Come Some Happy Day

Come some Happy Morning,

Come some Happy Day!

Those are some of the words to a song I’m listening to as I type. Good old fashion blow the shingles off the church building music, the kind I like! Amen! Never was to much for an over abundance of funeral music in church. I love the old hymns and stuff but what really gets to me are some of the more regional songs from a few decades back. I love them things. From the time when the Holy Ghost came back with power through America’s heartland! Every once in a while I stumble across a blog, a Christian blog, where about all they do is nit pick apart other denominations. Was just on one a bit ago and I told the wife I had such a pressure in the gut when reading such stuff that I thought I was getting sick. That’s the Holy Ghost saying, “Tom, get your eyes off of such garbage!”, and I gladly comply.

I guess when a person is just an old fashioned Holy Roller it doesn’t matter to much what anyone says any more about it. Funny part is I never knew what real joy was till these last few years! I’m perfectly at ease with the path we are taking here. Now that’s not saying that “I have arrived”, mercy no, its from now through eternity getting to know the heart of God. I’m just saying that I know that I know that things are right. And when a feller knows that then its time to get on board and follow Jesus with everything a fella got!

I ain’t looking for theology’s and man’s wisdom. No sir, I’m just chasing the Lord in joy. Now sometimes though it ain’t all joy like when a person asks God to show me what’s wrong in my heart. He will show a person and it ain’t pretty! Even if its so ugly a person can barely take it its all for the good because then a person knows that no matter what he or she does it ain’t good enough. Ain’t good enough doing anything with our own power cause we will fail no matter what in the light of eternity.

But that joy comes in the morning when we just give it to God! And I can testify that since getting into the habit the days go a heck of allot smoother. The burdens are lifted, the work gets done one way or another. Things work! The evening rolls around and a person just can’t wait to get into the Word of God. Throw a little old fashioned Holy Ghost music into the mix and I don’t care what the world does! Now that’s joy in the Lord!

I just pray that with blogging and such some of this gets through and folks can feel it too. Like I wrote, I pray that this blog never gets religious, or political for that matter cause I really don’t see any answers in man. Our answers are in God. Man’s answers are going to burn up, but God’s ways are forever!

Published in: on September 18, 2009 at 7:24 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/09/18/come-some-happy-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Morning Tom,

    Now as a current Bapti-catho-dist… I coupldn’t agree more. You know, sometimes I wish we could wrap up the best of all these religions and say “Here we are folks…. This is it!!” oh wait….. they did that in the book of Acts didn’t they…. πŸ™‚ .

    Now while I haven’t found one yet that was perfect, I have found each and every “religion” to have its own little specialty. I like the passion of these churches. Even if I don’t agree, they think they are doing right by God and move forward with such conviction…. I do believe that is important… On the other hand, I do believe it must break God’s heart to see how man has twisted his words and laws into what they feel they ought to be….

    Ahhh well… He’s probably used to it by now… us humans have been twistin those words for close to 3000 or so years πŸ™‚

    Hows things been going there friend. I had a good weekend of bull fighting and calf chasin and fence mending… It wasn’t quite your great escape, but it was close…. Its always a sinkin feeling when you have to get cows back on the raggely side of the fence and your by yourself……. I did it though…

    Well, you have got me thinking about stuff again for the day. I guess I’ll have me a cup o instant and ponder some more….

    Have a GREAT day,

    Brad

  2. Morning Brad!

    Monday morning and it looks like we might get us a bit of rain in a while. Going to start chopping today or tomorrow weather permitting and that could cut down in blogging time. Could cut down in church time too.

    But tis the season and the next week or two just hammer away at the work and love God all the while. Besides I keep forgetting we got us a different chopper and that baby chops!!

    So I’ll still be around in the morning a bit but I don’t know about evenings unless its raining. Anyone wanting to send a prayer over this way for the harvest is certainly welcome cause I’ll be needing it πŸ™‚

    Time to do some chores and then pull those 18 foot wagons out of the machine shed.

    God Bless!

  3. morning all,

    hey BB, liked the commment ya just made!

    about us humans twisting his words around, to our way of thinking,

    y’all have a good day,

  4. will thinking bout ya bring in the harvest NF! πŸ˜‰

    • Well Jan, the trial run went good this afternoon even in a light rain. In a week or two it’ll all be history πŸ™‚ Feels good having all that silage to chop. I couldn’t believe how it added up so fast today! Now to get the fuel barrel filled up tomorrow morning and let er rip!

  5. Getting pretty much ready, got the silage boxes out of the shed and greased. Its been raining a little bit here, don’t know if I’ll be able to chop today or not, but I gotta couple more things to get ready on the tractor this early afternoon! Pray that it goes well cause believe me,I have a severe labor shortage here πŸ™‚

  6. Tom. I see Tommy Bates came out with a DVD of his songs. Might be a good one to watch. Of all the time for it to rain. It has to be this week. All in God’s timing though. You know I would help ya if I could!! Best of luck. Talk to you soon.

    • I seen that! The lyrics that I wrote on top of this post were from a Tommy Bates preaching CD from about a year ago. I love that old music from the hills and hollers πŸ™‚

      Well, I chopped six big loads this afternoon just trying everything out and will hit er hard starting tomorrow. I’ll have a tad bit of help then, could use more but we’ll get along. I can’t complain cause the workload is huge because of a bumper year, praise the Lord.It ain’t like in them drought years. I’ve already hired you for cattle work this year and I don’t care if you bring the whole tribe with and stay for some country grub πŸ™‚ You know how the cattle work is, done by noon or so.


Leave a Reply

