I Will See the Goodness of the Lord

After a pretty cold week, this Saturday was a pleasant warm up! Sunny, not much of a breeze and in the twenties. Almost hot outside working! This past week was a real busy one for me, including today, but it looks like I can spend a couple minutes here on the old computer. Things are going very good on the farm, cattle are fat and happy, plenty of feed on hand, most of the firewood for this winter is cut, a good time to be had here for sure.

Tomorrow’s church and I have a little speaking to do in the service and will put that together a bit later this evening. No big deal, I know what I’ll be talking about already and even if I don’t get anything put together it will get done. I have many things on my heart these past couple of days but I don’t know what I’ll write about this evening. As a person can maybe tell, I’m doing what I call a warmup here. Just chatting about what’s happening lately.

Psalm 27:13-14Β (New International Version)

13 I am still confident of this:
I will see the goodness of the LORD
in the land of the living.

14 Wait for the LORD;
be strong and take heart
and wait for the LORD.

Waiting for the Lord. I like those verses above, the kind that a person takes to heart. I’m not using those verses tomorrow, I just came up with them now. In Children’s Church we sometimes do an old fashioned preaching thing. Take the Bible and with a person’s eyes closed, not knowing of the Bible is right side up or upside down, open it, (still with the eyes closed), point a finger to a verse, open your eyes and see what you picked, then preach it. A pretty good exercise! I’ve read about old time farmer preachers who didn’t have much time to prepare sermons and stuff and that’s what they’d do from the pulpit. Point and preach.It might sound kinda crude but the whole Word of God is worthy of being preached at any time so I figure there ain’t nothing wrong with that. Now some high class folks might not like it but that’s their problem, not mine.

That wonderful Word of God! Better than anything else that there is. I could rephrase the above first line, “I am still confident of this; I will see the goodness of the Word in the land of the living”. Now that gets me excited! The Word, the very thing that holds the whole universe together! I know that nowadays it’s not that fashionable to declare the Word, to stand on the Word as absolute truth, to say either the Word or else the world, it’s a choice.Β  A choice everyone in this society has to make. The Word or the world.

These last few years I just can’t get enough of the Word. Its life itself, in a spiritually dead society the Word brings life. I almost cry when I realize how little regard folks have for the Word, and I’m talking church folk. The world doesn’t understand the Word, in fact the Bible says it’s as if though the world has scales on their eyes and the Word cannot penetrate their hearts. It sound foolish to most folks and that makes it hard sometimes trying to witness to folks. But one must understand that when we witness it isn’t for those folks, as strange as that sounds. It’s because Jesus Christ is worthy of having His Word spread. The world can take it or leave it, that’s not for the Christian to decide.

Witnessing takes on a whole new meaning when done Biblically. When spreading the Word is because Christ is worthy to have His Word spread. If we spread the Word for the folks receiving it we will burn out, and fast! For Christ alone! Then things move! This is interesting cause I just took some random Bible verses and its coming clear now. “Wait for the Lord, be strong and take heart, and wait for the Lord!” What we do today sometimes has no seeming effect on things. We wait for results and none seem to come, but the Lord is on the move when we are on the move doing His work. Be patient, keep going even when it seems like there’s nothing happening at all.

The thing I’ve learned, and I don’t know if this is just an unusual case, is that the Lord moves when we do. When the heart is willing the Lord supplies. The moment a person learns something, or has a deeper revelation in the Word, almost instantly the revelation can be applied to a situation. This I’ve seen over and over in our own case here. And it just happened a few minutes ago here. As I’m being “stretched” by the Lord almost daily there’s things He put in my heart for a while now that I have finally decided the time is right to do. To set up an evangelistic community event, something I didn’t have the know how to do until now is coming together. And to my surprise, (which it shouldn’t surprise me), things are falling right into place. All I gotta do is ask and bam! No problem!

I remember reading the book and watching the movie, “Faith Like Potatoes”, and Angus would just step out in faith when it came to ministry and the Lord provided every time. This I am seeing for myself here a half a world away! But the stepping out is never an easy thing, old self don’t like it one bit! I don’t have the foggiest idea where any of this will leed. But I’m confident that “I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living!”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/12/12/i-will-see-the-goodness-of-the-lord/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey Tom!
    Love the verse (entire Psalm actually) but in my humble opinion it looses some of it’s “UMPH” when read from NIV. If you dont mind I will paste a bit from KJV with some context.

    When thou saidst, Seek ye my face; my heart said unto thee, Thy face, LORD, will I seek. Hide not thy face far from me; put not thy servant away in anger: thou hast been my help; leave me not, neither forsake me, O God of my salvation. When my father and my mother forsake me, then the LORD will take me up. Teach me thy way, O LORD, and lead me in a plain path, because of mine enemies. Deliver me not over unto the will of mine enemies: for false witnesses are risen up against me, and such as breathe out cruelty. /b I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD. /b
    (Psa 27:8-14)

    I must admit, this is where I am living lately. Being assailed from all sides and my only refuge is in His word.

    Blessings from the deep south to you my northern friend. I will be up in your parts after Christmas until new years visiting my family in Wisconsin.

    Peace and Love,
    Brian

  2. Hey Brian!

    Most verses do lose allot of UMPH in the newer translations,in my humble opinion also πŸ™‚

    Those Psalms in the King James are nothing short of beautiful!

    Ah, Wisconsin, so close and yet so far away πŸ™‚ Well, at least you’ll be feeling what I feel as far as weather is concerned πŸ™‚

    Thank You Brother!

    God Bless!!

  3. Wisconsin? now my ears are perked up! my heart is aching to return there…so prayers much appreciated…!

    now, the verse from Psalm 27…thank you, Tom! Yes, my heart would faint unless I believed I’d see His goodness HERE, in the land of the living, not just later, in heaven…but right here!!!! AMEN!

  4. Amen


Leave a Reply

