The Best For Us

1 John 4:4 (King James Version)

4Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world.

Mostly cloudy day here where the northern plains meet the northern woods. Folks around the area are slowly starting a late harvest with very wet conditions.The news is that much of the corn is molding on the cob out in the fields. Much of the soybean crop is still out in the muddy fields, not really drying down all to well. I thank the Lord we aren’t involved with any of those problems. Our crops are put away safe and sound, getting put in just before the rains started hitting the very beginning of October. The way it looks to me is that we’ll finish up all our fall tillage the next few days and then all the jobs I had on our list will be wrapping up for the year.Then its just the daily workload of keeping the cattle herd going, which isn’t too much of a problem with the feed supplies on hand.

Today at church we had us a great service, with the music both from the praise team and also a special singer just opening up the doors to heaven itself! Amazing what can happen in a little church out in the countryside! This evening when I finally got in I had to do some quick research in my Bibles, cause amazing things keep on happening around this place. As most long time readers know, I’m not to keen on the really modern prosperity preaching out there, especially on TV, (which we don’t have anymore by the way). Much of its in the ditch, mostly just trying to funnel money into these so called ministries. Sad, but true. The last word on the whole subject is the Bible, the Word of God, and I will say that I believe with all my heart that God wants us to prosper in every area of our lives as we run the race, the race of faith. Because without faith its impossible to please Him!

My definition of prosperity as I write is simply this, having our needs met as we follow God. Notice I’m not saying, as we want things for our own selfish desires, so that folks can covet what we have. Or another way of saying it is, things we covet. No, I’m saying in our all out pursuit of the God that created us. God promises to supply our needs, period! That don’t mean we sit on our butts expecting Him to rain money down on us, or take care of our selfishly built up bills on some credit cards or something, no, God promises to take care of our needs.

Today, after a few days of having it placed in my heart to purchase a good sized pile of Cowboy Bibles I decided to follow the unction and dig out some hard earned money and finally purchase them. This time of year is always the tightest time of the year around here for money, mainly because I sell calves in January most years. So by this time its getting what you’d call stretched. Having finally broke down and decided to do this I took a wad of cash to church and handed it to our associate pastor because I don’t have a credit card, making it difficult to order over the net. I tell you, I labored over this, parting from the money at this time of year, but decided to follow the call and trust God in it all. During the church service, after handing the money over I pretty much forgot about it because the service was so durn good! After the service a church member came up to me and said,”Tom, you got any beef for sale”, and I said yep! “I’ll take a half” he said, and I almost dropped over there in the back of the church, this amounted to exactly ten times the money that I spent on Cowboy Bibles this morning!

I have seen this over and over and over in our life. Give and you shall receive. Now let’s get to the brass tacks with this. The Bible says that poverty is a curse. Of course according to the U.S. government I’m way below the poverty line, it works that way for family farmers, believe me. But in all  reality we are not in poverty. We are exceedingly rich! There’s more to riches than just money.What I’m saying is that all of our needs are met, every single one of them! Now I know folks that make probably ten times more than us, and they are in “poverty”. Its how you look at it. Many make way more money, but end up in very dire straights financially because of living for self. When you live for God, He takes care of His children. That’s a promise right from the Bible, over and over and over!

So real poverty is a curse, and curses have a father, called the devil. Do you think Adam and Eve were created for poverty? No way! In the verse above, a very familiar verse with many believers I won’t dwell on the popular last part, I’ll dwell on the first part. Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them”. Overcome who? Take a look at the preceeding three verses:

1Beloved, believe not every spirit, but try the spirits whether they are of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world.

2Hereby know ye the Spirit of God: Every spirit that confesseth that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh is of God:

3And every spirit that confesseth not that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh is not of God: and this is that spirit of antichrist, whereof ye have heard that it should come; and even now already is it in the world.

We have overcome the devil and his demons! Amen? That’s what my Bible says! Give and it shall be given unto you! There is nothing more real than this promise from God! And to deny it must really hurt God bad, after loving us so much and wanting to provide for us, we slap Him in the face and deny Him so often. Truthfully, life is simple, God is good, the devil is bad. True prosperity isn’t wanting more and more stuff. Its wanting more and more of God, to do His will, to chase Him with all we have. The devil has already been defeated, a long time ago. And there is a loving God that wants the best for us every moment of every day, to fulfill the plan He had for us since before the beginning of the world! God wants to take care of us, if we’ll let Him!

0_0_0_0_198_168_csupload_628433

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/11/08/the-best-for-us/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. There’s been lots of times we’ve needed money and God sends someone along to buy some hay, or a cow or something. Usually I’ve already wasted my time worrying about it when God always provides. I’m working on that though! Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. I’m working on that too! How weak I am sometimes when I catch myself worrying and worrying. In small simple ways I trust God even as I’m worrying, and things happen! (I know that doesn’t make much sense, but its true never the less, besides we all worry even when we know we shouldn’t be, but I figure God put that concern in us to lead us to Him). Since writing this post there have been several instances of God providing! Sold a whole cull cow last evening for hamburger.

    Trust Him with our farms and families and I do believe that God will come through every time!


Leave a Reply

