Faith, Hope and Love

1 Since you have been raised to new life with Christ, set your sights on the realities of heaven, where Christ sits in the place of honor at God’s right hand. 2 Think about the things of heaven, not the things of earth. 3 For you died to this life, and your real life is hidden with Christ in God. 4 And when Christ, who is your life, is revealed to the whole world, you will share in all his glory.

The above is from Colossians, chapter 3. I was reading my Bible last evening, winding down a Sunday and for some reason these verses just jumped out at me. I’ve been thinking a bit more eternally lately and when I come across some of these verses they catch my eye. And one more verse, a rather popular one with many from 1 Corinthians chapter 13.

13 Three things will last forever—faith, hope, and love—and the greatest of these is love.

Now I lean on writing and talking about faith allot. I love learning about faith, I love practicing faith and I love the results from faith. For as it is written, without faith its impossible to please Him. Love,well there’s lots and lots nowadays written on that subject in the Christian circles but I was thinking last evening that I don’t really run across the hope all that much. It might be just me because I tend to lean towards other things but every thing has its season and I do believe I’m getting into the hope season! One thing I noticed was when I started running across verses about hope that I became excited and could tell the the Holy Spirit wants me to go there.

So today I cleaned out the calf barn, I don’t know,maybe twenty five loads of manure that had thawed in this January warm spell. I thought, what is the Gospel?  The Gospel is hope! We’ve all heard the saying,hope for the hopeless and this has been working on me all day. Hope when there is no hope.I guess one reason it never really affected me so much before was the fact that we live in such a materialistic society that we kinda brush off hope because in the back of our minds or maybe even in the front of our minds we still rely on society. But any reliance on society will let a person down sooner or later and the one thing that is for sure is, anything we rely on society for will not be eternal. In the western church especially there has been a convenient blend of the world and Christianity, one that people and I mean church folks even raise the roof when a person talks about this subject. The blend of one foot relying on the world and the other supposedly relying on God. This does not mean a person becomes a recluse, this means that a person puts there trust in God, in the eternal.

So many, many times I have had folks tell me that they never see results from faith, they never really see the power of God in their lives. I believe them. I ask one simple, very simple question to the powerless Christians. “Do you read the Bible often?”  The answer is always no. In my heart I feel so sorry for these folks. I always tell them to read the Bible, even if you don’t feel like it. Do it daily at the least. This is the way to build up faith, hope and love. It doesn’t come by listening or watching popular preachers. Oh, it might keep a person going a while, but there will not be the growth that the Word brings to a person. In third world countries it amazes me, the hunger for Bibles. Here folks come up with all sorts of excuses to not read the Word.

The Word says three things will last forever, forever in our lives. Nothing else will, nothing. Think about that, nothing else will. This doesn’t mean that a person becomes a recluse and just reads the Bible day in and day out, not functioning in the regular world. No, a person, a Christian is here for one purpose, and that is to be the feet of Jesus,the mouth piece of Jesus. To bring hope to the hopeless, to spread the love of Christ in every direction in our lives. To have that faith that God will back us up with signs and wonders as He has promised to those who believe. This means that even a farmer, a simple farmer, who reads the Word, believes the Word, and acts on the Word can do incredible things! One of my favorite verses in the Bible is that God uses the foolish things of this world to confound the wise of this world. Amen! That means me! I’m hired!

When a believer stands before the judgment seat of Christ the only thing they will keep from this life are the three things mentioned in the verse above. Everything else will be burned off! In other words, everything beyond these three things is meaningless. Oh Lord, this excites me. This life is short,  incredibly short. The time given to us is to is to determine our eternal destiny. Every moment not doing God’s will is a waste. Every meaningless word will be burned up to our shame.

Jesus Christ gave it all for us, gave everything. He showed us how to live, He taught us how to love, how to have faith and how to hope. He dwells in every believer but we are the ones in control of our lives. Do we allow Him to operate through us. Or are we content being church folk, putting on the show, trying to be popular, and keeping Jesus safely under wraps?

Published in: on January 18, 2010 at 7:32 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2010/01/18/faith-hope-and-love/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Farmer/Brother Tom! This was sooooooo timely! I just read another devo. by brother David Wilkerson:
    ______________
    Tuesday, January 19, 2010
    GOD‘S FIRE STILL BURNS

    Sadly, much of Christ’s Body today resembles a modern-day Valley of Dry Bones. It is a wilderness filled with the bleached skeletons of fallen Christians. Ministers and other devoted believers have flamed out because of a besetting sin. And now they are filled with shame, hiding out in caves of their own making. Like Jeremiah, they have convinced themselves, “I will not make mention of [the Lord], nor speak any more in his name” (Jeremiah 20:9).

    God is still asking the same question he asked Ezekiel: “Can these dead bones live again?” The answer to this question is an absolute, “Yes!” How? It happens by the renewing of our faith in God’s Word.

    The Word of the Lord is itself a consuming fire. Indeed, it’s the only true light we have during our dark nights of despair. It’s our only defense against the enemy’s lies, when he whispers, “It’s all over. You’ve lost the fire. And you’re never going to get it back.”

    The only thing that will bring us out of our darkness is faith. And faith comes by hearing God’s Word. We simply have to cling to the Word that has been implanted in us. The Lord has promised, “I will not let you go down; therefore, you have no reason to despair. There’s no cause for quitting. Rest in my Word.”

    You may think, “But this dark night is worse than anything I’ve ever known. I’ve heard a thousand sermons on God’s Word, but none of it seems of any value to me now.” Don’t fret; God’s fire still burns in you, even if you can’t see it. And you’re to pour onto that fire the fuel of faith. You do this by trusting the Lord. When you do, you’ll see all your doubts and lusts consumed.

    God’s Spirit is breathing life again into every set of dry bones. He’s reminding them of the Word he implanted in them. And those who once lay dead are being revived. They’re crying as Jeremiah did, “God’s fire has been shut up in me for too long. I simply can’t hold it any longer. I can feel the Lord’s power raising me up. He’s putting life in me. And I’m going to speak the Word he gave me. I’m going to proclaim his mercy and healing power.”

    ____________________
    Again, it’s all about the WORD! Don’t get my daily instructions even from good preachers or devos. alone…I must be in the WORD myself! The Lord was speaking that to my heart the past 2 days but your blog & brother Dave’s just confirmed it again…I need the Word & to believe it, in simple faith & act upon it with simple faith!

    Psalm 107:20 says He sent forth His WORD & healed them & delivered them from their destructions…please pray He delivers me by His WORD re: unbelief in my life (I struggle to believe I can really hear His Voice today…I know that’s the enemy getting me to doubt…)

    keep up the great gems of mining from His WORD, brother Tom!

  2. Wow Nina Ruth!

    I needed that word today! Timely!

    To trust in the Word is what its all about! When we stumble and fall a person who has the Word implanted in them will rise up again, in fact its like the verses from Jeremiah

    “God’s fire has been shut up in me for too long. I simply can’t hold it any longer. I can feel the Lord’s power raising me up. He’s putting life in me. And I’m going to speak the Word he gave me. I’m going to proclaim his mercy and healing power.”

    These verses are on my top ten list, my top ten personal verses for my own life. Sometimes when disgusted, weary, or tired a person just wants to shut down, to give up. But its the Word that was planted inside of a person that comes up and literally takes over! Pulls a person out of the pit and doesn’t stop there, it has to be proclaimed to others. There’s power in the Word of God!

    God Bless!

  3. You said, “Sometimes when disgusted, weary, or tired a person just wants to shut down, to give up. But its the Word that was planted inside of a person that comes up and literally takes over! Pulls a person out of the pit and doesn’t stop there, it has to be proclaimed to others. There’s power in the Word of God!”

    AMEN! I have grown weary in persevering prayer the past few weeks & was at this point, but literally, I cannot ignore the Word God gave me & He’s using that Word to give me strength & raise me up!!!!

    What other Book is like the Bible?! It literally gives life!!!

  4. Right! In the beginning was the Word! We will be judged by the Word. “He sent forth His WORD & healed them & delivered them from their destructions”, Amen!
    This subject wakes me up!

    God Bless!

  5. Faith, hope and Love are necessary virtues required to make heaven. However love is the greatest because it is the bond of perfection for faith and hope. When Jesus ressurected from the death in John 21:15-19 He asked Peter whether he loved Him. Jesus knew that with love, faith and hope will follow.
    Faith and hope are needed to make heaven but anything that is not done with love is not acceptable by heaven as written in 1 Corinthians 13:3

    • I couldn’t agree with you more!

      Thanks and God Bless!


Leave a Reply

