Sky Watchers

He who testifies to these things says, “Surely I am coming quickly.”
Amen. Even so, come, Lord Jesus!  Revelation 2:20

Christmas time is almost upon us and the week seems a little strange already around here. Things aren’t quite normal. There’s a feeling in the air and part of it could be the snow storm that those who know are predicting for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day in these parts. That should make life a little interesting. Sounds like it could be a whopper if what they say comes to pass. Allot of snow and high winds to make life interesting. So today was a day doing some jobs that should get out of the way before we’re socked in on the farm for the winter. Once we’re socked in that’s about it for getting out to the far pastures and fields to do whatever needs to be done till the spring thaw. Such is normal life on the farm, being prepared for whatever happens. In reality there’s very little excuse for not being prepared if a person is concerned about keeping the place going. A farm is not for the slacker, not at all. Its work every day and sometimes a person has to go that extra mile in being prepared because in all reality being prepared is allot less work than not being prepared.

Christmas season is special, that’s for sure but I’ll go fast forward from Christmas and look ahead to the Second Coming of Christ instead tonight. Now I have a rule,even in our church,I don’t set myself solidly on any of the different ways that Christians say the very end is going to happen. Most have valid Biblical points and I don’t want to get confused because when I read their points they all seem that they are right. And heaven forbid, I don’t want to get a religious spirit and say that my way is right and the others are almost heathens for thinking the way that they do. My farmer theology is maybe not the norm I guess but I figure I don’t honestly know exactly what will happen in the end times.Well,let me rephrase that, I don’t know exactly what will happen to the believers in the end times. Will we be taken out, will we have to stay, I truly don’t know because the different sides of the issue all have valid points. But in reality I’m not to concerned about it all, the different views I mean. My Bible says to be ready! Amen! Besides, what good does it do to be all uppity about the different end times stuff and argue away with other Christians and walk over to your car after its all said and done and get hit and killed by another passing by car? Or get back to the farm and get killed by a bull, or something as simple as a slip getting in or out of the skidsteer loader, bang your head good and leave this life at that moment?

I think I’ve turned into a sky watcher! What do I mean by that? I mean I am hoping that Jesus will return every day that I’m out there working on the farm. A fella gets up in the morning and the first thought is, “perhaps today”. In my humble opinion this is how the first century Christians lived and many more through out the ages. Waiting, hoping that Jesus Christ would return the very day that they went about their business. Christmas is a time of celebrating the birth of Christ but I want to celebrate the expectancy of His return every day! Martin Luther was once asked what he’d do if he knew the Lord was coming tomorrow. His answer was, “I would plant another apple tree today.” What he meant was, he would just carry on with his day to day living, working,producing food and farming for Jesus until the Lord came!

This struck me when I read this a while back, it struck me good. We are the keepers of the faith on earth. The world doesn’t have dominion on us, we have dominion over it. Just as Adam and Eve had before the fall.We are to do our business here on this world until Jesus comes. We are to carry out the decrees of heaven on this earth and we are to be busy fulfilling the great commission by spreading the Gospel to every creature, and every once in a while that might even mean telling someone about the Good News!

Now this is a farming and ranching blog and most who read it have an interest in it, even if only they like to eat the food produced by hard working farmers and ranchers. When a person’s mind and heart are focused on the second coming of Jesus, which will come unexpectedly according to the Bible, we must be ready.And we must be doing the work of the Father right up to that moment. On the farm I am convinced that the only successful way to farm is to farm for Jesus!  And if one of these days He returns I plan to be busy doing His will here where I am planted.

This might be a slightly different message than most messages around Christmas time, but I feel its a very important message to get into our hearts.To be ready, to live every day like before the end of the day we will be standing before the throne of God! It changes everything when a person truly gets this into your heart! Do we truly love Jesus or are we just some good church goers? Or are we not even sure if we are saved, that we truly don’t know deep down if we are God’s children and will be spending eternity with Him?

Jesus Christ wants no man to perish, that’s what my Bible say and the Word of God it true! I think I’ll put the salvation message on here right smack dab out of the Bible, it says it better than I ever could.

It’s the word of faith that welcomes God to go to work and set things right for us. This is the core of our preaching. Say the welcoming word to God—”Jesus is my Master”—embracing, body and soul, God’s work of doing in us what he did in raising Jesus from the dead. That’s it. You’re not “doing” anything; you’re simply calling out to God, trusting him to do it for you. That’s salvation. With your whole being you embrace God setting things right, and then you say it, right out loud: “God has set everything right between him and me!”

This is the only true reason for a Christmas, to celebrate the coming of the saviour of the world! Let’s be sky watchers and instead of looking for that star that shown in the sky so very long ago, lets watch every day in expectancy for the return of the King!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/12/22/sky-watchers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Amen!

    Merry Christmas, Tom, to you and your family.

    Matt

  2. Tom,

    Merry Christmas to you and your family. It might be a very quiet Christmas if we do get the snow they are predicting. I have been helping with a neighbor’s chores since he had his prostate removed last week. Once the snow hits, I am hoping that I can drive the mile to his house rather than having to walk that far.

    Jim V

  3. A Merry Christmas to you and your’s Matt!

    And a Merry Christmas to you and your’s Jim!

    I figure all of us are wondering what the next few days are going to be like in this neck of the woods. We don’t have anything at all going on during Christmas Eve or Christmas Day so if this is a big storm the only driving around will be the necessary stuff. I hear we celebrate this coming Sunday and it should be blowed out by then. There’s supposed to be church tomorrow evening but if its nasty out I would bet it’d be called off and there’s nothing out of the ordinary that would force a person to make a dangerous trip over into the hills and go to church.

    I got the Bobcat fueled up and both the regular bucket and the wide snow bucket in the shed so I don’t have to be digging them out too, just in case. Its kinda like the theme to this post, be prepared and I figure we’re sure getting enough warnings on this one 🙂

    Again, a Merry and Blessed Christmas to both of you and your families!

  4. I second that Amen!

    MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

  5. Merry Christmas Russ and family! By the looks of the regional radar it looks like you folks are having a wintery Christmas! Snowed about five inches here today, priming it up for the big one in the next thirty six hours, or so they say. Got the Bobcat parked in the attached garage here and might have to dig my way out tomorrow morning 🙂

    God Bless!


Leave a Reply

