Whatever You Ask

11Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the miracles themselves. 12I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. 13And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Son may bring glory to the Father. 14You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it. John 14

Kinda murky around these parts the last couple of days with a steady wind from the east. Those that know say that it could be a sloppy weekend around thee part and that’s no big deal with me. At least it isn’t cold out, been in the upper twenties and that’s summer in January in these parts! Nothing much new happening around here, just the same daily stuff on the farm, cut a little wood here and there and do chores every morning is about the extent of the day light hours.

A few minutes ago I ran across these verses and I just had to head them up on top of this post today! The question is, do we believe them? Do we believe this is for today or is it just something far in the past that fizzled out after the Apostles died? Folks can believe what they want I guess but I’m standing on the Word of God and I believe these words! I believe they are for today because Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever.He doesn’t change, man does, society does. And so does religion. Religion changes to keep in touch with the “times” as they say. Actually there’s two kinds of religion that don’t believe in the scripture, one is the kind that hangs on to traditions of men that were fabricated in the dark ages and folks figured they could set man’s apostasy in stone, figuring that if we keep these traditions and have us a dead and dry religion, that that’s the only way to go. Has nothing really to do with God at at. It has to do with a god made in the image of men. Then on the other extreme are those that follow society, throwing out much of the Word to please men and themselves, to justify living in sin, to justify societies sin, to overlook it or worse, call it good.

But there is the Word of God, that never changes, that is eternal and that’s what I must follow.Not men, not man made traditions from the middle ages when folks weren’t even allowed to read the Word, who were murdered for even attempting it, both  Catholic and Protestant. Many times a person reads folks arguing about Christianity, about how Christians murdered other Christians through the centuries and say how could it be justified. My answer is simple. Those church folks doing the murdering were not and are not Christian, simple. They were and are followers of man made religion that has very little if anything to do with God.

A Christian  believes the Bible its the most precious thing on this earth. Much more precious than anything else. It is the Living Word. Around the world millions of people hope to someday have a copy of the Bible. Crowds literally fight over Bibles in evangelistic campaigns in poor countries. In this society they are often not thought of as that special by church folk. For many the only real time that they handle a Bible is on Sunday morning, bring it into church to make it look good. Or if they don’t do that the church has pew Bibles so folks can at least touch one once a week.

But to the believer the Word is precious, so very precious. It is life itself. It is a Book written about our God and His relationship with us. It is a Book of more power than any other thing in the universe! Dead religion and dead churches do not preach this, but I believe it with everything I got! If we believe the Bible, if we believe the Word, all the power is available to those who “only believe”. GLORY! To those that DARE to believe! Yes, I truly do believe this and its growing stronger every day, this faith in what I have just written. This faith in the verses at the top of this post. Only believe and we will be doing what Jesus was doing in the Word. Hey, I didn’t say it, God said it!

There is no problem to big for God! He will alter the universe to help a person that trusts in His Word, He will tax the furthest star! This is what I truly believe. This isn’t anything to do with some modern prosperity Gospel that is only interested in carnal things. This is the promise of the Word, the promise of God Himself! Don’t let anyone ever tell you that these promises aren’t for us, if they say that they are liars,plain and simple. God sent forth His Word for us, to be believed, to be acted upon! To live the life of the Word is the best life anyone could ever have on this earth. God will never let us down, ever! We might walk away in unbelief, but God will never walk away from someone who believes, who trusts Him. Who hands over every care and problem to Him. Who praised the Lord in joy no matter what the circumstances!

Oh yes, this excites me,more than anything else in life because this is life itself! The life God wants us to live. A life of trusting Him in everything we do. Farming for Jesus is simply farming with this faith, with this belief. Giving it all over to God, the master farmer, is the best business plan, life plan, that anyone could ever have!

Published in: on January 21, 2010 at 7:01 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2010/01/21/whatever-you-ask/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. hello 😉

  2. Morning Jan!

    And a Blessed Sunday morning it is!

    God Bless!

  3. “There is no problem to big for God! He will alter the universe to help a person that trusts in His Word, He will tax the furthest star! This is what I truly believe. This isn’t anything to do with some modern prosperity Gospel that is only interested in carnal things. This is the promise of the Word, the promise of God Himself! Don’t let anyone ever tell you that these promises aren’t for us, if they say that they are liars,plain and simple. God sent forth His Word for us, to be believed, to be acted upon! To live the life of the Word is the best life anyone could ever have on this earth. God will never let us down, ever! We might walk away in unbelief, but God will never walk away from someone who believes, who trusts Him. Who hands over every care and problem to Him. Who praised the Lord in joy no matter what the circumstances!

    Oh yes, this excites me,more than anything else in life because this is life itself! The life God wants us to live. A life of trusting Him in everything we do. Farming for Jesus is simply farming with this faith, with this belief. Giving it all over to God, the master farmer, is the best business plan, life plan, that anyone could ever have!”

    AMEN, brother! Just saw “Experiencing the Spirit” by Henry Blackaby (of “Experiencing God” fame) in the bookstore…again, that theme of the fact that the Holy Spirit did NOT cease His works in the book of Acts! Jesus’ promises are for us TODAY, too!

    please keep praying I trust HIM!!!

    the Lord bless you!!!

  4. Hi Nina Ruth!

    Wow! Did I write that??!! Guess I did! When I write I don’t even know what I’ve written half the time, it just comes!

    The believers that do mighty things are the believers that believe that Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever. Not once was. Oh I truly wish I could write the things that go on around here just because of simple belief! I’d be scoffed at so fast it’d make your head spin. Even then I’d write about them but I don’t because of privacy issues for other folks. But I can testify that God is doing the same as in the Book of Acts days around here!

    God Bless!

  5. amen! anyone who wants to share about the miracles, the “greater things”, I’m always encouraged to hear! yeah, Tom, you wrote that…I know whenever I’ve prayed in the Spirit (or been prayed for in the Spirit) or written to someone in the Spirit, I also don’t remember what I said…it was totally a “God” thing! 🙂


Leave a Reply

