This Is War!

Jeremiah 20:9

But if I say I’ll never mention the Lord
or speak in his name,
his word burns in my heart like a fire.
It’s like a fire in my bones!
I am worn out trying to hold it in!
I can’t do it!

It seems like I can’t even sit in church and my Bible opens to that verse in Jeremiah. As I do my church duties there’s always a burning to be away from the church and where the world is. Where the war is. Its getting to the point its hard to be in church! Its hard to listen to all the “normal” church stuff, very hard. I don’t care about camp outs with church people! I don’t care! I don’t care about how God wants to prosper me  financially. I don’t care!  There’s a war out there!

And when a person who is burning to get to the front lines is held back there is a fire inside that consumes oneself. I don’t care about modern religion, I DON’T CARE! I don’t care about people using the gifts of the Spirit in church, cause what good does it do in this war? The masses of Christians sit in the safe confines of the church walls waiting to be slaughtered by the armies of evil, doing nothing about it except more and more programs, more and more guest preachers that need their coffers filled. I don’t care!

What has mutated into a thing called Christianity in America makes me sick much of the time. We are at war, a terrible war for the souls of men, and we worry about camp outs and puppet shows in the American church. Reminds me of old Santa Anna’s Mexican Army taking er easy as they marched against the Texans. So confident the were they figured they could just set back and have a siesta. They were beat solidly by Houston’s rag tag army one afternoon, while they napped.

The war is raging all around us. And we nap and play games. I’d rather be a heathen than be a church member like that! At least when I’m thrown into hell I wasn’t deceiving myself in the process. And deceiving others.

I get tired sometimes of the games. I want truth, nothing less. I want to do God’s will. Not please people. We are at war!

Published in: on July 9, 2009 at 7:15 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/07/09/this-is-war/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good post and so true. You can go to SermoAudio.com and here lots of good sermons by Pull Washer and others Vance Havner is a good old time preacher, just click on sermons by speaker and there is a long list.
    Yours in Christ Until. james

  2. I was silently crying in church & at my home fellowship the other day, thinking the same things…I felt guilty for being dissatisfied with comfortable religion & w/more intellectual Bible knowledge…but I hunger for something more than church-as-usual…I want to see REVIVAL, starting with me…!

  3. Hi James!

    I knew about Sermonindex but never ran across Sermonaudio, thanks for letting me know! I’ll have to put both of them on the links here even if its just for me! Never know when this computer might give up the ghost and at least I’ll have links ready and waiting.

    Paul Washer’s sermons make me think. I downloaded one a few months ago and its almost two hours long. I think it was something like the “Ten Indictments Against the Church” or something like that. If that one doesn’t stop a feller in his tracks nothing will!

    Thanks for letting me know about Sermon Audio, I’ll be giving it a good look over!

    God Bless!

    Hi Nina!

    I’ve been doing the same thing recently. It can get confusing, wondering if I’m just dissatisfied, prideful, self centered,… all those things come up as I dwell on it.I have a hard time playing the church game. Where all life centers on church activities etc. The dissatisfaction sometimes is ready to tear me apart.
    I think back to last fall or when ever it was I was reading about John Wesley, how he was in the same boots. The church just wants to do its trivial thing, keep its programs going no matter what. Never hardly reaching out to anyone, just hoping someone will come to the church from the outside, which very rarely happens. Now with that said, I truly love the church! But something is missing, allot is missing. Where is the Holy fire?? The church will never get the Holy Fire staying inside the walls. People pray for the Holy Ghost to come, but in reality, why should he. His job is to enable believers to do the great commission, outside of the walls.

    And I fully understand the consequences when a person starts getting this holy dissatisfaction. Most church goers don’t like seeing that happen to a person because when a person wants pure Christianity others who are totally comfortable playing church get convicted. The system gets convicted and it doesn’t like that. Comfort gets threatened.

    But this is the birthing pains of revival. Revival always throws the church upside down. God sweeps away the efforts of man to build a religion that fits them and brings Himself back into the center. The end result has a totally different look then the previous. Man is swept away as God enters the scene.

    The only answer I can give myself is to go after God, nothing else. Be a fool for Christ, not the church. God first and then you have His church! Then you are His church!

    Oh boy, this subject gets to me! I don’t know where it’ll take a person, but the more I dwell on it, the more excited I become! Stay the course Nina! I’ll lift you up, and I hope you’ll do the same for me! Go after God!

  4. Amen! And thank you for putting your conviction into words….

  5. That was a great video Tom. We do need to wake up and start smelling the coffee. Or I guess I should say we need to waked up and start doing what God has commanded us to do. With no regrets and limitations. We need to expect the unexpected. We need to start doing the impossible so God can make it possible through our lives.

  6. Hi Cary!

    I guess I just can’t help myself sometimes! Thanks and God Bless!

    Hey RJ!

    Sometimes what God has commanded us to do might not fit in with our own personal ministry plans, that I’m finding out. Life would be so easy just sitting back and doing church work, but no, I guess that’s not what’s in the plan. Gotta stay up at the front lines. But I wouldn’t have it any other way!

    God Bless!

  7. Hey Tom, this is some powerful stuff! I only thought I was wound up before! It is so awesome to see folks starting to really burn with the fire of God! Praise God!

    Just keep stoking the fire Brother!

    May the Lord bless you.

  8. Evening Lee Ann!

    I like stuff like this once in a while to keep a person on track! We are in a war,something many folks forget, and war ain’t pretty! There’ll be more things like this here and there on this blog because I can’t get away from it 🙂

    God Bless!


Leave a Reply

