Holy Ghost Weekend

It’s a rainy Sunday evening in these parts, windy too! From the northwest, pretty strong. Well, back to chopping silage tomorrow after chopping for six days straight. We’ve already got a new record for the amount of silage chopped this year and still have a long way to go. I’m hoping to get er done this week and then the rest of the fall should be on cruise. Just some field work and a lot of cattle work to keep me out of trouble.

I’m hoping to get back in the saddle here a bit more often than what I was writing this past week. Its kinda tough to write when working till 9 or 10 in the evening but there’s only a few days of that left. I tell you, morning sure does come fast in harvest season! But soon will be winter and the work days are fairly short then and I can recover at that time. Today was a pretty good day. Church was really good from start to finish and one must remember that this is not some bigtime production. Just a small countryside church that has a desire to go after God. The sermon,or teaching, was on the Holy Spirit and this was the second week laying out the base for the teaching. Some of it stuck to me today and will the rest of my born days. From Acts 2:

38Then Peter said unto them, Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.

39For the promise is unto you, and to your children, and to all that are afar off, even as many as the LORD our God shall call.

That was a promise for then and now! Amen! There’s a whole bunch more and I hope to get to that as time goes on. This is what separates stale and dry religion from really chasing after God! The Holy Ghost, the promise, the infilling of power. Funny how power isn’t mentioned so much anymore but the early church was getting continually filled with Holy Ghost power.Not a one time event either. In these day when darkness is spreading over the earth there is really no hope in man’s system, there is no answer in politics, there is no answer in economics. But there is an answer in God!

And we need power, a power that the world and man cannot give to keep on going in these times.There is no doubt about that and I for one am not going to rely on man or me in any event. just give me God and all is well no matter what is happening in the world.This will be short tonight but as I wrote, I’ll be back to normal in a few short days and this subject and some of the ones I was writing about will continue.

0_0_0_0_198_168_csupload_628433

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/09/27/holy-ghost-weekend/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Morning Tom,

    Quick one here this morning…. Its harvest week for me too 🙂 . Looks like a good window for it, no rain until saturday, so I’d better get hoppin.

    I’ll be able to sit more come tomorrow, I’m just watching hay dry tomorrow… and doin a honeydew list a mile long…. 🙂

    Sounds like everything is going good with you…..

    Have a GREAT day,

    Brad

  2. Morning Brad!

    Windier than the dickens outside this morning, give me a true test to see if my blood can take the change of weather. We should be able to chop though without to much problem and get us closer to the end one of these days.

    So much to say and so little time 🙂

    God Bless!

  3. Praise God! went to a prayer meeting last night & I’ll tell you the Holy Spirit was moving amongst the most laid-back of people there! It began w/old-fashioned praise & worship, went into the message by our pastor on the Atonement of Jesus, went into more praise & then into prayer & then ended w/praise…praise sets us free, that’s for sure, when we’re worshipping in spirit & truth & in unity & seeking the face of the Lord & reconciliation! I’m convinced there’s no revival gonna come w/out us (individually, as well as by family & nationally) repenting…but the chains seem to fall off (all through the Bible…been looking at this from 2 Chronicles 20:21) after PRAISE!

    Amen, brother Tom….our salvation is not in politics, man’s wisdom or anything else! Yes, we share in the fellowship of Jesus’ sufferings, but we ALSO partake in the POWER of His resurrection!!!

    I admit, I’ve been living crucified, but not resurrected, lately…& then wondering why I lack purpose/direction/power!!!

  4. Hi Nina!

    You had to mention 2 Chronicles chapter 20! The song, “Lord You Are Good and Your Mercy Endureth Forever” keeps shouting in my mind. My favorite story of the Old Testament! Three large armies approaching and King Jehoshaphat sends out the praise team! Oh Lord I love that story! I hope to do that in church someday, combine the Bible chapter preaching with the song! It was close a week or so ago but didn’t work but it will!

    OK, where was I?? Before you threw me for a loop 🙂

    Praise God about your meeting last evening!! I love hearing these things, it picks me up I tell you! I’m with you on living the resurrected life! It all happens at the cross, but we are raised up with Christ!

    Thanks and God Bless!


Leave a Reply

