Sons Of God!

No rain today, “glory!”, and the sun even tried to come out a bit. Gotta attempt to spread two semi loads of lime tomorrow on the fields that will be planted to hay next season. Its looking firm enough on the higher ground so we’ll do it. Then this coming weekend get them calves done for the year.

As time goes on I read and read more things about faith, the Christian faith and the one thing that is coming out of all of this is the realization that what I used to think I knew about the thing called Christianity was way off. I’m talking years ago. I was brought up in religion and stayed in religion that really didn’t teach anything of what the Bible says we are. Take for example, if times are going pretty tough to just shrug a person’s shoulders and say it must be God’s will. That works fine for someone who doesn’t dig into God’s Word, but once a person does dig into God’s Word an amazing thing sometimes happens. If a person can shake off the man made traditions, they could be called out right lies, and reads the Word an amazing thing starts to happen. We were not called to be some beaten down, poverty stricken, scared of the devil folks, no way!

We are taught that God is so unreachable, so holy, that we just had better get through this life as quietly and unseen as possible. We shake when we hear about what the world is up to, we tremble when things get tough. But God didn’t callΒ  us to live a life like that, not one bit. We sometimes state bits from Bible verses such as ” we are more than conquerors”, but cry about what’s going on in our lives and the world around us. Its no wonder Christianity, or the “form” of it today is seen by the world as a poor alternative to a worldly lifestyle, because the world is right when they judge Christianity that way, or the “form”of Christianity that has evolved through the centuries and become so traditionalized, so powerless, that there’s very little draw to it on the unsaved in a very hard world.I know, cause I was there and church would be about as useful to me as …..well, not much use. I don’t like dead,meaningless,powerless stuff. And when a person reads the Word it becomes very, very apparent that Christians were not meant to be some weak, powerless people. Anybody’s hair standing up on the back of there neck yet, if it is that’s the religious spirit not liking this one single bit. Them spirits areΒ  like parasites,like lice, always sucking the life out of a person,just like they do to a person’s livestock and it don’t hurt every once in a while to get a good de-licing the way I figure it.

Now if anyone wants to really test for a spirit of religion here’s some stuff that should get that spirit, that filthy thing a digging its claws deeper as this is read.

This is the most tremendous truth that God has given us in the Pauline Revelation, and this is the very heart of the New Covenant, that God makes us like Himself!

Weren’t you made in His image and likeness? That image is an image of righteousness! If God declares that you are righteous, what business have you to condemn yourself?

When you were born again you entered the Covenant.

Are you a partaker of the Divine nature? Yes!

Are you a son of God? Yes!

Has God given you His righteousness? Yes!

Is God your righteousness? Certainly!

Then has He given you a legal right to the use of Jesus’ Name? Certainly!

Do you see what kind of a man you are? You are not a weakling. You stand like the Son of God. YOU ARE A SON OF GOD!

Amen! It ain’t easy to get away from generations of teaching saying that we are poor wretched sinners,not worth anything. We have been preached to as sinners. Almost everyone of the old hymns started beautifully but before they were finished we are just poor weaklings and we are living in sin, and we are under bondage, and we are staying there till we get called home. But the Bible certainly doesn’t say that,not at all!

Romans 5:17Β (Amplified Bible)

17For if because of one man’s trespass (lapse, offense) death reigned through that one, much more surely will those who receive [God’s] overflowing grace (unmerited favor) and the free gift of righteousness [putting them into right standing with Himself] reign as kings in life through the one Man Jesus Christ (the Messiah, the Anointed One).

This says that the believers reign as kings in life! Which life? The thereafter? No!….. Now!

Now the way I figure it, not to many kings sit around moaning and groaning about how tough they got it! They got a job to do, and that’s to rule! So do we! The Bible says so. And if this doesn’t convince a person on who a believer is, well, just read the Bible with this in mind and it all makes sense. Much more sense than trying to figure out the Bible in a spirit of defeat,just waiting for the sweet by and by. Just waiting for the heavenly home so a person ain’t a poor miserable wretch no more. Nope, Jesus wants us reigning as kings in this life, to be His representatives. To do what He wants done. Not to hide our candle under a basket so no one will see!

Oh Lord! I thank you for this Covenant, the New Covenant, the New Testament! The rich promises! The promises that set the world on fire almost two thousand years ago.The promises that made the faith spread like wildfire, with the believers on fire, filled with the Holy Ghost and knowing what the faith meant! The biggest enemy Christianity has today in the western world is not the world, its the traditions of man that have taken a powerful Gospel, a Gospel that sets people free, and made it into a powerless man made tradition. People all over the world are waking up to the Gospel, the Gospel that sets people free. And its even happening here in the countryside! The most beautiful thing is when a person sees the veil come off the eyes of the spiritually blind and the realization hit em, the realization of what it means to be a Christian!

0_0_0_0_198_168_csupload_628433

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/10/26/sons-of-god/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Morning Tom,

    How are you this fine day….. I’m guessing your about to get out of the fields pretty soon or start dodging bullets….. Our bow season has started here… I stay out of my ragely ol woods and try to do work in my raggely ol pastures for the next couple of months…. I remain alot healtier that way πŸ™‚

    I AM A SON OF GOD!! You are absolutely right!! Now Through all this bible reading I’ve been doing this last year, I’ve spent alot of time on God’s wrath… Now that we are into the new testament, I’m seeing alot of God’s love…. Personally, I’m a God’s love kind of guy….

    Now I was feelin more down than ol Job there for a while, but without the love, encourtagement, and every once in a while a kick in the seat from our Lord, I probably wouldn’t have turned out the way I did. I am so glad to have a LOVING God who will take care of ALL of us if we’ll let him…

    Well, I have finished that PC book!! FINALLY!! I’ve started on another one that may be right up our alley…. Circuit riding short stories…. I’ll tell you what, I was sitting listening to the sermon last Sunday thinking “How would ol PC judge this one??” I can just see him and our preacher getting into one of those “discourses” over the word. The one thing I like about our preacher is I have a feeling, the arguement would end up in a tie!! I might not agree with everything the preacher says, but there is no denying his conviction and passion for the word….

    Alright, I’d better git on….

    Have a GREAT day,

    Brad

  2. Morning Brad!

    I think deer hunting opens on Nov 7th around here.Oh well, when I hear allot of shots and see deer scrambling all over the place I’ll know its open.I stay out of the woods then for the most part but field work is still being done then if it ain’t froze up. In fact I don’t know how deer hunting will go in these parts cause there’s very little harvest work done yet because of the mud. Them deer will have mucho corn fields to hunker down in and be nice and safe!

    Circuit Riding short stories sounds like something that I sure would like! Where do you find such things? πŸ™‚ Hmm, I should order up another few books of Glenn Smith’s and the one called Apostle Cowboy Style is a winner! He’s basically a circuit rider in the midwest and west. An easy read and fast paced too! Make these books available to readers here. I know they’re probably even going to be ordered by our church! Now I wonder who ever gave them that idea πŸ™‚

    Yep, this Saturday working calves will be a preacher’s convention the way I figure it! It sure ain’t no retreat! Its an attack! Or else a circus πŸ™‚ But we’ll get er done and I’ll be one happy guy to have all that under the belt. Plus get that lime spread out today and then it gets a whole lot less in the worry department around here. Funny how at times the workload seems impossible and sooner or later its all done! Praise the Lord!

    I’ll try and keep going a bit with this subject and show what the New Testament really says about us. Its sure good, I figure that’s why its called the Good News!

    God Bless!

  3. Morning Tom,

    Well all that rain your getting, we’re getting too. Another soaker yesterday. Slogs to the barnyard just aren’t any fun anymore…. πŸ™‚ What a difference a year makes eh???

    This rain put a hurt on my field prep. Before the accident I ordered some OP corn and have been storing it for pret near two years…. I am going to plant it in the spring if I can get some lime and NPK back there…. Where the field is is high, but all around is low…..

    Other than that more cleanup and fencing in store. That and take a load of calves to the sale barn….

    Tonight is church night. I sure do look forward to that. I really look forward to our 5 or 10 minute devotional every week. It sure makes you think… and goodness knows, I need more to think about… πŸ™‚

    Well, I hope everything is still going well up there. I sure do look forward to this time of year. The cool weather is a nice change and hopefully this winter this ol place will get a whole lot less raggely πŸ™‚

    Have a GREAT day,

    Brad

  4. Morning Brad!

    Well, the lime is on the fields and it was so wet, (the lime), that the spreader plugged up during two different loads. It sure is fun to have one feller in the spreader with a four inch scraper and the other driving to get that super rained on goo out of the contraption. But its history now,its under the belt! Gotta take the spreader back to the co-op around eight this morning and Amen to that!

    Church tonight for this feller too if the cows are nice to me πŸ™‚ Don’t know where I’ll end up,in the service or in children’s church, play it by ear I guess!

    Looks like the work will kinda get done around here. Made some advancements the last couple of days. And those that know on ag radio are talking a much better week starting next week. That would be a major change in these parts!

    So I gotta get, wanta put the duels on the 4320 today too. But you know how it is, a feller can still dwell on all this faith stuff pretty much through out the day. Just walk the walk and talk the talk!

    Oh, check this out at Lee Ann’s blog! Talk about a fear of mine πŸ™‚

    http://mountainhomevt.blogspot.com/2009/10/tims-rock.html

    Gotta go!

    God Bless!

  5. Wow! Powerful message! and just the one I needed to hear today!

    By the way, could you keep that rain over there?! I’m beginning to grow webs between my toes. It rains just about every other day here. I’m not going to complain too loud right now, but soon the temps will be dropping and I know what happens to that rain then. Rumor has it that the white stuff is going to get deep around here this winter.

    Have a great day and may the Lord bless you!

  6. hey NF,
    and Mr. Brad, hope y’all are well!
    ben working on something , but it’s didn’t turn out the way i want it too! πŸ˜•

    wanted to say hay to ya, tonite, got to be out the door before 5 in the am
    C ya

  7. Morning Folks

    Well, I went on over and took a look at that blog…. That is a nightmare fore me too…. I gotta tell you, I had some close calls like that with some lumber when I was building the barn, but that ol rock would have been a drawer changin event for sure!! πŸ™‚

    More rain cooming this way…. I might need to borrow your duallies this weekend Tom!! Actually, we might ride a couple of hours a way and do some visiting. I hope so….. I figure I give the boys 1/4 mile of barbwire and some staples and I’ll let them do my farming for me….. I’m tired of being a pin cushion πŸ™‚

    We had a great devotional last night. About abiding in the Lord and not just trying to further the great commision without walking the walk first. Something that was right up my alley you know…. I like being an example first. Then a salesman ya know….

    Well, I’d better get on… I need some extra strength coffee this morning. Three hours of sleep jest ain’t gettin it….

    Hey Jan!! Good to hear from ya again!!

    Have a GREAT day,

    Brad

  8. Morning Lee Ann!

    I’ll do my best to keep it here and it looks like it should arrive here later this morning! Quite the October I tell you! I get a feeling this is going to be a long winter, at least I have plenty of feed, now to make more firewood!

    God Bless!

    Hey Jan!

    Good to hear from you again! Been a while! You take care and get back here more often! πŸ™‚

    God Bless!

    Morning Brad!

    I’m like you, severe lack of sleep. Although I got one more hour than you did πŸ™‚ Durn church coffee, I musta OD’d again last evening πŸ™‚

    But I sure did have a great time in Children’s Church! Talked about the Blood again and then went to the Bible verse that’s in this post. I copied it out and that was the evening’s theme. And them kids listened I tell you! I wished someone would’a taught me that in my younger days!

    And I’ll have to keep this subject going, both here, at church and out in the countryside, “nothing but the Blood”. When a feller nails that down allot of the things of faith fall into place. Trouble is we mostly live in a society that doesn’t want to talk about blood. Churches like to avoid it so they don’t offend people and lose income, etc.

    Looks like I got a few hours this morning to get most of the chores done before it rains so I figure I had better get started and if’n its raining later I can just stay dry and happy and get some things done around the office that are so badly neglected.

    God Bless!

  9. Good Morning Brethren!!
    Just a quick note of appreciation for your faithfulness and obedience to the Lord!! What a message/series of messages!!! πŸ™‚

    Oswald had a few things to say yesterday about this…
    Hope you don’t mind…

    My Utmost for His Highest – October 28

    Title: Justification By Faith

    Key Verse: For if, when we were enemies, we were reconciled to God by the death of His Son, much more, being reconciled, we shall be saved by His life.

    I am not saved by believing; I realize I am saved by believing. It is not repentance that saves me, repentance is the sign that I realize what God has done in Christ Jesus. The danger is to put the emphasis on the effect instead of on the cause. It is my obedience that puts me right with God, my consecration. Never! I am put right with God because prior to all, Christ died. When I turn to God and by belief accept what God reveals I can accept, instantly the stupendous Atonement of Jesus Christ rushes me into a right relationship with God; and by the supernatural miracle of God’s grace I stand justified, not because I am sorry for my sin, not because I have repented, but because of what Jesus has done. The Spirit of God brings it with a breaking, all-over light, and I know, though I do not know how, that I am saved.

    The salvation of God does not stand on human logic, it stands on the sacrificial Death of Jesus. We can be born again because of the Atonement of Our Lord. Sinful men and women can be changed into new creatures, not by their repentance or their belief, but by the marvellous work of God in Christ Jesus which is prior to all experience. The impregnable safety of justification and sanctification is God Himself. We have not to work out these things ourselves; they have been worked out by the Atonement. The supernatural becomes natural by the miracle of God; there is the realization of what Jesus Christ has already done – “It is finished.”

    While it does not mention the blood per se, the topic seems to complement…

    Personally coming out of organized religion, one with “THe Truth!!” :/ I have struggled in separating the actions we do in obedience and the gift of God!!

    Blessings and I pray you keep the faith and persevere in this walk we call life.

    Brian

  10. Hey Brian!

    Thanks for the input!! Don’t tell anyone, but, I’ll be using this quote from Oswald in the next week or two in church!

    Us folks can get ourselves in more trouble than my cowherd when it comes to faith. And I ain’t no exception. It always seems to go in the direction that “I’m doing something”, when in fact, He did everything!

    I was just recently reading a small book and it was saying about preaching the Gospel and I must admit, I never have come across one that made that much sense. The author was talking about reaching the lost and it was quite a bit different than most I’ve read and I truly agreed with it. As churched folks we tend to breath hellfire and brimstone at the lost, (as if we are better than they on our own power), but the lost ain’t looking for hell, they know that they are heading there deep down in their heart. I know I always knew I was no matter how good I figured I was, which I wasn’t by the way. The book says that the lost are looking for answers, not condemnations. They know they’re condemned and again, I knew I was deep down. The Gospel is the Good News, not the Bad News! The only time Jesus got down and preached hell, which He did quite a bit, was at the self righteous religious folks! And that’s a fact! And I don’t see no difference today!

    Come as you are, if something has you chained, an addiction, a habit, don’t stay away, drag that chain and weight right with you and let Jesus take care of it. Now that’s Good News! Jesus did it all already so bring your cares and burdens to Him!

    Ah, I love the Gospel, the Good News! Glory!

    Well, raining here and I reckon I should meander outside again in a bit. Writing this with my heavy duty Carhart hooded jacket on, kinda wet too πŸ™‚

    God Bless!


Leave a Reply

