Links, Video, and Preaching Manure!

Another rainy day around these parts and the ground is pretty soggy to say the least. But with the promise that tomorrow the sun might peek out I’m getting a bit excited cause then we can get the south herd home without getting our daily shower poured upon us. Looking back, even in those terrible droughts of years past, this time of the year would be wet. Although it didn’t do hardly any good in them years except make a person wonder why it couldn’t rain in summer. But that’s all water under the bridge nowadays. The silage pit is over flowing and there’s even a second pile to its side.There’s plenty of hay baled up and the winter won’t be so long knowing a person doesn’t have to be looking for high priced hay. Butchered four hogs this morning and that’s a chore I don’t have to do daily for the next few months till spring when we get a few more. Was talkin to a friend a bit ago and we were thinking about raising up one next spring and have us an old fashioned hog roast next summer. Then later I was thinking what a wonderful way to draw sinners in! I know if I was a sinner, (I mean unsaved), I’d get gosh awfully tempted when there’d be a hog roast! Nothing like a roast hog butchered up the old fashioned way, scalded!  Another side note here, as I type I’m listening to the Cowboy Gospel Hour and I sure do love it.I wished we had a show like that on local radio around here. But praise the Lord for the internet, even being the filthy sewer that it is, cause there’s some pretty good stuff on it for an old time, cattle raising, mud trudging, cattle cussing, born again back roads sometimes preacher.

Now the show I’m listening to is titled, “Don’t Be a Christian Snob”.  Even the title draws me cause if there’s anything I hate is when Christians get all high and mighty. I know I do at times and I gotta catch myself when I do. Gotta judge myself, well, that’s what the Bible say to do, judge yourself so that God don’t have to do it! Better to get it done right now than later at the throne I figure! Now take an old fashioned hog roast for example, say if a person was going to kinda open it up to folks that ain’t exactly churched, what would my reaction be? Well,I figure there wouldn’t be much problem with me the way I look at it, cause I ain’t exactly what you’d call a super saint. I ain’t no better than anybody else so if they like hog, more power to them! Heck, my main church clothes, even when I preach, are Wranglers, jeans and shirts! (Durn, I’m listening to that Cowboy Gospel Show and I tell you, those folks are preaching my kinda message!)

I like the phrase, “they got their noses so far up that if it’d rain they’d drown!” Yep, I don’t like that kinda stuff. Come as you are I say! The clothes of a person ain’t going to get them points in heaven! No sir! Now,I’m going to put a video on here again, some preaching from Roman’s 7. My kinda preaching too! If anyone is wondering why I’m putting up links and videos quite often lately, well, its a way I have of saving them in case this computer gives up its ghost! In the last post I touched the Blood of Jesus, the most powerful substance in the universe, and that’s the only thing that saved me, nothing I ever did, nothing.  The verses in Romans really tells it like it is and the video has that flare that I like, very understandable for a simple cattleman like me who is full of manure every day, especially in this mud weather! (Must be a sermon in this). Preaching manure will get the attention of any born again, Spirit Filled country guy or gal!

Roman 7
13 Has then what is good become death to me? Certainly not! But sin, that it might appear sin, was producing death in me through what is good, so that sin through the commandment might become exceedingly sinful. 14 For we know that the law is spiritual, but I am carnal, sold under sin. 1516 If, then, I do what I will not to do, I agree with the law that it is good. 17 But now, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me. 18 For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells; for to will is present with me, but how to perform what is good I do not find. 19 For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice. 20 Now if I do what I will not to do, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me.
21 I find then a law, that evil is present with me, the one who wills to do good. 22 For I delight in the law of God according to the inward man. 2324 O wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? 25 I thank God—through Jesus Christ our Lord!
So then, with the mind I myself serve the law of God, but with the flesh the law of sin.
For what I am doing, I do not understand. For what I will to do, that I do not practice; but what I hate, that I do. But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/10/16/links-video-and-preaching-manure/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. hello NF,

  2. Hey Jan!

    Well, gotta get myself outside this morning, a fella can see stars in the sky, now that’s different! Gotta move that cattle herd home today and then everything is on the home front and I can relax a notch! Here’s hoping that all is well down your way!

    God Bless!

  3. Great video there Tom!! Also thanks for the pic. Put it on FB for all the other fella’s out there. Nothing like sitting in a stand and seing that little kitty right above ya. Have an awesome Sunday!!

  4. Good Sunday Morning RJ!

    I thought you’d like the kitty picture 🙂 I’ll have to put it on here when I post next. Seems like many of the homestead and farming and country blogs always have kitty pictures and I never have. That’ll have to change 🙂 (Warning to readers, this kitty catches awfully big mice, you need a fourwheeler to drag em).

    Well, being its Sunday I really gotta wolf down this breakfast and get going. Get a pile of chores done before daylight breaks and then get ready for church!

    God Bless!


Leave a Reply

