppy and some of the cattle were getting a little mudded up on their bellies and it was taking allot of straw all of a sudden to keep them clean. Now that it cooled down things are well under control again. Today was uneventful except for a big mistake made by our fuel man.I called up to order 300 gallons of diesel fuel and thought no more of it Just before noon he came and I seen him over by the two tanks, both 300 gallon, above ground tanks. A while later he came with the bill and told me the tank wasn’t empty, he said it was a third full so the bill was not so big. Now old Tom knew the diesel tank was empty and I had a sick gut feeling that the mistake had been made and I was right. He pumped 178 gallons of diesel fuel into the gas barrel. Oops! Which just goes to show that I’m not the only one in the world that screws up! Kinda made me happy in a way, now I know I’m not alone. But back to the adventure, the fuel man knew it was his fault instantly, cause how could anyone get out of this one when the diesel barrel is labeled diesel and the gas barrel is labeled regular unleaded?! In big letters too! Live and learn! I felt kinda bad for him and asked him what he’d do to the mix that he created and I felt better when he told me he could use it all to heat his shop, just gotta mix more fuel oil into the mixture to make it safer. So alls well that ends well with that.

This evening after doing a bit with taxes and getting more and more satisfied that I’m pretty well prepared I worked on our farm newsletter, “The Seed Sower” for a bit. Almost done with that, just have to put a roast beef recipe in there yet on page two and away we go! I’m kinda excited about starting a farm publication to keep in contact with all of our customers. Plus folks will be getting a dose of Farming For Jesus in the little Seed Sower newsletter too. In the verse above something caught me eye, (and heart). “I have set before you an open door, and no one can shut it.” So what could this possibly have to do with anything I’m writing about tonight? Plenty! Over these past few years since coming to the Lord He has been opening doors like I wouldn’t, or couldn’t even imagine a couple of years ago! But its up to me, and no one else but me to go through those doors that He has opened in my life. Others would not understand when a door is opened for me, just as I probably wouldn’t see their open door from my point of view.

God has opened doors and I ain’t saying no to something from Him. God has miraculously provided all the customers we need, when we need them, not a moment to soon or too late, always with perfect timing. God say to trust Him and when we do it always works, every time without exception. Now God is working on my heart to have me let it be known that this is a Christian farm and to spread the Good News anytime I do anything involving the farm. The way I figure it and have gradually come to understand it is that the farm is owned by Jesus, my family belongs to Jesus, everything we have belongs to Jesus. I’m just the caretaker, the steward of our King’s possessions.

The one thing I’ve learned these past few years is the fact that as a farmer I can reach many, many more times the people than a pastor of a church could possibly reach. The doors are open when I come and talk about Jesus, the barriers are way down when a farmer with dirt under the nails talks about what Jesus has done for him than say a regular church preacher was trying the same thing. This is not belittling any pastors of churches, its just a fact. A farmer can talk the talk, can get right down to where the folks are. I had this happen this past week, a door flew wide open and I was able to minister, to gain the trust of a man that had very little to do with churches. A person can be talking one minute about skidsteer loaders and the next about Jesus. Hey, it works! And nothing catches the attention than real life testimonies when talking to other farmers and countryfolk.

This is going to be an exciting year the way it looks to me. I’m looking forward to a good year on the farm, with the crops, with the cattle, and also with working for the real owner of us and it all. No one can shut the door that Jesus opens for us. Its up to us to go through that door because when we do He will be with us every step of the way. Don’t matter what folks say or think about it all, because other folks aren’t going to be taking care of you, only Jesus can do that, perfectly.

Published in: on January 26, 2010 at 8:58 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2010/01/26/an-open-door/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

