We Are More Than Conquerors

This was a very busy week around here and the later part of the week was down right hot for this area this year! Did allot of hay cutting, allot of baling and got all of the straw home that was baled the week before. The hay that was planted with the oats is really taking off this year and we needed to get that straw off the fields before the hay growth made it too high. Don’t want to be driving over nice lush hay if a feller can help it!

I guess the busyness mighta showed on this blog because of lack of posts and such. But such is life when a person is farming and for the next few weeks I don’t see it slowing down much. The corn crop is about as good as it gets. Most plants have two cobs, many have three, and all full sized! Amen! And to top it off when it comes to the sweet corn department, well, we had us the first eating corn yesterday evening and was it a special treat! I was going to have some tonight but it was raining and I didn’t quite feel like going out into the field where its planted to pick some. I would if this was a week from now when its easy to just grab any old cob and its probably good, but now I’d have to do some looking, close looking for enough for supper. And let any rain that wants to fall, fall. We ain’t short but we’re not flooded out either and its been many a year since I seen anything like this year! Glory to God, what a beautiful year in these parts!

Tomorrow’s church and I’m ready for that! Don’t have to do anything there tomorrow that I know of except sit on my butt so there’s no getting anything ready this evening. To tell you the truth I was thinking about going to a rodeo here in central Minnesota this evening but it really ain’t the kinda evening to be sitting on the bleachers. Oh well, I think there’s at least on more this year locally. I kinda like that kind of entertainment, relaxes me!

With any luck at all I’ll be able to post a bit more coming up, the evenings are getting darker a tad bit sooner than what they were so that gives me a tad bit more time. Then as the days get allot shorter I can spruce this blog up and do some of the things I had planned on doing, but summer kinda got in the way. So many good things a person could do if there was a little more time. I take this ruralministry stuff rather seriously, but I don’t do it to work my way up, cause that’s not the way it works! Saved by grace is how it is. This past Wednesday we had us a sermon or a teaching about how much God loves us and how we can be like David, after God’s own heart. Very few sermons ever affected me like that one did, and I listen to allot of sermons! And this was at our little church to boot! I truly have to follow that vein in the coming weeks because once a person understands some of that it makes Christianity a whole new ball game. It tears away the man made religion and goes right to God’s heart! And around the internet especially a person can find allot of stuff labeled Christianity that really is not. This is not a denominational thing or anything like that, walking with God certainly is different than what many teach nowadays, both on the right and on the left. I love this from Romans 8.


31 What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? 32 He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him up for us all, how shall He not with Him also freely give us all things? 33 Who shall bring a charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies. 34 Who is he who condemns? It is Christ who died, and furthermore is also risen, who is even at the right hand of God, who also makes intercession for us. 35Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? 36 As it is written:

β€œ For Your sake we are killed all day long;
We are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.”

37 Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. 38 For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, 39 nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. Who shall separate us from the love of Christ?

I’ll probably cover some of this in the next few days, because this is the meat and potatoes of any rural ministry. The beautiful promises of God to His children. The being able to know that when we fall we should just get right back up, hold our hands out to God and let Him lift us up again, right now. Not to dwell in self pity,or self condemnation! In my daily Bible readings I’m in the Psalms and to read them out loud just brings me right up out of life’s troubles and miseries. Oh, there’s always plenty of that to go around and when one realizes what being a child of God truly means, how He took us, and not by anything we did, and loved us and sent His Son to take our punishment, our well deserved punishment, and adopt us as sons and daughters of the Father, well, what can a person say! I just gotta praise Him!

Yes, I’ll try and follow this train of though coming up. There’s too much gloom and doom, to much this and that, to much we gotta do this, we gotta follow that. No, its time to really look at who we are, how we were saved, and to those eternal promises that are every where in the Word! The last few days, on the tractor, in the pastures, any where I was working I just kept saying out loud that God loves me! Hundreds of times a day. And saying out loud that I am a child of God. I tell you, if there’s any advice I’ll ever give to any blood bought believer its to proclaim that all the time! The relationship we have with God strengthens tremendously when a person proclaims to heaven and earth their true standing! And better yet, proclaim verses 37 thru 39 as written above till it becomes a part of you, flowing out of your spirit, proclaimed with your mouth to heaven and earth, and just see what happens in your walk with God. I know it strengthened me more than I ever imagined!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/08/15/we-are-more-than-conquerors/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good Morning Sir.

    Yes, God does love me!! I too say that to myself a bunch. Got to where I believe it too πŸ™‚ .

    I had a good weekend too. The weather is finally getting into a summer pattern… which means there is none…. Thats fine though. We’ve had plenty this summer and it looks like we’ll be just fine heading into winter.

    I went out and checked on cows today. My neighbor has gotten rid of his horses I guess, I noticed he turned off his fence and hooked my charger up to his along the common fenceline .It ooks like my 10 mile solar fencer is doin about 20 miles of fence!! Oh well, it’s barely hangin in there, it still gives me a jolt. As long as ol Bully is still feeling some pain, we’ll be alright!!

    Keep me in your prayers this week Tom. That year thing is happening… I’m ok now, but who knows… I’m figuring I’ll just try to keep busy and keep going. One thing I have is a 4 acre brush pile to finish torching. I figure if that don’t keep my mind off the anniversary nothing will πŸ™‚ . Oh yeah, and I’m going to try to give it to God πŸ™‚

    Alright, I’d better get at it. I’ll be in and out of here all week. Still working on that house and getting ready for another big event……

    Have a GREAT day,

    Brad

  2. Morning Brad!

    Well, we pulled two inches of rain out of that system Saturday night and things are just fine around here,Praise the Lord! God loves us!!

    Gotta cut hay,then cut some more hay,and in the mornings while its a little damp, haul bales home.An endless cycle, which I just love. OH Lord, a winter of no feed worries is something I’m not used to! πŸ™‚

    I’ll never forget that year thing as long as I live. I didn’t know that things like that effected bloggers but it sure did me. All of a sudden I seen that blogging just isn’t a waste of time, or goofing around, it was real. I just mentioned it to my wife a couple days ago, how that e-mail hit me so unexpected and how it showed me that there were real people out there. Changed everything.

    So burn that brush! And look how the Lord has taken care of you this past year! Praise Him no matter what the feelings are, no matter what anyone says cause He is the one that loved you first!

    I gotta stop, I had better not go on the preach this early in the morning πŸ™‚ Oh Lord, got a busy week coming, all good jobs though, plus it cooled down so my northern blood won’t be boiling like last week πŸ™‚

    Its been almost a year since I applied for ministry, how time flies! Wondering on which way to go. But one thing I ain’t wondering about is about our little country church! If ever there was a God thing, this is it! God placed me there for better or worse and I ain’t budging! Kinda like a marriage. I ain’t looking to the right or to the left, just hammer straight ahead!

    Durn Tom, sun is almost up and I’m still sitting on my butt πŸ™‚ Gotta git and get some bales in today πŸ™‚

    God Bless!

  3. Howdy Tom. Well Kari went all Holy Ghost crazy last night at her work. Her supervisor came up to her and they started talking. Next thing she know she’s witnessing to her, and telling the Jesus is the only way. Then another co-worker came over and started telling her supervisor that Kari was wrong. That Catholics don’t believe that stuff. So she went kung-foo fighting on him. Wish I could have seen it. Have a wonderful work week. Chow.

  4. Morning Tom,

    So your in the haying mode eh?? Well good!! I know for both of us its been a while since our balers have seen that much grass!! Them cows aren’t going to know what to do this winter either with that soft stuff goin through em!!

    I don’t mean to take down this blog with all this year talk and all, but I have to say that I don’t know how I could of made it through without a couple of Baptist Deacons, a Catholic youth minister, a Church of Christ preacher, a Norhern preacher farmer, and a wonderful Southern Baptist lady!! Now, I’m not gonna pretend to know God’s plan, but I don’t believe doin a search for Open pollenated corn a few years back and findin you, or having a strange lady bring over chicken stew a month after the accident for her church ministry was a complete accident πŸ™‚

    You know, I deal with other widows off and on, and the ones who don’t have God are bitter about what happened. The ones that do are generally looking toward the future and the kingdom. I know in this past year, I’ve gained a new hero in Job!! I used to think of him as a whiner of sorts, now I know exactly where he was coming from…..

    Alright, enough of that…… Big doings in less than two weeks and the house is nowhere near ready. I’m hoping to finish putting up the columns (her doings), finish painting (her doings), and wire in a 220 circuit (her doings) by the end of the week. Then I can start getting my shop (my doings) ready. Nothing like having a man cave (my doings) the way I want it!!! I’m even going to try to hang my wrenches and everything!! But you know how that goes… in the end they’re just going to be in a big ol pile in the middle of the workbench anyway (my doings…. πŸ™‚ ).

    Alright…. time for some coffee!! I’m about to fall asleep here…..

    Have a GREAT day,

    Brad

  5. Morning RJ!

    Wow! Remind me to stay out of Kari’s reach from now on πŸ™‚ The saddest thing is when someone from some church denies that Jesus is the only way and that their church is the way. That by doing works we might have a chance to someday get to heaven, just might if we were good enough and loyal enough to that particular denomination, and there’s allot of them that think this way. Oh, I glanced at your blog, and will get around there when time permits. Congrats on the starting of a new church!!

    God Bless!

    Morning Brad!

    I am tired this morning, was ripping shingles off the garage roof later yesterday and I found out I’m not twenty any more, or not even 45, heck I found out I ain’t fifty no more πŸ™‚ Then the bulls around here figured on having a bellering contest all night between the three pastures. And guess who’s bedroom is right smack dab in the center point of where the three pastures of sound cross?? You need a couple thousand pounds of cheap bologna? πŸ™‚ So today we’re putting a steel roof on the garage so at least I won’t be shingling, sure do hope it goes well.

    Yep, its been quite a year around this blog, and the ones before this one! And it ain’t bothering me at all when you bring up the past year, in fact its good for a person to look back and see what we all have been through with all the different things. And even though some of the things seemed like the end of the world at the time I know that you’ve come out much stronger by the Grace of God then before it all began. Same here, a year later we might be the same people in name, but we are different, stronger in Christ! What will it be like in another year, or two or three? Well, if we keep looking to Jesus we can rest assured that no matter what the world throws at us, no matter how terrible it is, we will be stronger when the dust settles, because of God’s never ending grace!

    Durn,I gotta go!! Got help coming today!!

    God Bless!

  6. Lookin forward to your posts on this subject…

  7. Morning Morning…. Hows that Garage coming?? I’ll tell you, I don’t envy you in the least!! Especially if your scraping shingles. Now down here its ok to leave them things on as a moisture barrier…..

    I do like that tin though… I especially like it since I replaced nailing it up with screwin it up… It keeps my thumbs more rounder….. πŸ™‚

    I’m looking forward to tonight. Week 2 of this church praise band thing. I’m supposed to be practicing and all, but I haven’t had much time for that. So if your up on the roof and you see them geese headin south a little early, you’ll know where they are headin … πŸ™‚

    Tom, there are a couple of books I struggle through in this here chronological bible. I’m afraid Ezekial (oooooo… I really spelled that bad….) is one of em… He sure does get his post across about Jerusalem prostitutin itself though…. Its hard for me to wrap my mind around the loving God of today was such a jealous and vengeful God too….I have a feelin, that no good is going to come from this book.

    The good news is that in a couple of weeks we move onto something I love and understand fairly well…. The New Testament. I can hardly wait for that. It seems like I’m slogging a little now….. When I get there, you can bet I’ll be fired up and rarin to go!!

    Speakin of sloggin, I was up until midnight talkin last night. That does about as much good for my body as roofin does yours…. πŸ™‚ I guess another cup of go is in order….

    Have a GREAT day,

    Brad

  8. Morning Patti!

    Well I’m hoping for a little keyboard time soon, (especially if it rains πŸ™‚ ). Thanks!

    God Bless!

    Morning Brad!

    That garage is done and really lookin great!! And I’m glad that work is done with! And being that it rained this past night I doubt if I’ll be cutting any hay today so about all I got on the agenda is cleaning up around the garage today.

    I haven’t gotten anywhere near those books of the prophets yet, still in psalms and also in Romans in the New Testament. I know it would be a tad bit rough for me reading the Bible and not being able to read the New every day in the readings.

    OK, now I can screw my head on straight finally with this garage project done and just some farm work to do all of the time. I even slept in this morning, (well, it did rain), and now to go out and get back to being “normal” πŸ™‚ Tonight’s church and I’m teaching children’s church, and I am looking forward to it, hmm, I wonder what I should teach about tonight, I’ll worry about that around 5 in the afternoon, plenty of time to prepare πŸ™‚

    So off I go, another day, hoping this one will be easier than the last two!

    God Bless!

  9. Good Morning Sir!!

    How are you this fine morning?? I’m doing pretty well actually…. I sure do like it when a plan comes together!! I do believe that I am going to make it through all this stressful stuff πŸ™‚

    Last night, church was great. The praise band is a good group of guys and gals. In fact, I even met another cattle guy who’s going it on his own, I told him if he ever needed any help to let me know… He said to do the same, so looks like I’ll have some extra arms if I ever need em, and the boys get tired of working for their old man……

    I’ve got a meeting today with the music minister, I figure its either to tell me I should take up another church activity after all the sqwaking I did last night. He swears its just to welcome me… πŸ™‚

    The ol farm is holding together. Its on cruise control again…. It seems to have been on that alot this last year. I’m hoping after the wedding and all, I can start getting back around to things that need to be done…. Cruise control is alright and all, but it don’t seem to be supporting this place.

    Alright, I’d better get back to it. Hows your corn doing this year?? I haven’t heard much about it…. Its got to be a whole lot better than in years past eh??? πŸ™‚

    Have a GREAT day,

    Brad

  10. Morning Brad!

    Kinda rainy here these last couple of days and I stay in bed a tad bit longer, a farmer’s vacation πŸ™‚ So now to eat and have that coffee and get out there to a beautiful wet world! Oh, sorry about not writing to much about the corn, its about as good as it could possibly get, even my four acres of Goliath corn that I planted from an extra seed sack from last year. I tell you, that stuff is so huge that I get kinda humbled when I’m near it πŸ™‚ The regular corn, (the stuff around ten feet tall), is all doing as good as it gets. It’ll be a fun fall chopping silage and picking some corn later!

    OK, now we have me preaching here, (or at least doing a feeble effort), and now here you go and your in the praise team! (Anybody want to be the usher and take up a collection? πŸ™‚ ). Durn, how strange this life is πŸ™‚

    Well, my Wednesday evening was pretty good too! Tied it for the biggest ever as far as kid numbers went and they were really a good batch of kids!! I really enjoyed it last evening with that batch!

    Nothing better than church folk that can help each other out I always say! Plus it makes life a whole lot more fun! Stick close to those that know and have cattle cause they could really help down the road!!

    I’d better get, coffee’s durn near empty and cooled down!

    God Bless!

  11. Brad,

    I just have to comment on your struggling to get through Ezekiel. I actually enjoy all of the Old Testament. It is my favorite place to read. In America we tend to over emphasize the love of God, forgetting that God is a just judge. In the Old Testament we see God dispensing his Justice on nations and individuals. God truly is perfect and holy and he demands an accounting for every transgression. Due to the fact that we have all broken God’s law, we are all under condemnation apart from the the propitiation provide by Jesus’s death on the cross. (Propitiation just means to turn away God’s wrath.) For me God’s justice is comforting since I know that ultimately he will deal with those in our nation who are calling what is good evil and what is evil good. In the end the bad guys who oppose God will be punished. Unfortunately we have all broken His laws, but those of us who trust in Jesus’s substitutionary sacrifice are able to avoid the punishment that we deserve.

    Jim V

  12. I enjoyed your insights as usual….be blessed in your work! ~Kat

  13. Hey Jim!

    Well I’m hoping that you folks are catching up on rains down there lately! We sure are!

    I gotta get my two cents in here too, about God being a just judge. So many forget or ignore that! Here I’ve been concentrating on Gods love and mercy for the last few weeks, well almost since the beginning of this blog, unlike the Northern Farmer blog where I let rip many times about God’s judgment. I believe its just taking a breather from a crowd that was out of balance in many ways. There are the two sides of God, love and truth. A person stays to much in the love side and ignores the truth side we end up with mush like so much present day modern religion. A person goes to far with only the truth side and we end up with a hell bent legalism that is unbearable to live under and a person would probably end up in hell the same as just staying in the love side while ignoring truth.

    Jesus’ earthly ministry was a perfect example of love and truth. The love side didn’t get Him crucified, the truth side did.

    Blessings and curses, follow God and be blessed or turn away from God and be cursed. That’s what the Bible says. I believe that in this hell bound world that the moment a person turns away from God that they’ve accepted the one who comes to kill, steal and destroy. And he does it well. Turn away from God’s protection and a person opens themselves up to all the forces of satan to do what ever they will. A nation or society that willingly follows satan, as so much of this country is doing now is just accepting the kill, steal and destroy that satan offers.

    And God will always sweep these away in order to claim the souls of those who cry out to His Son. I’ve been reading Psalms and I gotta admit that its loaded with what God will do to those people and nations who turn away or mock Him. I believe God’s Word, and His Word says He will judge and take care of all of those who mock Him. That’s what the Bible says and I believe it!

    Yup, I sure do believe it! Might be unfashionable but I do believe God will take care of those who cry out to Him! How far we’ve turned away from those simple beliefs! Such hope the Word has against injustice and all.

    Hey,it looks like it stopped raining so I’d better hurry and get!

    God Bless!

    Hi Kat!

    Glad you enjoyed them! Trouble is I sure have been unable to keep up lately with it all here and with e-mails. I hope to remedy that soon!

    God Bless!

  14. Tom,

    We have gotten caught up on rain. Praise God things look really green. Things look especially green since we just got back from two weeks in Virginia. My son got married and I ran his farm operation while he and his wife were on their honeymoon. Kept me plenty busy moving Polyface cows, milking dairy cows, feeding pigs, and feeding goats. Found out that my work boots don’t fit quite right :-), especially when you walk up and down lots of hills.

    Jim V

  15. This is great to hear all this good news! Rain, marriage, farming! You folks have been busy πŸ™‚ If you ever have a chance give my best wishes and blessings to the new couple!


Leave a Reply

