A Short Evening

“If you abide in My word, you are My disciples indeed.  And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.”

Amen to that! Its been on my mind for the last day or two, about the truth shall make you free. I’ve been rather busy, besides farm work there’s tomorrow’s service to get ready for. And the only time I have to do it is in the evenings when I’m kinda tired out. I ain’t complaining though. I kinda love it when there’s fairly short notice, then a person can focus better. A longer time frame and a person like me keeps changing stuff until I’m all confused. Its been raining here the last half of the afternoon. But I guess it ain’t supposed to be a long lasting thing. Not like the last few systems we had roll through here. The promise is for better days the rest of the week, we’ll see.

I kinda wonder if folks have much of idea about being set free around these parts. OK, I do believe that in every human being that God has planted a seed of knowledge, a seed of awareness about Him. Folks can disagree with that and that’s fine with me, but that’s what I believe. And besides, the Word says this,

Romans 1
18 For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who suppress the truth in unrighteousness, 19 because what may be known of God is manifest in them, for God has shown it to them. 20 For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even His eternal power and Godhead, so that they are without excuse, 21 because, although they knew God, they did not glorify Him as God, nor were thankful, but became futile in their thoughts, and their foolish hearts were darkened. 22 Professing to be wise, they became fools,

In putting together a few thoughts for tomorrow evening this is the main pull on me. About being set free. In fact as I write I’m just kinda bumbling along. My mind is on this subject. The enormous implications of it.To be set free. To be set free from the world, the flesh, the devil. This is big! To be in this world but not a part of it. I love that! The more I think about it, the less important this world is to me. There’s getting to be only one priority, and that’s the King! And when the priority is in order than everything else falls into place!

Now some folks say that once a person is a Christian that they will never have any problems, that they can live by faith and everything will go smooth. My only advice to these folks saying that is they should get on their knees and pray about being Born Again! Cause this old world ain’t exactly a tulip patch that we can go happily tip toeing through! And you get into ministry and I tell you, all hell breaks loose! Before a feller wasn’t much of a threat to the devil, but now a feller’s picture is in all the devil’s post offices.

But its an honor to be zeroed in on by that old snake cause then a person knows that he’s on the front lines, not some desk jockey nice and safe  in this war of the ages.

So this week I have two nights at church, tomorrow’s service and Thursday a meeting. Then things should calm down here a bit. With the workload not being quite as heavy and the days getting shorter there should be much more time for the blog coming up unless the Lord has other plans. But what ever His plans are they’re OK with me!

Published in: on November 3, 2009 at 7:27 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/11/03/a-short-evening/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Amen!!!!

    These are the same words that burn within me every day, every hour…

    Mat 10:7 And as ye go, preach, saying, The kingdom of heaven is at hand.
    Mat 10:8 Heal the sick, cleanse the lepers, raise the dead, cast out devils: freely ye have received, freely give.

    Luk 4:18 The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised,
    Luk 4:19 To preach the acceptable year of the Lord.

    FREE THE CAPTIVES!!!

    What a calling! What a responsibility! What an Awesome God we serve!!

    And that verse from Romans is one of my personal favorites, which does not make me too popular with the religious folks…

    Blessings,
    Brian

  2. Thanks Brian!

    Well, its the “day after”. Did what I had to do last night and by the time I was done I was so drained that I had to sit down. I don’t know how I did as far as preaching cause I really don’t remember much of it at all. So I said, “Lord, I’ma going to belt down three cups of this church coffee which should normally keep me up at least twenty four hours straight, and if I fall asleep and sleep like a baby, then I know I did what you wanted me to do”

    Long story short, even after that high octane church coffee I came home and slept solid till the alarm went off this morning, thank you Lord! Now hopefully I can get back to normal here for a few days, whatever normal is 🙂

    I read that verse from Romans last night also, and was told that it hit home. I want to thank you for the comment cause it was a huge boost on a day when I needed all the boosts I could get 🙂

    I reckon I had better toodle out in a bit. I gotta e-mail Brad, he just e-mailed me.He can’t get to the site lately, been net-nannied at work and this site is blocked. Wonder if it was something I said 🙂

    Again, thanks and God Bless my friend!


Leave a Reply

