Makings of a Country Sermon

The Lord’s Day today and it was a very good one! An anointed church service this morning and warm temps melting the ice around here that saturated the area yesterday. Yesterday the morning chores were down right dangerous with the icy conditions making it almost impossible to even walk anywhere. My main concern in the dark hours of early morning was if the cattle would be able to safely walk around without going down because of the ice. Well, my prayers were answered because where the cattle were they had the ice chewed up with their hooves and that was the only place on the farm that wasn’t slippery. There were a few hundred homes and farms without power right in the immediate area but we were spared the misery of that. So I didn’t have to set up any generators or anything like that which was fine with me.

Today in church was my day to start the service and then later give a shorter message, shorter than the main sermon but probably as long as main sermons in some time strapped churches. I’m starting to find what works best with me at the pulpit. Used to be I’d work and work, writing down notes and thoughts for when I was up there, but lately that is changing to just being armed with a few Bible verses and to tell the truth it goes much, much easier for me. In fact I really don’t know what I’ll be saying right up to the moment that I take the pulpit. Just relying on God and relying on His Word is all. Not relying on my notes and such. It seems to go very well, even if I can’t hardly remember any of it. When all is done I head to the back and unhook my mike that is clipped onto the collar of my clean work shirt, unclip the power pack from my Wrangler’s pocket and hand it back to the sound booth. The one thing and this is a very big thing that I’ve noticed since only being armed with the Word of God in the pulpit is the fact that sometimes after handing in the mike I’m almost totally exhausted! Doesn’t matter if its an hour sermon or 15 minutes, I almost collapse afterwards. Today I just slumped into a chair in the foyer for a few minutes before I could even get enough strength to take a seat in the back row of church for the rest of the service.

Today I had four Bible verses on paper, printed out in large print so I could read them at a glance. Here’s what they were.

Psalm 20:7-8 (New International Version)

7 Some trust in chariots and some in horses,
but we trust in the name of the LORD our God.

8 They are brought to their knees and fall,
but we rise up and stand firm.

John 14:12-14 (New Living Translation)

12 “I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father. 13 You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father. 14 Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it!

Mark 9:23 (New King James Version)

23 Jesus said to him, “If you can believe, all things are possible to him who believes.”

2 Timothy 2:13 (The Living Bible)

Even when we are too weak to have any faith left, He remains faithful to us and will help us, for He cannot disown us who are a part of Himself, and He will always carry out His promises to us.

These verses from four different books of the Word set the course for a good message. In fact the message has moved me as much as the most moved person listening. The part that got me was the last verse, from 1 Timothy. What a promise! What hope that puts in me!

Published in: on January 24, 2010 at 7:04 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2010/01/24/makings-of-a-country-sermon/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. have ya taped any of your sermoms?

    glsd that all went well with the ice.

    we are heading back with winter this week 😕

    take care

  2. Morning Jan!

    Well I don’t know if mine are taped or not, I don’t think so but I can ask. They tape mine for sure when its the full service, hour long sermons but I don’t know about the ten to fifteen minute short ones.

    No ice now, just brisk wind and snow this morning, ah, winter 🙂

    God Bless!


Leave a Reply

