Weeds

A Sunday evening, a fast day if there ever was one. I was in hyper drive a greater part of the day. We had to take two cars to church this morning cause after services the ladies had a bridal shower to attend at the community center a block away from the church. In other words, on the other side of town, (small rural towns, you just gotta love em). So I drove with the eldest daughter to church a tad bit early, I’m a early type of guy. A half a mile from entering town and getting to church my daughter gets a cell phone call from daughter #2 and she said there was one of our cows out at the neighbors place. No need to worry, just letting me know that after church I could go there and get er in. Grrr! Well, I get to church and I was supposed to do communion today, which is near the end of the service. I told the associate pastor who was doing the service today I figured I should drive the twenty minute drive back home and corral that critter and Lord willing I’d be back when praise and worship would be ending. Luckily there were no sheriff deputies lurking on the roads I traveled during that event cause that Olds was moving! get the carbon out of er! Yup, the cow was in the neighbor’s yard by the apple trees and it looked kinda strange, it had a white face and things just didn’t look right to me. But the brand said it was mine! Then I figured it out, it wasn’t a black baldie, it was a Black Angus and it had got into the neighbor’s feed room and got ground feed all over its face. Ahh, now things are making sense! Well, the whole time driving home I was praying for the Lord to help me out in all of this and He sure did. I walked over to the gate on the other side of the yard and quietly called “come boss” and that girl came walking right to me and went back into the pasture. I had to call quietly cause the other cows were in the pasture a couple hundred feet away and if they’da heard that they’da all been in front of the gate figuring on going through in the direction I didn’t want them to. But all is well and I scooted back home and got changed back into my church clothes and arrived at our little rural church just as praise and worship was wrapping up! Whew! Then after church, gab a little bit, have a few cups of coffee and race home and get two gravity boxes out in the oats field. Come back, start the combine and head out. I was able to go almost two hours before the drizzleΒ  came and stopped that for the day. But I did manage to fill both gravity boxes and then got them put up into the bin. It only amounted so far into a light drizzle so if all goes well, tomorrow we can hit it full snort! This evening I figure on catching up with some church stuff around here and get a good night’s rest for the work load the next few days.

Church was great today even after the fact of running around like a wildman and being a half an hour late. And this Wednesday, Lord willing, I’ll be preaching for an hour. Got things pretty well ready because I know I won’t have time the next couple of evenings to do anything besides harvest. Today’s message at church was the same message I taught on a couple weeks ago at Children’s Church. About the good plants and the weeds. When we did that a couple weeks ago I used a visual demonstration, kinda a good one too! We went a half a block to the south side of town to our pastor’s garden which had a overly healthy supply of weeds in it and the kids were able to pull weeds, learn scripture, and help clean up the disaster area at the same time!Β  The wisdom of Solomon I figure! But here’s the verses.

The Parable of the Weeds, Matthew 13

24Jesus told them another parable: “The kingdom of heaven is like a man who sowed good seed in his field. 25But while everyone was sleeping, his enemy came and sowed weeds among the wheat, and went away. 26When the wheat sprouted and formed heads, then the weeds also appeared.

27“The owner’s servants came to him and said, ‘Sir, didn’t you sow good seed in your field? Where then did the weeds come from?’

28” ‘An enemy did this,’ he replied.
“The servants asked him, ‘Do you want us to go and pull them up?’

29” ‘No,’ he answered, ‘because while you are pulling the weeds, you may root up the wheat with them. 30Let both grow together until the harvest. At that time I will tell the harvesters: First collect the weeds and tie them in bundles to be burned; then gather the wheat and bring it into my barn.’ “

The way I figure it, Christianity is simple. But people can sure make it complicated! Weeds are a bad thing for any farmer or rancher, whether its in the fields or taking over once clean pastures. Around these part thistles love to over take pastures, especially during the previous drought years. Hmm, never thought of that till now, when there is a lack, the weeds take over! Yes, that’s a point! And when we get away from simple Christianity, from the truth and simplicity of the Word, which by the way is loaded with love, we are readying our soils for weeds to take over, sometimes slowly, sometimes rapidly. But once they get a foot hold watch out. They can choke out all good, fast. They can wipe out love and replace it with legalities that burden a person, cause dissatisfaction in the church, and gradually everything becomes nothing but a terrible choked out field or pasture of terrible weeds.

Now any farmer or rancher can understand this! And the weed seeds are so durn small, a fella doesn’t even notice them. The plants start out so small that a person hardly gives them a second glance! But watch out! Soon, very soon, the weeds are the dominant plants, choking the life out of the good plants! In my life, I don’t want weeds to get a foot hold any more! Easier said than done, that’s a given. But the things worth fighting for are never easy. To pull those personal weeds out that the enemy has sown into us will require self discipline and the Grace of God! And it all starts in our own personal little plots. A person can’t be complaining about how the big field looks till I take care of my own patch!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/08/02/weeds/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. sounds like ya has a good day πŸ˜‰

    cool post!

    take care

  2. Good Morning Jan. Morning Tom,

    Yes sir… I do believe in simple Christianity!! Otherwise, it sure would be hard to wrap my mind around all this stuff. I do believe that is why ol Jesus was a storyteller. This whole New Testament Bible thing would be real confusin without the weeds, or the seed, or the prodigal son parables. Everytime I hear something I’m not sure about, I always go back to the parables and Jesus’s bedtime stories. Them are just as easy to figure out as any my Mom and Dad told when I was younger.

    I’m glad you got your cow back in… I see you like to pull em in…. Me too!! We had a loose cow on the road near us and my girlfriend was askin how I was going to get it in without a horse or a rope. Now I can usually walk behind em and get em where I want em to go, but I sure like to try to pull em first. A couple of “Ka-bass”‘s and that ol mama was was following me pretty as you please (come boss must be the universal language eh??).

    Of course after getting the big head, ol God humbled me because the next week when she was with me was when the ol longhorn hooked my sleeve and I went for a ride !! πŸ™‚ I went from Ben Cartwright to Bozo the clown in no time πŸ™‚

    Alright…. Time to get back to it. I hope you have a GREAT day….

    Brad

  3. Morning Jan!

    It certainly was a good day. This morning looks clear out there and I’m hoping to be combining by noon!

    Hoping all is well down your way!

    Morning Brad!

    As I said, hoping to be combining by noon. Didn’t put enough hours on er yesterday to have to grease the machine today so another quick start!

    Those parables talked allot of sense. And simple so even someone like me could figure it out. I figure most of those disciples were just some good old boys from the countryside and that was their language! Same as us folk! I gotta recommit myself to read in the Gospels daily. Sometimes a person is out of them for months on the daily Bible reads but I reckon a feller should kinda read them till they become part of us and us become part of them!

    Today I’ll be around so I figure the cows will be nice and calm,staying in pastures. They mark their calendar for when they know I’m going somewhere to form their plans, (I just know it), and they wait quietly, patiently, waiting for Tom to have some big plans and then……..action! But such is being a cattleman, comes with the territory so I ain’t complaining, plus they make some good stories. Hmm, maybe they can be made into parables πŸ™‚

    I gotta git!

    God bless!

  4. You commented on my blog at tall in the saddle. I’m glad you did becasue it brought me to yours. It is really great. Looking forward to reading some more!

  5. Morning Tom,

    Late getting in here today. I’ve been as busy as a one armed paper hanger!! . This house moving and wedding stuff is about to be my end…. πŸ™‚

    I guess my cows are doin pretty good. I drive by em and do a count at 50 mph. If the number is right, or I count more than I’m supposed to have, then I keep going. More just means more profit I guess πŸ™‚ . Its about time for my second cutting too, but I don’t see that happening until September. I hope them cows like tough grass because thats what they are getting this winter….

    Do you still own that ol combine, or did you end up sellin it. You talked about it at one time…. If I remember right it was one of them fancy convertable models right?? You high falutin farmers always get the best toys πŸ™‚

    Well tonight we’re getting a guest preacher to come in.He’s the President of the Southern Baptists Convention. From what I hear, he’s one of the best around. I should come in good and fired up tomorrow!!

    Alright… Time for a coffee and a sawdust bar….

    Have a GREAT day,

    Brad

  6. Awesome! May you please go to my blog and talk to me about our idea?

  7. LOL!…by the way, the way you write is awesome and really cracks me up….so “country”….what more could we ask for from a rancher…love it…love the simplicity of it πŸ™‚

  8. Hey Tim!

    Or at least I think that’s your name from your blog πŸ™‚ Glad you stopped by over this way! If you don’t mind I’ll put a link to Tall In The Saddle over on my sidebar! You got a good site in my humble opinion!!

    God Bless!

    Evening Brad!

    Sorry about not getting back to you this morning, was already on the move at that time. The good news is I got the oats combined a short while ago and just showered up and I feel like a brand new man! A day with the oats itch makes a shower the high point of the day I tell you!

    Your comment about an over count of the cattle really hit home πŸ™‚ Every time I over count I just thank Jesus! Cause I sure hate under counts πŸ™‚

    Still got that 4400 JD, did a great job, not one single problem! Tomorrow morning take the dummy head, (yes, that’s what its called), to the neighbors and drop it off our combine and he can hook up later to his. Glad we’re done, took down the grain auger and put that out back for another year, closed up the bin and AMEN! Gotta lot of biblical inspiration yesterday evening while combining and if I remember I’ll make a post about it, called something like, “Harvesting as the Storm Clouds Gather”. I tell you, its been many a year since I had that happen and in all truth, its rather exciting! Take er to the last possible second and race for home!

    Your probably listening to that big shot preacher as I write this, I hope he straightens you out from all this over exposer to a dim witted norther cattleman that just stumbles all over trying to tell folks about the Jesus who took him and shook out the old and poured in the new πŸ™‚

    Oh Lord, I’m so tired tonight I could fall asleep right here in this chair! Gotta look over a couple things for tomorrow night’s service and then get me a good sleep. At least the oats is in, the baling is the easy and less stressful part! Hopefully I’ll be around tomorrow morning for a while on this blog!

    God Bless!

    Hi Kat!

    Welcome to this blog! “So country”, hmm, I never noticed, I guess its just normal for me πŸ™‚ I went over to your blog and I gotta tell you, I think your on track! Of course for me to answer questions like you have brought up would take a volume of books. Start simple! I don’t have time at the moment to get going on any of that but will try and get back to you over your way in a couple days. On the side bar here on this blog are some pretty good resources for many of the things you ask. Some down home folks that have allot of knowledge in raising and producing food for themselves. Give them a check and hang around here and there and I’d bet we could help you in a lot of ways! I gotta get now, tiring out fast after a couple heavy duty work days! Thanks and God Bless!

  9. Morning Sir,

    I’ll tell you!! There is a reason he is a big shot preacher Tom….. HE WAS GOOD!!! I mean, I’d be sitting there and thinking sometimes, when he wasn’t being funny or passionate and I was trying to stay awake, that he’s not all that good. I’ll tell ya though, when I left there my mind was racing!! He said he was shooting arrows out into the congregation, hoping they’d hit someone… Well, its a good thing they weren’t real, because I’d be bleeding like a stuck pig!!!

    Those musicians could sing too. He said he has three Sunday morning services in Atlanta. He’s the president of the Southern Baptist Convention. I guess he’s got some stuff on Utube too. If you get a chance… look him up.

    I’m glad you got your oats finished. After years of no rain and breakdowns etc… this might be your year!! Bumper crops… rain… most everything running…. Praise God!! We need years like that!! ….uh… just watch out for next year though πŸ™‚

    Alright, I was so fired up, I didn’t see the bed till 1 am yesterday. There ain’t enough coffee in the world to keep me awake this morning…. but a man has got to try….. πŸ™‚

    Have a GREAT day,

    Brad

  10. Morning Brad!

    I’m still here this morning,getting slower as the years go by πŸ™‚ Almost finished with my coffee though and figure I’d might as well start the day. Today’s the first day since Saturday I’ll have a pickup to take me around the place. Durn, I must be a rich cattleman cause I had two broken down pickups this week, not like the po’ folk that only have one truck. But the clutch is fixed in the three quarter ton and I can drive the gravel roads justa singing a song πŸ™‚

    I’ll look that preacher up once I have his name. Sometimes I like checking out videos on stuff like that. Tonights the night for me at church and I figure folks won’t be tired tomorrow cause they should get plenty of sleep tonight sitting in the pews :)The subject, the anointing. The backroads slant somewhere in the sermon, healing farm and ranch animals. Different huh??!! Well, it ain’t the whole sermon but a feller gotta cover some ground when your up there for an hour or more πŸ™‚

    OK, I had better go, hmm, I’d better shave before I head out there, I might cause a stampede the way I look after going full snort these last few days in the field πŸ™‚

    God Bless!

  11. Hey Tom,
    Just reading this verse when I came to your reply…Felt lead to post it.

    1Jn 2:27 But the anointing which ye have received of him abideth in you, and ye need not that any man teach you: but as the same anointing teacheth you of all things, and is truth, and is no lie, and even as it hath taught you, ye shall abide in him.
    1Jn 2:28 And now, little children, abide in him; that, when he shall appear, we may have confidence, and not be ashamed before him at his coming.
    1Jn 2:29 If ye know that he is righteous, ye know that every one that doeth righteousness is born of him.

    Jesus is All in All.

    Brother Yun said this in a message given in Europe in 2008. The link is http://www.christiantoday.com/article/heavenly.man.europe.is.going.to.be.raised.from.the.dead/18799-2.htm

    “Europe does not need any brilliant preachers or any more teachers of the Word. There is an abundance of these people available. What Europe needs is that there will be people who will stand at the gap on behalf of the nations and pray in tears and repent on behalf of the land. That’s why I believe that Europe is going to be raised from spiritual death.”….

    …Brother Yun challenged Europe’s Christians not to remain lying at the pool of Bethesda like the paralysed man for 38 years.

    “Jesus is the source of living water. You are still lying there,” he told the audience.

    “You have to receive the same faith as the blind man at the Gate of Jericho who cried out, ‘Son of David have mercy on me,’ or the woman who came behind Jesus and touched His cloak and her life was totally changed.

    “Your need is to get hold of Jesus, not to get hold of any famous pastor or anybody else. You need Jesus.

    “And if a new generation of believers rise in this nation who say we only want to get hold of Jesus, we need Jesus, that is the beginning of resurrection for this country.”

    I read this today and actually received it as a word for North America as well… (we cannot exclude them crazy canuks from up your way can we?) lol

    Blessings my brother and know that prayers will be with you this evening.

    Brian

  12. Well this has been an interesting week so far. It’s funny sometimes. Just to watch things work. Well got a knock out punch on the phone on Tuesday. One of those conversations that take a person totally off guard. One of the family friends asked me to marry them. Didn’t see that one coming. So after praying and getting some good insight on how to do a wedding. I’ll be doing my first wedding in Oct. Should be fun. Talk about nerve racking.

    Well it looks like we even have more rain coming and some warmer temps. Should be great for the corn, but bad for oats harvesting?!

    Well better run here. One last thing. Obama made a comment the other day that got me going. He said to the Muslum people that he will fight with them to make Jerusalem theres. He said it belongs to them. Then Isreal made a comment. Which pretty much said that we aren’t allies anymore. I guess the end times are getting closer and closer.

  13. Morning Morning,

    Well Tom, How did it go?? Now I expect you’ll be humble and all, but I have a feeling it went great!! Everybody is probably late for work because they couldn’t sleep they were so on fire!! πŸ™‚

    Just in case though, I scanned the headlines for a Northern Farm preacher that went PC on a bunch of rowdies that was interrupting his service.. πŸ™‚ Didn’t see any, so I’m figgerin you got through it….

    Well, I mowed a grown up barnyard at the place I just bought. I’ll tell you what, whoever invented them brush hogs sure did us a service. I was tryin to see and pick up all the junk before I hit it. I had a loader full and still hit about half. That ol woods mower is still purrin right along though.

    I’ve got about a 4 acre line of brush to burn starting tomorrow. Pray that it stays under control. I sure am…. The previous owner cleared a pasture, but never burned what he cleared. I saw three coyotes the other day. I can’t be having them around, so the pile has to go before I get some cattle on there. I’m thinking about maybe tryin some target practice too. They are lookin pretty sickly, I might try to innoculate em with my 30-30. Those things are just about like misquitos…. good for nuthin!!

    Alright, I’m sure I’ll be hearin from PETA now, but oh well….. I hope everything went good last night!! …. and if it didn’t…. You still had the privledge to preach on the greatest book that has ever been offered to man!! and that my friend is an honor in itself!!

    HAve a GREAT day,

    Brad

  14. Morning Brian,RJ and Brad!

    OK,I tell you, I’m a tad bit bushed this morning πŸ™‚ Thank the Lord I get to bale today and take er easy! Ah, the blessings of a round baler and a climate controlled tractor cab πŸ™‚ All went well last evening and of course I have no idea how I did so I’m the last person on earth to be asking that! Of course my skin is clean this morning, no tar and feathers sticking to it πŸ™‚ Good sign!

    Durn, so many good things to comment back about on all three comments here! I will try this evening and now things will be kinda getting back to normal around here. I had a double whammy lately, full bore harvesting plus doing church stuff. Now both are over with for the time being! I feel so free πŸ™‚

    By the way, for all three, the oats harvest is done and the blessings this year are through the roof! The average bushels per acre topped 100! And the straw, which I’m baling today again, is looking like a bumper crop too! Thank You Lord!

    God Bless!


Leave a Reply

