Seek First

Matthew 6:31-33

“Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’  For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things.  But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.

A beautiful day in the northland’s farm country! The day consisted of cutting hay, half of the morning and all of the afternoon. The hay that I cut today was tall and very thick! The old JD 2520 really had a load on cutting that stuff! A better day couldn’t be found though, in the low eighties and a light wind out of the south. Those that know say there’s rain coming tonight and tomorrow and by the looks of the radar I would say they might be right.One good rain on cut hay never bothers me this time of the summer because it dries out so quick when the weather straightens out. I was thinking about heading out to a small town carnival tonight, but this sore body is telling me different, so I’ll just drink my hot cup of black tea and write down today’s thoughts.

Farming and faith, my two subjects. I always basically write about both in every post. There’s no way I can separate the two so I guess that’s why they’re always together on this blog. God comes first, before farming, before family, before anything and everything. Does that mean we drop all farming because of every church activity on the calendar? No. We have to use common sense judgement on everything when the two collide. If its harvest time and its a God given day where a person can get the harvest in, we harvest. Its our work, its our living. But all in all we try and help out as much as possible in our church even during the busy times.  But I don’t think the verses at the top of the post mean that when they say, “first seek the kingdom of God”.

Seek God, seek His kingdom, seek to have His kingdom on earth, on our farms and in our lives. Now when your seeking God and farming for God the days get a whole lot easier! Why? I figure cause the pressures off a guy. God’s in control and all we have to do is do the best job we possibly can. For His glory! Not ours. Which reminds me, a few weeks ago when it looked like we were in for another killer drought, everything was dust, some crops were even having a hard time emerging, pastures were starting to dry up and the hay was starting to stunt. There were quite a few churches that had special services or at least special prayers for some desperately needed rain. Nothing wrong with that! In fact we should run to God with all of our needs! But now that the spring drought basically busted, where’s the thanksgiving services? Where is the continual praise to such a great and mighty God? All is basically silent. Now its getting back to bragging about how good the crops look, how we did this and we did that! Sad to say, but that’s the way it is.

Here its being handled differently, and please don’t take this as being self righteous, because its not, its from the heart. Here on this farm, this family knows where all our met needs come from. And it sure isn’t from us! I have yet to make it rain! I have yet to do anything of importance. Sure I plant and go through the motions, but without God there is not one single thing that will grow on its own, not one. No matter how good the technology, God is the one who makes it grow and blossom!

Seek God first, then all these things will be added unto you. I like that! Simple really! Sure does make life worth living, and also make the thought of when life ends for us not a terror, but a grand stepping into the glory of a Loving God! To be with God forever! A person can wake up in the morning and the first thing say, “I’m ready for your return today!” Work the day on the farm as if any moment Christ will return and find us doing good. Whether in our work or in our dealings with people. I think that has really been lost nowadays in western culture, the continual thought about Christ’s return. And of course the thought that any moment could be our last and we return to Christ before He returns. Doesn’t make a whole lot of difference. One way or another any given day could be the last.

Why worry about the world? Why worry about a failing system that’s crashing faster and faster? The systems are already falling apart as the return of the King gets closer! I pray that He finds me doing His will. I pray when the world is in total terror in those final moments that we on this farm are shouting with joy!

I was going to end the post, but can’t seem to. How different it is when a person seeks the Kingdom! How different it is when we trust our Lord and Saviour! There is no separating faith and farming and I pray for those who only farm without faith, without God. What an empty existence. When farming for the Lord one can say everyday, “Thy Kingdom Come”, and His Kingdom fills the farm, fills the family, fills the home. Declare it every day! And He does come! And when Christ does return in person He will find His Kingdom already established and waiting on our farms and fields, in our homes and families!

Published in: on June 26, 2009 at 8:28 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/06/26/seek-first/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I still checking here every day but may not comment much….Takin the Chemo walk….Blessings

    • Patty, I have prayed for your strength and healing. I am a few steps behind you in “the walk.” Still not sure what healing paths will be taken. It is good you are checking in here each day, this blog is such a great encouragement and reminder of the awesomeness of the Lord.

      Tom, Thank you for allowing the Lord to work through you in this blog. Your words have given me just the boost of strength I needed many times. I’m sorry I don’t comment more. Please know that you ARE serving the Lord across the country from your keyboard.

      Blessings, Lorie

  2. Thank you Patti for letting us know, cause the prayers are being said! We have experience in this family with what your going through, we know. I know this might sound a little lame, but just praise Him through everything! Easier said than done I know, I know every day, but its powerful, very powerful! And Lorie, thanks for commenting here, I think you sparked a fire in many today and for a while as this is read. Yes, this blog is well worth it because of the folks that stop by here! I know it can’t be seen, or felt in the words that are typed, but you all have really got to me tonight!

    God Bless You All!


Leave a Reply

