I Am Not Ashamed….

For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ, for it is the power of God to salvation for everyone who believes….

Late Monday afternoon and I already have the work that needs doing done. Tonight there will be very little competition for the computer, funny how college classes online take up so much time nowadays. Not any class for me mind you but for the daughter. But who am I to complain, it’ll save a year and a half in the real college! Mucho dinero! They didn’t have anything like that when I was a young man.

Yesterday was so different around here that I’m still recovering.I kinda kept it a secret that it was my birthday, or so I thought. I had to give the opening announcements in church yesterday.No more than five minutes is the norm. But I ended up there over twenty minutes, and that ain’t counting the offering message I did later in the service. Seems like word got out that old Tom was a bit older yesterday and I had one pulled on me! And the funny thing is, I didn’t suspect a thing. Total ambush! I tip my hat to the sneaky people in our church, and I sure am glad they are Christians cause if those sneaks were on the other side who knows what they’d do! To put it bluntly, I got roasted up front. Don S. who has commented here in the past worked and put together a video that would ruin anyone’s life 🙂 Then the whole church sang Happy Birthday twice through being led by our praise team leader as she played her concertina! (The concertina thing was a great honor by the way!) After surviving that, barely, I came home and wondered how come the wife had so much food prepared, but a simple farmer just figures that she’s fattening up her husband for a Minnesota winter. Again, around 4 in the afternoon I got ambushed! A bunch of church folk all showed up about the same time and Tom ain’t going to get fat off of all the lasagna that was sitting there! But what a wonderful time it was! I thank each and every one!

So, with all that done and over with its time to focus on some other stuff. Up on top of this post is a verse from the 1st chapter of Romans. One of them power verses! Old Paul said he wasn’t ashamed of the Gospel, and I figure neither should I be. And I was working today and thinking allot about the year that’s coming up. With all the Christmas stuff a person kinda loses focus sometimes and forgets that there is life after Christmas. But I was thinking about spreading the Gospel. About getting together a Gospel Campaign for the coming year, to start soon after Christmas, no sense wasting life I figure. Now this just energizes me! I just gotta get myself out of the rut where a person thinks that church is where its at. Church has a great purpose but the job is to reach out beyond the walls. Besides, that’s where the action is!

I confess, I was hit with many side tracking things this past summer and fall, it even showed on this blog, but now I’m refocusing, sighting it in so to speak. It might start slowly, but the rural campaign is beginning. It is birthed. Last spring when watching the movie “Faith Like Potatoes”  it struck me how an ordinary guy can step out for Jesus and change so much of the world. In reality there’s nothing special about that. I believe God wants every single one to step out and do amazing things in His name! Just take that step and let God do the rest!

That simple Gospel, that power that is unequaled in this universe! This is my passion! God is providing every single thing! I needed Bibles, now I got Bibles, allot of them, both cowboy Bibles and a couple big cases of Old and New Testament NKJV that are totally at my disposal. God provides! God provides the music and that will be worked out shortly! Lord, Lord who’da ever though a couple of years ago that those crazy visions I had would come true! In fact every crazy vision that we ever had here has come true or is in the process of coming true. I do believe that God plants things in a person’s heart and if a person is willing God will provide all the way. But one must take hold and follow it through!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/12/14/i-am-not-ashamed/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. First of all, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Sorry the b’day wishes are belated, but they are sincere! And secondly, this is soooooooooooooo timely! When you wrote, “it struck me how an ordinary guy can step out for Jesus and change so much of the world. In reality there’s nothing special about that. I believe God wants every single one to step out and do amazing things in His name! Just take that step and let God do the rest!

    That simple Gospel, that power that is unequaled in this universe! This is my passion! God is providing every single thing! I needed Bibles, now I got Bibles, allot of them, both cowboy Bibles and a couple big cases of Old and New Testament NKJV that are totally at my disposal. God provides! God provides the music and that will be worked out shortly! Lord, Lord who’da ever though a couple of years ago that those crazy visions I had would come true! In fact every crazy vision that we ever had here has come true or is in the process of coming true. I do believe that God plants things in a person’s heart and if a person is willing God will provide all the way. But one must take hold and follow it through!”

    I gotta say that the Good Lord knows I so needed the reminder to have that simple, child-like trust in God & His Word…so much prayers for that needed. The ‘ol devil has been trying incessantly to say to me, “hath God really said?” & try to get me to not obey God’s voice & to doubt that we can even personally hear from Him today & then to even go so far as to tempt me to doubt God’s Word, period! Whew it’s been a rough couple of weeks…but I should rejoice in even that…if the things God told me through His Word/witnessed through the Spirit & through other godly, discerning, Spirit-filled followers of Jesus were NOT true, why would the enemy be bothering with me so much?!?! 🙂

  2. Morning Nina Ruth!

    Yep, when a person is a Spirit Filled believer the devil hates you! Of course he hates all people but he goes into a rage when someone is filled with his greatest enemy!

    But rejoice! Cause like one if my favorite verses in the entire Bible says;

    1 John 4:4 (King James Version)

    Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world.

    God Bless!

  3. Amen! thanks, brother! that’s the verse God gave me this morning when I started fearing again…

    The Word of God is POWERFUL!

  4. Happy Happy Birthday…You are a blessed man!

  5. Thanks Patti!

  6. Happy belated Birthday Brother! Sorry I’m late with my B-day wishes. I’m thrilled for you! Wished we could have been there to celebrate with you, but it sounds like you had a grand old time! God has blessed you with another year – one that I know you will use for His glory. Keep up the good work and let’s keep pressing forward to the mark.

    May the Lord fill the rest of your days with joy, peace, and contentment. And may He bless you abundantly with opportunities to share His Good News.

    Have a great day, and may the Lord bless you!

  7. Morning Lee Ann!

    Thanks! Yes it was a grand time! More than I deserve, that’s for sure and one that will never be forgotten! This church family is so special that I can’t describe it in words!

    Well, back to the walk today, another day serving the Lord in everything we do. Be Blessed over your way!


Leave a Reply

