A Farmer’s Simple Faith #1

But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him. Hebrews 11:6

Christmas is fast approaching and also the New Year its the season where a farmer sometimes has a bit of time for reflection about the past year. And what a year it has been around here! I’d say we sure officially pulled out of the droughts here, although I know that even a few miles away they had a dry year. Abundance is the rule here this year as far as the farm goes. Plenty of feed to keep the cattle fat and healthy. Great crops of every kind, from oats to corn to all the different kinds of hay. Abundance!

This spring it sure didn’t start that way by the looks of it in the natural. Dust was blowing and the feeling of depression was starting to take root again. During the drought years I was relatively new to what the Bible says about faith and I can see back where I sure was off base on it all. Back then I accepted the disasters as “God’s will”, but it wasn’t till this spring when I finally had enough knowledge to use the faith, the little seed of faith that was in me. I have to give credit where credit is due, funny how a person can study and study and not quite get what the Bible says.

So Jesus answered and said to them, “Have faith in God. 23 For assuredly, I say to you, whoever says to this mountain, ‘Be removed and be cast into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart, but believes that those things he says will be done, he will have whatever he says. 24 Therefore I say to you, whatever things you ask when you pray, believe that you receive them, and you will have them. Mark 11

This is one of the greatest lessons on faith in the Bible. And one that is so often ignored by religion. But I figure when Jesus speaks it pays to listen to what He says and to believe it! Notice in verse 23 that Jesus tells us to believe and then to say. In fact He says believe once and the word say or says three times. Saying, or speaking or acting out our faith is incredibly important. I didn’t say it, Jesus said it! So getting back to this spring when the dust was blowing and only half the corn was even emerging out of the ground I went around to every field on this farm and plead the Blood of Jesus over all the fields in faith. Thanking the Lord for the bumper crop in advance. It doesn’t make much sense to the world or even to Christians that don’t read the Word, but that’s what I did. That started the “saying” part of faith. But that wasn’t all! To continue with the saying part that Jesus so emphasizes I publicly said that Jesus was going to bring in a great crop, while in the meantime the dust was still blowing. I wrote about this in June on this blog somewhere and won’t look it up now.

Well, some timely rains came and the weeds were advancing and it looked like I would have a disaster crop anyhow. I tried to cultivate the corn and in some spots the weeds were so thick the cultivator plugged up! It was disheartening to say the least, but I continually spoke thanks to Jesus for bringing in a good crop this year. Somehow the corn outgrew the weeds and the corn literally took over. The impossible was happening as the days went by. By fall the corn was a bumper crop, the best in decades and matched the highest priced seed corns in the area. This past Wednesday the crop insurance adjuster came out and we went into the last standing field of corn we have to take some measurements of the yield to get our crop base back up. The measurements finally came up with 178 bushels to the acre of dry corn. And this was without commercial fertilizer! Unreal for this area!

Many times when it comes to simple faith people screw up bigtime and make it complicated faith. They think they have to believe so hard there’s durn near smoke coming out of their ears, but that is not how simple God pleasing faith works at all. God pleasing faith is when your head is screaming at you that “this is dumb, this is stupid”, but a person goes against those thoughts and does it anyhow. The verses above don’t say, “believe in your head”, they say “does not doubt in his heart”. This I’m learning farming. The day to day life here is a life of faith. To praise God for things unseen, to have faith that God wants our family to prosper. To not go into unbelief and say the unbeliever’s prayer, “if it be thy will”. That prayer is used only for direction from God, not in faith matters. God’s will for us is in His Word! That’s the stumbling block for so many Christians. They go to church, they listen to preaching, but don’t explore God’s Word for themselves.

God’s will for us is for us to have faith in Him to come through no matter what the situation. To believe otherwise is simple unbelief. To believe that God wants us to go down the tubes suffering and battling things from every direction is not believing in God’s will. The problems we have are mostly caused by ourselves, I know most of my problems stem right back to me. For going in directions that were not in God’s will for my life. And I pay heavily for this unbelief that I so often do.

Its impossible to please God without faith, that simple faith of believing and speaking and acting it out. To follow up on our belief, to walk the walk so to speak! I couldn’t even imagine farming with out faith anymore. To give it over to God and know without a doubt that God is in charge, not old fumble bum me. God don’t make mistakes, Tom does. I’ll stop here tonight, but faith is the subject I most often preach. I could do it all the time, preaching that simple farmer faith that the Bible teaches us about.

One warning. Faith, exercised faith is addictive, it grows and grows until a person’s whole being is run on faith. It must be practiced often and the results will always stun a person. The faith grows each time a person stands solidly on the promises of God and sees Him deliver on those promises! We gotta throw away our unbelief and take our simple faith and use it, and watch it grow and grow like the crops we plant every year in faith. A farmer has that seed of faith in them, it takes faith to even plant a crop. Join up with the Creator of the universe in the farm’s operation and there’s really no limit to where He will take us!



Published in: on December 20, 2009 at 8:15 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/12/20/a-farmers-simple-faith-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. A blessed CHRISTmas to u and family !

  2. Same to you and yours! 🙂

  3. Tom,

    It is good to hear that God has blessed you and has made your farm very productive.

    Jim V

  4. Hey Jim!

    2009 was the year of faith around here! After what Brent suggested yesterday on the previous post I’ve been reflecting back to this past year and the list is long,very long, where God came through and did what was impossible in the natural!

    This next year is a year I’m looking forward to in the faith walk. The visions that God’s placing in my heart have me pretty nervous to say the least. But if the vision doesn’t scare you its not big enough! If it doesn’t scare a person its more than likely their own vision, not God’s will for their life.

    I know I can’t do any of these things on my own, but then again I know God can take them all the way using me in any way He wants. Oh Lord, who’da ever thought!

    And its getting pretty close to Christmas so I had better wish you and your family a Blessed Christmas and a super blessed New Year!

  5. Yaaaaaaaaaaaahoooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    That’s all I can say! This word on faith BLESSED MY HEART! I needed an “Aaron” or a “Hur” to hold my arms up in this battle & you did it! Thanks, Brother Tom, thank You, Jesus!

    Especially of note, was where you said that I didn’t need to try to work up faith (a feeling or something in my head) until there was nearly smoke coming out of my ears (oh, how I’ve tried that!) but just obey, basically…what God spoke to my heart repeatedly this morning through His Word was that faith without works is dead.

    So, like you said, it’s not trying to work up some feeling, but rather, going out & against all of my thoughts & feelings “this is dumb, this is stupid, this won’t work,” obeying God’s Word to me, anyways!!!! AMEN! I feel like shouting! 🙂

    And the other word, that “if it’s Your will” prayer is the prayer of unbelief once He has shown us what His will is…AMEN! Oh, how often I’ve found myself praying prayers like that…praying myself right out of faith & then I end up like the wavering person that God describes in James 1…we ask Him for wisdom, we wait upon the 3-legged stool of confirmation from His Word, the witness of the Holy Spirit & confirmation from other godly, Word-filled, Spirit-filled Believers, so we KNOW what He wants…and then to pray, “…if it be Thy will” after that…

    Man, I’ve been just being tossed about on the sea by that devil of confusion with the mopey, “oh well, if it be Thy will” prayer when I already prayed to know His will!

    He showed me that this attitude is NOT humility but PRIDE…unbelief is rooted in PRIDE…deep down inside I was doubting God’s Word to me, even though repeatedly & miraculously confirmed, because I felt I had to be “worthy” of it & was focusing on my own inadequacy of His vision, etc.

    Phew! It’s like He took blinders off my eyes!

    Thanks again for the Word, Tom! God bless you & your family! Thanks for the continued prayers! Here is something about persevering in prayer (BELIEVING prayer): https://www.navpress.com/images/pdfs/48.pdf

    Can you tell I’m excited this morning?!?! It’s been a long, dark night of confusion & discourgement, with the spiritual attack culminating on Sunday & me so oppressed by unbelief that I could barely move, even physically…

    so imagine the joy of this breakthrough!

    You are part of this breakthrough…just preaching SIMPLE FAITH! AMEN!

    ok, I think I’ll stop my whooping & hollering (but just for now)! 🙂

    Nina Ruth 🙂

  6. Howdy Nina Ruth!

    So your ah shouting and I’m glad! The Gospel wasn’t made to be a burden, it was made to set us free!

    I’ll have to clarify the “If its Your will” prayer sometime. Cause this could confuse someone that’s been trained up deeply in man made religion, but I won’t tonight. All I’ll say tonight is that His will for us is clearly written in the Bible and its good! Not bad!

    Keep on ah shouting victory Nina! God hears that!

    God Bless!

  7. I came upon your post from a Google Alert I set up on the phrase “plead the blood”. I do this every day for my family and believe God showed me something about this which I wrote about in my blog in 2006. You might be interested in reading it at: http://roadrevelations.org/?p=50. Be blessed!
    Bill

  8. Well, I’m glad you did find your way over here via google alert! I got over your way and it sure was an interesting read! I’ll be back there and checking more things out in the very near future!

    Thanks and have a Merry and Blessed Christmas!

    Tom


Leave a Reply

