Thinking About Moses

It’s still warm and dry up here in this neck of the woods. yesterday we were literally invaded by Asian Beetles and I tell you it was miserable! Of course we declared absolute war on the little stinky invaders.Now I ain’t much for using sprays on stuff but I tell you I was a madman yesterday spraying around the outside of the house and later my better half found the better spray and did it all again around the house.I even dreamt of the stinky little things last night sleeping.I was dreaming of billions of the things lifting up from the neighbors soybean field and circling our house at a higher altitude and making noise and gradually coming down on the place. Yuck! Bad dream. But apparently the spray did its job cause today there ain’t hardly any around the house. Now I do not believe this dream had any spiritual significance, just overwhelmed by having dozens of them beetles at a time on my face down my shirt, driving a person almost stark raving nuts.And having literally masses of them on all the outside walls of our house. But peace is here today, Praise the Lord!

As I said, it’s still warm out and I for one am looking forward to some wind from the northwest to cool things down a tad so I don’t get so sweated up working. I guess they’re talking that it will cool down a tad in a few days so that’ll be a relief! Today, sawing wood and splitting wood I was working up a constant sweat. But as usual as I’m working I’m pretty much always thinking faith matters,cause that’s the important stuff and I do believe that if a person goes after God everything else in life falls into place a whole lot better.Well, it might not seem that way in our eyes at the moment but if we are following God,handing it over to Him you can bet the farm that He’s going to make the path straight for us and for our eternal destiny. Something that we ain’t very good at doing on our own. Lately I’ve mentioned David quite a bit and I do love reading and studying about Him but this afternoon I was thinking about Moses.Now usually I don’t think of him all that much.I mostly know that in the beginning of the year, when reading the daily Bible readings a fella spends a few months getting through the books of Moses and sometimes it can be the best medicine for falling asleep that a farmer can find.

This year was a whole lot better getting through those books cause I was using the New Living Translation which made a whole lot more sense than the King James did the year before. At least things were explained in terms a po’ farmer could understand! ut back to what ever it was I was writing about. Now old Moses was a man after God! I never really understood that as well as I do now. The life he lived following God and also being the pastor for a congregation of around three million rebellious folk makes a person wonder if he shouldn’t get the pastor of the millenium award!

Then when God was so sick and tired of that congregation rebelling and grumbling and saying they figured it should be done this way or should be done that way, God said I’ve had enough of you nutcases! (Well, this is from the THT, Tom’s Hillbilly Translation). God said I’m out of here. You folks can still kinda be my people but I ain’t going to be around you no more! I’ll send one angel to take care of you folks and your on your way! Old Moses wasn’t going to settle for that, no way! Moses told God,“If Your Presence does not go with us, do not bring us up from here.”Β  (Ex. 33:15)

What made old Moses say something like that to God. Well, God said in Ex.33:3, “Go up to a land flowing with milk and honey, for I will not go up in your midst, lest I consume you on the way, for you are a stiff necked people.”

Moses didn’t think twice about his answer to God. He would even have a second thought about remaining in the hot desert, a miserable place, but having the presence of God with Him was all Moses wanted. He didn’t care about going to a good land if God wasn’t going with them. Yup, this had me thinking today. Allot! Moses knew God. In the beginning of the exodus out of Egypt God had wanted for all the people to come to Him and to experience His presence, to experience His Glory. But the people refused to come close, told Moses, “you go for us”. What a terrible loss for those folks, a terrible loss. The God of the universe wanting them to come and know Him, and they refused. Wanting comfort in their own selves. Not wanting to give up the Egypt inside of them and get something countless times better.

Yep, this is what I was thinking about cutting and splitting firewood during the heat of the day today. Are we willing to give up the Egypt in us and come up to an Almighty God that wants for us to give it all to Him. There’s allot of stuff in the Old Testament that really pertains to today I tell you. In fact when read with the real reason it was written, to bring us home to God, its something a person cannot afford not to read and learn from. It ain’t no different today then it was then. God wants His people to come to Him.

Published in: on September 14, 2009 at 7:11 pm  Comments (24)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/09/14/thinking-about-moses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

24 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Morning Tom,

    Now…. are you sure your thinkin about ol Moses because of what your were sayin or because of them beetles…. They could be the modern day locusts ya know πŸ™‚ (You’ll have to excuse me if I got that wrong, but I do believe ol Pharoah had his own insect problem…. )

    We get those green shiny beetles down here. We call em Japanese beetles. They will flat eat anything green they can find. They haven’t been bad this year though…. they might have found the cool climate of Minnesota much more to their liking πŸ™‚

    One thing about yesterdays comment friend…… I do believe you were at least 5 to 7 smiley things short on tryin to explain women’s moods. Us men got to learn not to bring up that subject because it tends to come with severe slapage….. πŸ™‚ I sure hope you survived….. πŸ™‚

    Weather here is calling for rain all week. Thats fine with me…. Our family has been down with the flu bug thats been going around…. we’re slowly crawlin out, but it sure is taking a while…..

    I’ve started movin my shop… WHAT A MESS!!!!! I am findin all those missin tractor parts from over the years. I think about reinstallin them, but the baling wire seems to be doing the job. My work benches tend to just be a big ol pile of tools and parts and nuts and bolts. I’m actually tryin to organize the thing so I’ll know where everyting is….. The problem is is that I’ve been usin the big pile system for so long, It will probably take longer to find everything that is organized!! πŸ™‚

    Oh well…. I figure a fella ought to clean out and up his shop every 20 years or so… Its a good test of his Christianity πŸ™‚

    I’d better go…. One more thing…. I think I’m about to be high falutin’….. Seems the new wife has a problem with the instant coffee I drink… She asked where my coffee maker was and I pointed to my electric perculator…She is threatenin me with buyin a coffee maker with a timer and everything. After I figure out how to use it, I figure It will be just like drinkin a cappachino or somethin….. πŸ™‚

    Have a GREAT day,

    Brad

  2. Morning Brad!

    I tell you, I was thinking more about the Book of Revelation when them beetles were crawling over everything including me πŸ™‚ But yesterday they were really dwindled down because of the spays around the outside of the house. We’ll see how long that lasts!

    After last winter’s ulcer adventure I’ve been drinking instant instead of the old pot. Not that I like it better, just that there ain’t such huge quantities of coffee sitting there all day tempting me. Although I’ve been known to drink a whole pot by myself when visiting πŸ™‚

    Taboo subject here, cleaning the shop. I must move on now πŸ™‚

    Another taboo subject, like you mentioned, (cough), women’s moods. Now I ain’t even a woman and I can’t figure out my moods sometimes so who am I to try and figure out something that I know I’ll never figure out on this side of the Jordan or the other side for that matter! I’ll stick to the easy subjects like why did God create everything He did and all of that!

    Well, I gotta go and drag a little patch of ground this morning and then plant it by hand, some alfalfa and red clover. Small corner patch, it don’t pay to drag out the seeding equipment for that. Then probably make more and more firewood.

    So have great day down there!

    God Bless!

  3. I started to say you men , are just as mooded as us!
    πŸ˜‰

    • I have a rule and I figure I was close to going over the edge with it, never talk man talk about women on the blog πŸ™‚ There ain’t nuthin that can get a feller in more trouble πŸ™‚

  4. Tom, what a BLESSING YOU ARE! You, too Rev Josh (I loved the ‘bust-a-move’ reference about dancing unto the Lord in your latest blog!) & all the gang here! y’all are water to my weary soul, encouragement to keep on keeping on (Gal. 6:9) & proof that there are yet “7000 who have not bowed their knee to Baal” out there who believe like I do! Thanks for encouraging me to want God’s PRESENCE, to NOT want Egypt in my heart or grumbling on my lips & to EXPECT, PRAISE & yes, even DANCE! πŸ™‚

    • HI Nina!

      Thanks for the kind words. Rev Josh should be in Nebraska as I write this at the FCF, (Faith Christian Fellowship, our ministry covering), conference. I could’a gone, should’a gone, but farming don’t let a feller get away all that easy πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to hear how it went for him.

      I gotta couple minutes here so I might as well story tell πŸ™‚ back when I was a wet behind the ears Christian Josh started training me in Children’s Church to be a teacher. I tell you, those days were sink or swim. I was forced to learn and learn but soon realized I had a hunger that was never satisfied for God’s Word. Josh is one of the special people that got me going, encouraged me and will forever be a friend! We’re not in the same church now but are in contact on the blogs, (I refuse to get Face Book), and I’m hoping to see him and his family one of these days again!

      I’m glad you relate to what I was writing about cause sometimes folks don’t want to hear Old Testament stuff. But that book is about the same God we have now, no different. Only a New Covenant. But chasing after God’s heart, after His presence is shown so well in those old Bible stories! The whole Bible from front to back is a gift from God so we can get to know Him. I almost cry when folks, Christian folks, don’t think much of reading the Word, getting immersed in the Word and letting the Word settle in deep in their hearts. I can hardly get enough and every day it just explodes more and more, deeper revelations that I never seen before reading the same thing over and over so many times!

      Yup, going after God, a fella will never be the same when meeting up with Him! And what it does is it creates a hunger for more and more of Him. Old Moses had it right,he wasn’t going to the promised land without God’s presence! And we shouldn’t want to go anywhere,or do anything without His presence either. And He won’t disappoint! When we truly want to rid ourselves of Egypt we open the door for our Saviour to come in and take over every area of our journey in this life! Who could ask for anything greater??!!

      Oh Lord, I’m excited now!!

      God Bless!

  5. NF, ya know I was just razzing ya and mister BB πŸ˜‰

  6. Morning All,

    How is everyone this fine morning??

    Now Jan, that reminds me of a story…. My mom went through the change some years back. Seems ol Dad got on her bad side one day and while they were goin back and forth Dad says “I thought once you went through this thing, your hormones wouldn’t cause these mood swings. She shot back “Maybe it hasn’t been these hormones all these years…… Maybe its just you!!”

    Ouch…. πŸ™‚

    Alright Tom, I am sure you envisioned this Christian farm and ranch blog to be THE source for any information on wimmins health πŸ™‚ . I’m just doin my part to see your dream become reality πŸ™‚

    Well, not much going on here. We’ve got church tonight and then a middle school football game tomorrow. Moving stuff over slowly and makin new shop piles as fast as I’m cleaning up the old ones.

    I did tell the wife that there was one more person on the face of the earth that drinks instant coffee though…. The way she looked at me, I’m sure you two will be a hit if you ever meet πŸ™‚

    Have a GREAT day,

    Brad

  7. Morning Everyone!

    Looking like another summer day around here so I’d better get my brute labor jobs done in the morning and taker er down a notch in the warm afternoon. Its the humidity that sticks to a feller though.

    Looks like I’m getting in more trouble around this U,S of A than I can handle πŸ™‚ So I ain’t saying nuthin about women stuff πŸ™‚ Heck, even coffee can get me in trouble πŸ™‚

    Guess I’ll stick with the Word of God instead cause if folks want to stone me I figure its better to get stoned or tortured for a reason like God’s Word than instant coffee or women πŸ™‚ Not much reward in the great beyond for digging myself into a ditch!

    Tonight’s church here too. Gotta teach tonight in the Children’s Church. Don’t know what yet, but then again I never know till I get there!

    So, finish up this here cup and head outside during the cool of the day and get something done. Maybe saw a cord of red oak before the sun gets up to high and save the splitting for later in the day.

    God Bless!!

  8. we are instant coffee drankers, but we have a coffee pot for the weekends πŸ™‚

  9. Hey Tom,

    We had tons of those asian lady beetles a few years back. One time my Dad had one crawl inside his ear! He could hardly sit still long enough for us to pour some olive oil in there to float the little bugger out. Once it came up we grabbed it with some tweezers.

  10. I hope that story doesn’t give you any more bad dreams!

  11. Morning,

    How is everyone this fine morning….. Church was good. That ol horn is coming along…. I can durn near play half the notes in the songs during practice πŸ™‚

    Its been a rainy one this week… I’m not complaining. I hope it starts drying out tomorrow because its fencing day tomorrow…. Patching a fence that has been my hayfield for the past couple of years because it leaks more cows than it holds…. Its closer to the new house, so I’m going to be making it my winter pasture…. Y’all know how workin with barbed wire is….If I have any blood left in me, I should be talking to you again πŸ™‚

    Tom, this year is going to be different around here… I won’t be burning wood!! First time in 23 years!! I guess I’m going to have to get some kerosene heaters or something just in case … I sure hate relying on ol Mr Edison for everything…. Anyway, the ol chainsaw is probably wondering what is up this year..Its hardly seen any use whatsoever…. That might change though….A buddy of mine told me that the utility company is givin away their poles for anyone who wants to cut em up…… I’m thinkin fenceposts!! πŸ™‚

    Alright, probably ought to get on with the morning….

    Have a GREAT day,

    Brad

  12. Morning Jan!

    As I sit here with my cup of “instant”! πŸ™‚

    God Bless!

    Now Russ,

    It didn’t give me no nightmares but I’ll probably be paranoid this afternoon when it gets warm out and them Asian beetles get on the move again πŸ™‚ I hate that ear thing, gives me the shudders! Praise the Lord, gonna have to ask for extra protection till it gets cold out someday! Thanks!

    God Bless!

    Morning Brad!

    Well, I cut and split around two cord yesterday by my lonesome self and will do it again today Lord willing πŸ™‚ I figure it keeps me slim and trim. Could start an exercise show, especially when the chain saw averages 11 pulls to get er started! Good chain saw, just has a hard time waking up, kinda like me lately πŸ™‚

    Last evening’s Children’s Church went just fine, I preached Moses of all things, took the whole hour and I ran out of time. Must be long winded and couldn’t get to the point or else there’s just to much good stuff to cover in an hour! But it was good. Kinda getting into this stuff, for a lesson just choose a chapter in the Bible and have at it. Kinda like the old time preachers that would scramble to church after a long days work on the farm and just let er rip from the Good Book πŸ™‚

    Well, I reckon I had better finish up this cup of “instant” πŸ™‚ and get outside, do some chores and if the cattle cooperate get back onto that woodpile and cut away. You all have a good and blessed day and I know we will too!

    God Bless!

  13. Hey Tom, We’re back. I will tell ya. One boring drive!!! It doesn’t matter what part of Iowa a person drives through. It is just plum boring. You missed one great conference. Actually all the conferences are really good and shouldn’t be missed. This one was perfect for the timing though. Miss Harrison talked about the Holy Ghost!!! Spoke about how church’s need to talk more on the Holy Ghost, and letting the Holy Ghost move at will. Then had a speeker that traveled with Hagin Sr.. Can’t remember his name. He talked on the authority we have through Christ. One revelation after another. Talked about why you should never be sick, and why people’s faith isn’t working. Pretty much said people aren’t willing to step out on faith for it to be fruitful. I’ll have to let you listen to the Cd’s when we’re done here with them. Well better run here. Have a great day.

  14. I used to work all over Iowa, kinda liked the place really. Folks were down home and friendly! Friendliest place I ever noticed was North Dakota, the western part. I tell you, a feller could stay in town all day just gassing up! Good folk! Of course I’m good at yakking away for long periods of time πŸ™‚

    Glad to hear that the regional conference was great! That’s about as close as I will be getting to them,just hearing about them. But I figure I won’t let that stop me in doing what we do for the Lord!

    Oh, by the way, its hot outside, so,the Asian Beetles are back and I keep getting visions of what Russ commented about,should get me a set of ear plugs to be safe πŸ™‚

    God Bless!

  15. Nothing like falling asleep thinking that they’re going in the ears or mouth. Just can’t get a good sleep that way. Luckly we haven’t seen any of those critters around here. Sure am glad we don’t have to deal with them this year. It would be one thing if they came a little here and there. When they all come at one time. You can’t control them. I bet Marvel is going crazy with that vaccum at church sucking them up. Well good luck with your war.

    Would like to get together some time when you slow down a bit. Or if you need help numbering and vacinating. I’ll be available. Talk to you soon.

  16. Morning RJ!

    Don’t know if they’re getting over run with them beetles at church or not this year. One thing I know is that those pesky yellow jackets are everywhere buzzing around and sometimes stinging people over church way. Remember those pesky things when we did fear factor a few years back?? Still there!

    That’s for sure we’ll get together after silage! Plus it’ll be cooler out! Glory! And as far as working calves…..your hired πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to have you folks over and catch up on everything, both ways!

    God Bless!

  17. Afternoon to all! I’ve been enjoying this thread on instant coffee, Asian beetles, Moses, the Holy Ghost & women’s moods! Hehehe! πŸ™‚

    Well, for practical advice, I have a special friend in North Branch, MN (he’s going to school in White Bear Lake) & I baked some chocolate chip cookies & sent a paramedic cartoon w/them…huge hit!

    If anyone else has some simple care package ideas for me to send to a good ‘ol AOG boy from Wisconsin…hard for me to think like a guy since I ain’t one…! πŸ™‚

    Nina Ruth πŸ™‚

  18. Evening Nina!

    Quite the assortment of subjects, eh! And that’s fine with me cause I hope this never becomes one of those sites where everyone is trying to tout their wisdom about scriptures and doctrine and all of that stuff.I guess you could call this place just like in some backwoods, Holy Ghost church. Simple folks that love the Lord and show it, and can shoot the bull on the side pretty good πŸ™‚ Amen! If I ever get to be some snob preacher that thinks he’s something special,well, I just pray that never happens.

    Now for practical advice your asking the wrong guy when it comes to me around here, of course there’s probably folks that are a bit more “normal” than me that are always around visiting this blog, but lets see….what would be a great care package for a central Minnesota farmer……

    I’d say a couple pounds of peppered beef sticks from a real butcher shop and a huge container of French Vanilla Cappuccino πŸ™‚ The French Vanilla sells at the local Fleet store so that could pass as a tax write off for a farmer πŸ™‚ I kinda like the stuff in the early evening, I used to sip a little tea while blogging but I figured a farmer should have something with a little more snort so now that’s my after supper drink while tending the blog πŸ™‚

    There, see how easy it is to write if I don’t have to write about women’s moods πŸ™‚

    God Bless!

  19. Hehe, peppered beef sticks & instant coffee…prolly would be a huge hit w/an AOG farm boy from southeast Wisconsin, too! πŸ™‚

    This past weekend my nieces came over & we made him “Puppy Chow” (also known as “Monkey Munch” or “Muddy Waters”). Basically peanut butter, butter & chocolate melted & poured over Rice Chex & then shaken in a paper sack w/powdered sugar. Mmmmm! I was so proud of those girls…I told ’em to draw whatever they wanted for the jar & all on their own, Lucy the 10 year old drew a river & some trees & sky & each had the word “Love”, “Hope” “Joy” or “Faith” hidden in them.

    The 8 year old, Phoebe, drew 3 crosses on a hill & wrote in rainbow letters, “Jesus is with you!”

    And the baby (just-turned-4 year old Bridget), who ain’t saved yet, drew a picture of her new parakeet & then spun circles around my apartment until she flopped like a puppy & just tuckered out!

    Speak’n of womens moods…my brother has his work cut out for him if the Lord tarries…all them girls! I pray Jesus comes back before they hit their teens….! And He just might…

    • Yep, probably would be a big hit eh πŸ™‚

      Now that sounds like you had a great time with them young’uns πŸ™‚

      Oh and they make that “puppy chow”here too!

      Tell me about women’s moods, I’m thee only male in this house πŸ™‚ Prayers are needed πŸ™‚

  20. hehe, praying for you! Looks like you prolly praying Jesus returns before too long, too…girls keep things lively, that’s for sure! I taught the wee ones at church (currently taking sabbatical because so tired w/other stuff) & the boys were much easier, frankly! But I wouldn’t trade those girls for the world!

    Y’all can actually view the “Puppy Chow” process & the tired little “puppy” Bridget (after consuming copious amounts of the stuff!) here:

    http://care-a-medics.blogspot.com/

    • Hey Nina!

      Thanks for the link!

      God Bless!


Leave a Reply

