Where is Thy God?

Psalm 42:3Β (King James Version)

My tears have been my meat day and night, while they continually say unto me, Where is thy God?

I got done baling 91 big round bales a short while ago and within the hour we picked up almost a half inch of rain. God is blessing the land here with timely rains, its been many a year since I have seen things look so healthy around here. And I Praise Him! God is Good!

I receive a magazine called Brush Arbor Quarterly, and I must say its one of my favorite Christian reads. In fact I have to renew my subscription soon! It has the articles that I call Kingdom builders. Not the usual church stuff that bores me half to death. But more in the tradition of the circuit riders of old. The Word of God being spread like wildfire, and not apologizing for doing it! In one article that I happened to read a couple of days ago my heart got pierced. Very seldom does an article hit home like this one did for me. “Where is thy God?”

Where is the God of the Bible? Church after church will say they are seeking Him,but are they really? The outside world sees a religion that’s about as dead as a doornail, and they are right. In the Charismatic church they want to see the gifts of the Spirit displayed in church and if it doesn’t happen they try to make it look like it is anyhow. But its empty, mostly empty. Where is thy God?

God is alive and well. Around the world He’s displaying signs and wonders that could never be imagined in the Western Church. The third world is exploding with God on the move, China has more Christians than the U.S. does. And these are real Christians, not church goers. They see the American church and they are amazed at the accomplishments we have made with the power of man, not the power of the Holy Ghost. Christianity is exploding across the globe, but mostly turning to a luke warm swill in the western countries.

Oh we hear this “taunt” in everyplace we turn in our day. Even those in the Church have realized that God is not in the midst. When men can speak blasphemies and preach that God has come to give you financial gain and not fall dead we know that God has left His Church. Can God be prostituted with the world? God forbid. His character has not changed from the Old Testament. When Israel fell away from God and worshiped idols He left them to their devices. Has the church stopped being the Church? By no means, but it is obvious that God has taken His immediate presence from His people. When people can walk in unashamed sin in the Church and not be convicted by the Spirit, we know that the Spirit of God has departed. God’s manifest presence has left the Church in North America and how we need to have God come back in revival.

These last couple of months I have written mainly on simple faith on this blog. One of my favorite subjects. But more so I want to write about a hunger for God to show His presence again in rural America. A mighty God! On my old Healing Waters blog I have lots of stuff about the folks that were Kingdom builders in days gone by. Simple people, farmers, tradesmen, whatever, and they changed a nation by preaching and spreading the Gospel to any and all that would listen. It was a time unlike anytime since the Book of Acts days. Can it be done again? I say yes! Does God want it done again? If I was a betting man I’d put money on it!

God wants to move in rural America. He wants to move badly! But it will take people like a couple hundred years ago. People that will spread the Gospel for the Lamb that was slain! Will God back these people up? I believe with all my heart that He will! As I’ve written before, I’ve seen signs and wonders and I could never, ever go back to dead religion. How could I slap my Saviour in the face, how could I re-nail Him to the cross by playing church!I have seen churches turn their back on a God that was there to heal them all, to revive His churches. Turn away,…. to play church. To implement more and more programs that basically turn the people’s hearts away from God.

We need God,…. not playing church!

vfc

Published in: on July 3, 2009 at 8:14 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/07/03/where-is-thy-god/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy 4th of July to you and your family!! Enjoy this nice warm dry week ahead!

  2. Well Happy Fourth of July to you all too! I’m winding down this evening, ready for sleep. I can dream of fireworks πŸ™‚

  3. Just wanted to say. Thanks for the movie tip. I think it was you. The movie Faith Like Potatoes. What a great movie it is. It just gets a person fired up. We had our own fireworks here in the house. Watching the movie. Have a great one. Told everyone on Facebook to buy the movie!!

  4. Musta been me! Not too many folks around that watch stuff like that, but I do πŸ™‚ Works great showing some clips during a sermon too πŸ™‚

  5. Hallelujah! This has been the CRY OF MY HEART for the past month…a journey that has emptied me to fill me (the revival had to start in MY heart 1st) & I ACHE to see rural America come to a soul harvest (especially Walworth County, Wisconsin)! I just heard Winkie Pratney from New Zealand speak at a local church here & AGAIN cried for revival! He & Henry Blackaby have just finished a study Bible for REVIVAL! In this Bible, there are missionary biographies & highlights of revival & acts of God for the past 2,000 years of Christian history! He said, “The Book of Acts doesn’t end with “amen,” so we know God is still working!” Their prayer is that this Bible revives our faith that we serve the LIVING GOD & He’s not done yet! I don’t want to go back to my dead religion…

    Thanks for sharing, Tom! God bless you & your family! Please keep praying for me & for my farmer/firefighter/preacher friend, Shane, too!

    Nina Ruth πŸ™‚

  6. Hi Nina Ruth,

    Amen! I too ache to see revival come to rural America again! And revival or not I plan on being a part of the move of God that will come! Stay tuned as time goes by, cause something good will come.
    That study Bible has caught my interest, hmm, gotta keep a look out for that!

    God Bless!


Leave a Reply

