A Person’s Word

The day started off around twenty degrees, the ground froze a little bit in the early morning but by ten it was all thawed out except in the shade. Butchered two cows today for ground beef. Did a few other things and its dark outside.The days sure do go fast! I didn’t even have dinner at noon today, just worked straight through till supper. A pretty long stretch from 5:30 in the morning till 5:30 in the evening! But now I can sit back with one cup of coffee and write something or at least attempt to!

I’m hearing allot of deer hunting reports from allot of different folks in the area and the numbers harvested are way down this year. It has allot to do with all the standing corn around here. The farmers around here are combining but its going rather slow because of the long drying time per batch. But the moister did drop since early last week and the harvesting in the area is moving along and there’s a few more good days left weatherwise the way it looks. But one of these days the weather will head south and then its a whole new ballgame. There’s even quite a few bean fields in this area yet standing. They had better get going is all I got to say!

One of these days I gotta get at least fifteen yearling steers sold at the salesbarn up north. I’m getting a little over crowded here and will still have plenty of steers and heifers on hand for butchering. With later calving sometimes there’s a few born in mid summer and come time to sell the calf crop they’re just a tad bit to small for me to want to sell them.So I take the tail enders and raise em up. Being small they don’t really take much feed the first winter and come this time of year they’re pretty big and will bring a decent price.Calf prices are a little soft this year but the yearling prices aren’t really terrible so I figure it won’t hurt to get rid of a few before winter sets in. There ain’t nothing like a worry free winter in my books. Relieve a little over crowding, there’s more than enough feed to keep the whole herd fat all winter into a late, late spring, so I only have to gather a bit more dead wood for firewood and it looks like the first winter in years with a surplus. feels different, feels good!

The last post when I was writing about those cowboy Bibles really got me thinking and reminiscing. Thinking about all the cattle deals through the years, thinking about how we do business yet today. And I must say, its different than what “normal” society does. Time after time, day after day, a person does business on nothing more than their word. No contracts or written agreements, no lawyers or advisors, just done the old fashioned way. When I go to town its very seldom I even have a billfold with, or a check book. Just get what I need and pay at the end of the month. A few years ago most places of business around here came out with all these rules and regulations saying a fella couldn’t charge. When I asked,such as at the co-op which changed policy like this, they said, “That doesn’t mean you Tom, we trust you.” Well, I tell you, that was quite an honor! In fact most businesses around here have a no charge policy since credit cards came into being, but in all those places I can go in and pick up what I need, no questions asked.

But ain’t that the way it should be? I can’t even imagine not paying a bill! When I call someone up for something, they jump trying to help, cause they know my word is good. At church too, a person follows through with what a person says they’d do. After a few years it becomes accepted, trusted. The Bible says we are supposed to be Christ like. Jesus said that if you seen Him you’ve seen the Father. The Father’s Word is good. Jesus’ Word is good. So isn’t ours supposed to be good?

Trust worthiness is kinda a lost thing nowadays in many areas of life. But I believe that if a person is following Christ its one of the most important. If we are His ambassadors on this fallen world we should at least have that old fashioned way about us, our word never changing. We mean what we say and follow through. Through the years I remember so many deals that were rather large, all on our word, nothing else. Never was there a bad deal.The worst deal I ever got into was a written contract for cattle years ago, then there’s a thing the world just loves, called fine print. The trick is to get that print so fine that a person signs away what is beneficial to him so someone who’s only goal in life is to steal your money don’t get thrown in jail as they do attempt to steal you and your family’s money. I’m happy to say that I won on that deal, just by invoking the name of the state’sĀ  attorney general. Funny how money flows when a person does that! Of course no money would have flowed back to me if I wouldn’t have mentioned that! So a person can see what kind of people these “businessmen” were. Since then its only the old way of your word and that’s it.

No, you just give me the old fashioned ways and I’m more than satisfied. Where a man goes by his word. If more folks did that there’d be allot less problems. To me this is one of the basic truths of Christianity, that our word must be good. When I sense someone’s word isn’t, I back away quietly. No sense playing the fool. Durn, I didn’t even get any scripture in here tonight. Must be the kinda night just to set down and hash over some things. They all pertain to Christianity, even if a person ain’t quoting Bible verses and such. The way I figure it,a person can help the poor, but no sense in making some money grubbers richer with our family’s hard earned money.

In ministry a person can operate on the same principles, look a person in the eye in all honesty and make one’s word the way it is. Even in ministry there’s folks who’s word ain’t worth a hoot.That’s just the way it is, every one is human, so it should be no surprise that there’s folks in ministry promising this or that and never delivering, never. As I get older and wiser I can accept this as fact. Ministry ain’t something you just trust no matter how much they don’t deliver their word, just because they say they are working for the Lord. In ministry its like anything else, they should be folks who a person could ride the river with!

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/11/16/a-persons-word/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. soggy morning to y’all

    these days, a person words for some aint worth much šŸ˜• not like it use too be forsure!

  2. Hey Tom!!
    I have been reading deep into Matthew and the beatitudes and this leapt off the page at me last night on the flight back into Atlanta…

    Again, ye have heard that it hath been said by them of old time, Thou shalt not forswear thyself, but shalt perform unto the Lord thine oaths: But I say unto you, Swear not at all; neither by heaven; for it is God’s throne: Nor by the earth; for it is his footstool: neither by Jerusalem; for it is the city of the great King. Neither shalt thou swear by thy head, because thou canst not make one hair white or black. But let your communication be, Yea, yea; Nay, nay: for whatsoever is more than these cometh of evil.
    (Mat 5:33-37)

    If you have time…There is a man I would like to invite you to read. His name is Dietrich Bonhoeffer.

    Here is a link to the book of his I am currently reading… (I dont read anything if it is younger than 50 or 60 years.)
    http://books.google.com/books?id=GKA2DyNY2H0C&dq=dietrich+bonhoeffer+the+cost+of+discipleship&printsec=frontcover&source=bn&hl=en&ei=LwEES-aFHZOFnQegmYhs&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=7&ved=0CB0Q6AEwBg#v=onepage&q=&f=false

    sorry, thats pretty ugly. It is called The Cost Of Discipleship. Even if you just read the forward and introduction it will bless you imho.

    Blessings and sorry for the ugly link…
    Your Brother,
    Brian

  3. Morning Jan!

    Last evening was church night so ol’ Tom didn’t get no computer night šŸ™‚

    Many folks could care less about their word being true nowadays that’s for sure. But its up to us to be different!!

    God Bless!

    Morning Brian!

    No problem with the ugly link, my computer don’t give a hoot how it looks šŸ™‚ My computer don’t give a hoot how I look either which is a plus for sure šŸ™‚ I gave it a quick look and will look more into it tonight when there’s a moment or two, Lord willing. As I said, church last evening so Tom had very little time on this thing.

    Yep, a feller wants some answers, just go to the beatitudes and there they be! Simple, direct, to the point. Ain’t politically correct, just correct, amen!

    Thanks for the link, I do follow up on them!

    God Bless!


Leave a Reply

