Storm Clouds Approaching The Harvest

Amen! The oats harvest is done and the straw is all baled up as of this evening! For me this is always “thee” job of the summer and now that its over with I’m a happy guy to say the least! I baled yesterday and then cut short for church and the weather was dry today and I drove to the field almost two miles south of here to finish up this afternoon.And wouldn’t you know it, as I was ejecting the first big round bale of the day there was oil shooting out from the left hand side of the baler. Durn! Blew a hydraulic hose. So drive back home and find a metric wrench, I always growl when I have to use one of them, a number 18 wrench, take off the hose from the side of the baler, I think it measured about 84 inches long, run three miles to town with the flat bed truck, go to the co-op where they make up new hoses, get er made up, come back, put it on, check the oil in the tractor, and head back out! It was a 55 minute down time from start to finish and I was baling again in the south field. Thank goodness the local co-op has the capability of making up hoses on the spot and they had the right fittings to boot! Otherwise there would have been half the afternoon shot if I’da had to go to the John Deere shop at the county seat, bringing along the deed for the place to pay for it. Those folks that way know how to charge bigtime and not bat an eye in the process!

Made it through last evening’s church service alright, and the funny thing is, before, during and after, there was no nervousness! That’s a first. Plus I listened to myself today for the first time ever and was surprised, more than a little. When I’m up in front I feel like I’m really stumbling along, but after listening to it, I found I wasn’t. Oh, there were moments, but I must admit, that happens to just about everyone that goes up there to speak. So, that’s out of the way for now. This week during the combining I really noticed something that could have been right out of the Bible. It was about the importance of the whole family and then some, working together at the different jobs and that includes non harvest jobs that were incredibly important to keep the main harvest going. Things like the youngest daughter and a young friend from church doing some baby sitting for the family member that did all the tractor driving, bringing wagons out to the field and taking the full one back home and putting the grain in the bin. It worked out on Monday that I could get help doing this “if” there was someone to take care of the young ones. So because of the younger folks, the older harvest workers could do a record amount of combining and getting the grain in the bin that day. That reminded me of the function of the small town church. There are no insignificant jobs. Everyone looks to the pastor or other leaders, but how the job goes smoother when there’s people manning what normally would be considered jobs of lesser importance.

This harvest had a different happening during it also, one that I haven’t experienced in years. Racing a storm Monday evening. A little after 5 PM as I was combining in a larger field I noticed an out line to the northwest and I knew it wasn’t my imagination and just kept combining as fast as I could and believe me, it was fast! Faster than ever before. The grain busheled unbelievably well and it was dry. All people were doing their jobs, from field work to baby sitting and the race was on! An hour later I could tell without doubt that thunderheads were coming but I didn’t know exactly what was up, if we’d be misses and things like that.We kept racing with the harvest. And hour later it looked pretty bad. The clouds became very dark and I knew this would be an old fashioned thing I’ve done in the past many time, race a storm home. We had two gravity boxes out in the field full of oats and a combine to get under a roof fast and were two miles from home. Time to pull the pin and start the race! The tractor and gravity box were ahead of me and that tractor was at maximum rpms I tell you. The combine, which is something like driving a house down the road was a quarter mile behind, moving fast! As I got near home and was going to turn onto the county road, black skies making it almost seem like night, I looked and the county was working on the bridge across the river by home and had a flagman and traffic stopped there! Oh great! The flagman seen me and ran over to the combine, he said give them a few seconds and they’d move the equipment and I could squeeze through! They did and I squeezed through, hit the trottle and raced the last leg home and dove straight into the machine shed and the rain dumped at that moment! I was so shook up with the whole race that as I was climbing down the ladder of the combine I slipped and fell backward right into the folded up spout of the full gravity box parked right along side of me. Ouch! I got up and figured I wasn’t dead so in the rain we raced to the grain bin and climbed up there and shut the cover. Soaking wet, full of oats chaff, but victory was done that day. A record amount of acres combined on the place for any given day in the farm’s long history!

I learned a few things that day and evening. Church things. The harvest. And it had significance for me. The racing to do the harvest, the black storm clouds approaching, the working right to the end. There must be something prophetic in that some where! I do believe there is. In these days and times there is no doubt that the storm clouds are gathering on the horizon and building. Darkness is gathering and building up. But the harvest must continue and be brought in safe! Amazing things got done as the blackness approached, because everyone worked together, and what seemed like the least of the jobs were the ones that allowed an amazing harvest!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/08/06/storm-clouds-approaching-the-harvest/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. OK, now there are some big & powerful sermons in this! I can see a full week revival coming out of this one story. Preach it Tom! God’s givin’ you some good stuff here!

    May the Lord bless you.

  2. Hey Lee Ann!

    I might just do that! Although now that our harvest is over with a strange thing happens, I get relaxed 🙂 Today was a rainy day, not much work done,lazy day really, and it sure does feel different, and good!Knowing that the small grains crop is put up! And thank you for the comment!!

    God Bless You Over Your Way!

  3. What a powerful and meaningful message, Tom! Been feeling that way very much lately, that feeling of urgency…its time to really lean into the plow and work without fail…and yet at the same time, peace.

    God Bless, and Praise Him for your dry harvest!

  4. Morning Cary!

    Yep, I agree with that! And working without fail is what will bring much of the peace, knowing we’re doing what Jesus did, what He wants us to be doing!

    Take Care and God Bless!


Leave a Reply

