And the Rain Came!

Habakkuk 3:17-18 (New Living Translation)

17 Even though the fig trees have no blossoms,
and there are no grapes on the vines;
even though the olive crop fails,
and the fields lie empty and barren;
even though the flocks die in the fields,
and the cattle barns are empty,
18 yet I will rejoice in the Lord!
I will be joyful in the God of my salvation!

What a day! It started out cloudy, the drying was very slow until around noon when the sun came out. Around 1 in the afternoon we raked an 18 acre field and I was baling by two.  In a little while I noticed the skies getting dark to the west. Durn! And I barely made a start in the field! Top it off I forgot to tie a bale of twine to the one being used and it ran out and I had to rethread the baler, took time. The hay was running very heavy and the going was slow, always tying bales. Around 4;30 a few small drops of rain hit the tractor windshield and I still had a long way to go. This field is way back and its a chore just to get there and I truly didn’t want to come back tomorrow and have to finish it then. I prayed for God to hold back the rain till the last bale was baled. For over an hour and a half I seen rain all around me but not in that field. Passed the one hundred mark as far as bale count and had a few more small rounds to go. I didn’t hardly look up, just kept thanking God for holding back the rain. The baler count was at 115 big round bales and still the rain was falling every direction but I was high and dry! Got done with number 116, ejected it and I was done with the field. Was I ever praising the Lord! Then I decided to run over the corners of the field where I miss a little hay every time I make a turn. Well, I didn’t go a hundred feet and a lightening bolt cracked, close! My hair stood up on end let me tell you. The very next instant the rain poured and I didn’t even get out of the tractor to crank up the baler pickup. I drove the mile home in pouring rain, a hundred and sixteen bales of hay done up perfect! I was praising the Lord because I knew that He held off the rain right to the last second, with not a moment to spare! The signal that He was through with holding back the rain on that field was rather dramatic! Wow! Never in all my born days did I experience anything like that. Now I figure some folks would say I was lucky, but I know better! The Lord hears the prayers of His people! Faith, faith in a God that hears a person’s prayers!

God is good, all the time! Even when things weren’t going all that great these last few years our family has been blessed with more important things than what we considered important at the time. The verse above really struck me last evening, was reading it just before bed last night. Talk about some farm talk coming from the Bible! Even when everything looks bleak from our point of view, there is a God that wants the best for His children! I gotta have faith in that!

So its a Wednesday evening, missed church, but that’s the way it is when a fella is farming. Its harvest time, hay harvest time. A while back I had me a talk with God and said that He’d have to make this farm flourish in order for us to pursue His ministry work. Its not like we can get money from anyone to support it. We had a nice sum of money given by our church for the Honduras trip and I am forever grateful for that, but don’t ever want to make it a habit. Nope, just want to work hard here on the farm and the fruits of that can support anything we do. Farming for God, having a good family life, well a guy can’t ask for much more than that! And since that talk with God a few weeks ago this farm has done a complet turn around! From drying up fields and pastures to a paradise of lush grass and crops. Today’s incident really sealed it for me, God wants things to flourish here, but for His glory, not mine. There’s not one thing that I did this year that has made the crops better than the last few years, not one. God holds to His promises and I had better hold to mine! To publicly praise Him and give Him the glory for every single thing! To spread the word about Jesus Christ to any and all! I know it’ll make some think that I’m over the edge, living a life of faith when a proper person should leave God in the church, I just don’t see it that way.

That close lightening bolt this afternoon a few seconds after the last bale was baled made my skin tingle, the hair stand up! But after I landed back in the tractor seat I knew it was a God thing! He kept His word! He answered the prayer of a farmer and at the exact moment the farmer was done and the prayer cover was finished, BOOM! And the rain came!

Published in: on June 24, 2009 at 7:49 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/06/24/and-the-rain-came/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Praise God! He is so awesome! I just love to watch God at work. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that God is going to bless the ministry that He’s put in place for you and your family. Just keep walking in faith.

    May the Lord bless you.

  2. Hi Lee Ann!

    The more and more I think about a couple days ago, about what I wrote, the more my faith rises! Just simple things, maybe foolish to many, but I know what happened and am in awe with it! This just fuels the flame to witness and to do what we’re supposed to do! Plus it had to be one of the easiest posts to write for me in a long, long time!

    God Bless!


Leave a Reply

