Has Shown Me Much Love

Friday evening out here on the farm and the sun has come out. Funny thing, I was cutting hay all afternoon and was getting drizzled on and I get done about supper time, soaking wet, and the sun comes out! At least the hayfield was cut. Tomorrow hit another one, a bigger one that’ll take me about eight hours to cut it down. Hoping for an early start with that one so as to not go to late into the evening. Even getting drizzled on was OK out there today, had a couple of deer come an visit me, not concerned in the least with me on the tractor. Its always nice to see that when I’m working out in the middle of the section.

Oh, by the way, did I mention that we received over two inches of rain yesterday evening! That’s a grand total of over four inches this last week and a half here! I’m so very thankful for that! It was badly needed and much appreciated! The countryside is turning that deep green color which every farmer loves, a healthy green! And with the temperatures turning up a notch the corn is going to take off! Praise the Lord!

God is good! That’s why I write and write about my faith and what I believe. How could I not!

One of the Pharisees asked Jesus to have dinner with him, so Jesus went to his home and sat down to eat. When a certain immoral woman from that city heard he was eating there, she brought a beautiful alabaster jar filled with expensive perfume.  Then she knelt behind him at his feet, weeping. Her tears fell on his feet, and she wiped them off with her hair. Then she kept kissing his feet and putting perfume on them.

When the Pharisee who had invited him saw this, he said to himself, “If this man were a prophet, he would know what kind of woman is touching him. She’s a sinner!”

Then Jesus answered his thoughts. “Simon,” he said to the Pharisee, “I have something to say to you.”

“Go ahead, Teacher,” Simon replied.

Then Jesus told him this story: “A man loaned money to two people—500 pieces of silver to one and 50 pieces to the other. But neither of them could repay him, so he kindly forgave them both, canceling their debts. Who do you suppose loved him more after that?”

Simon answered, “I suppose the one for whom he canceled the larger debt.”

“That’s right,” Jesus said.  Then he turned to the woman and said to Simon, “Look at this woman kneeling here. When I entered your home, you didn’t offer me water to wash the dust from my feet, but she has washed them with her tears and wiped them with her hair. You didn’t greet me with a kiss, but from the time I first came in, she has not stopped kissing my feet. You neglected the courtesy of olive oil to anoint my head, but she has anointed my feet with rare perfume. “I tell you, her sins—and they are many—have been forgiven, so she has shown me much love. But a person who is forgiven little shows only little love.” Then Jesus said to the woman, “Your sins are forgiven.”

Amen to that! “I tell you, her sins—and they are many—have been forgiven, so she has shown me much love. But a person who is forgiven little shows only little love.”

This has to be one of the biggest verses in the Bible for me. Not much more I can add to this one! He takes a total wretch like me and changes it! I know folks that lived a rough life before getting saved and it seems like the rougher the life beforehand, the more on fire they are for Christ now. The old gang just says “well, that’s what they do, go from one extreme to the other”, but that’s not it at all. These verses truly show that its not uncommon for a bigtime sinner to become more on fire for God than someone who spent their whole life in a church, probably bored half the time.

And how can God use a farmer, one that lived a tad bit on the rough side most of his life. Well, He’s done more amazing things than that through the course of history. In fact I believe that God wants to use allot more folks that just live out here in the countryside. They don’t have to have some big title like Dr in front of their name to be a burning witness for Christ. In fact it might help to throw out them title, repent and simply follow God. Cause God uses the foolish things of this world, (in which I’m a charter member), to confound the wise! Every day a person can wake up and farm for God! IN fact anything else is a gross waste of time in all reality, a losing proposition.

Now most folks that read this aren’t exactly in the world’s bigshot club. Most are ordinary folks, many from the countryside, and quite a few from the city and suburbs. But whatever the case, put God first in everything we do and watch the life changing events happen, sometimes rather rapidly! When I used to farm for me, me, me, things were empty. Oh, I’d get those farmer thrills of having a great crop and all, but in realty it was totally empty. Now I watch and see what God’s purpose is for those good crops, for a beautiful herd of beef calves! There’s always something in His plan to further His Kingdom and to take care of our every need in the process!

I look out the window this evening while writing this, finishing up my cup of black tea in the process, and I see a farm that’s bursting green! The life giving rains have returned, just in time. The hay is almost as high as the tractor wheels as I cut it! Lord, use it for Your Glory! We praise You for it all. Your taking care of us so we can do the one thing we are on this earth to do, to spread Your Gospel to any and all!


Published in: on June 19, 2009 at 8:19 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/06/19/has-shown-me-much-love/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I had a friend come out to just sit on my deck and listen to the birds..our country setting can be so healing to people who live in noise all day…A lil fresh air,a few birds and a lil Holy Spirit inspired conversation…

  2. You hit the nail on the head. To get away for many folks is tough, but well worth it. Just the simple pleasures of things like sitting on your deck, a stroll through the garden, a morning or evening pasture check, these heal us from the noise of the world that hits us all the time. And if some Holy Spirit conversation can be added into the mix there’s very few things better!

  3. Good afternoon Tom,

    I’m about beat up. I ain’t as good at this 95 degree heat as I used to be. Only lasted 6 hours out there today… Had to revitalize in that spring fed creek twice. It sure is hard to stay motivated in this ol heat cleaning out fence rows, but I got er done…. Now I can get busy on fixin fence and moving cows….

    Your post was good, but what hit me most was your last comment to Patti. I was thinking today, there is nothing I’d rather do than sit in the field and talk with the Lord. Whether I’m tractor riding or cleanin rows, there is a constant conversation going on.

    Today, I was sawin somethin a little awkward and I said “You think this is stupid Lord??” When the branch was sawn through, it sprang back and nearly knocked me back into next week…. Who says there ain’t answered prayers…. I ain’t heard a louder “yep” than that in a long time 🙂

    Now those are my kind of prayers. Thanks through running conversations.

    Alright, I’d better git going. Its shower time. Ticks abound here in Alabama. I’ve pulled a bunch off me so far today…

    Have a GREAT day,

    Brad

  4. Evening Brad!

    I plucked a few ticks today too! Plus I figure the better half had better check me out good where I can’t see. I must run across a nest of them little blood suckers when I walked a couple hundred yards to the pickup at noon cause I didn’t want the pickup to drive through some really greasy mud to get to the field.

    Today cutting hay I seen a miracle! Now this might not register with some upper class religious folks but I was cutting with the haybine, all was going well and as I was talking with Jesus I asked for a blessing on the job today cause I didn’t really want a breakdown because I got stuff to get together for church tomorrow. All of a sudden there was a jerk and a whole lotta noise! Rocks flying through the air and I wake up out of my near slumber on the tractor. Durn! Hit the mother of all woodchuck dens! I think I had a front end loader bucket full of rocky clay in the haybine. Rocks were flying, the noise was terrible. (Tells you how good the hay is when I don’t see a mound of that size on a nice small out in the open tractor!) I tell you it took me some time grubbing that wet clay and all them rocks out of the haybine! Now how it happened that there was no damage is beyond me if I think in the natural sense, but God answers prayers and I know that He protected the sickle teeth and rock guards from certain damage! That was right around noon and the rest of the afternoon went smooth as silk, no problems! 18 acres under the belt today.

    So I’d better keep my part of the bargain this evening after showering up and doing a tick check, get things in order for tomorrow. Praying that chores go smooth tomorrow morning and I figure on catching a ride to church cause I should get there a tad early and don’t need to drag the whole family there for all that time. Do a run through of the Faith Like Potatoes clips I have chosen to go with the message and I pray that sound system will cooperate!

    Things are settling in around here, getting back to normal after the Honduras trip. Took a couple days! Even for me and I didn’t go! Musta been that city driving, wears me out 🙂

    Stay cool and God Bless!


Leave a Reply

