Backing Up The Word

The last evening without the whole family here and I can’t wait till tomorrow night. I usually don’t care to drive down in the Twin Cities but tomorrow I’ll do it with a smile on my face! I won’t make it to church tomorrow evening, its rare I miss, but this is important! Gotta get to the airport and the flight arrives at 9:55 PM from Houston. It has truly been an exciting week listening by phone and reading by e-mail the reports from down in Honduras. I guess the time has come that I’d better brush up on my Spanish and start thinking about heading south!

Its been a moist day in Central Minnesota, and we’ll take er! Its drizzling as I write tonight and I’m hoping to get another inch or more of rain this week. The soil can take it without the slightest problem. We’re about ten inches away from being wet! The crops are looking great though, the grass hay is getting higher than it has for many a year, and I’ll take that with thanksgiving to our God! The corn is starting to stretch, its a little behind but that can catch up fast, especially with the forecast we have, in the low eighties and moist. Just watch er grow! The oats is starting to head out the last couple of days. I do believe that it will be a great crop by the looks of it. Oats thrives on a cool first half of June like we had, and now with this moister as it heads out, well, lookin good!

A little over a week ago it wasn’t looking all that great around here, not by a long shot. The hay was thirsty and barely growing. I took the gamble and didn’t cut when every one else was and I do believe the crop has doubled in less than a week! I just remember that everything was dust. The eyes were red every evening from the grit that was blasted into them daily by the high, dry winds. The ears were like a gravel pit. I itched every night from the dust and pollen. I’m not allergic to anything that I know of, it was just harsh physical conditions that were responsible.Β  A neighbor was over a couple of Saturdays ago to pick up a bull that he bought from us. It was dry out, very dry. And of course farmers talk about the dry conditions cause that’s what you do in farmland.

But I decided I wasn’t going to be a complainer. Now I know these folks that bought the bull, I also know that they don’t go to church. Of course that means nothing as far as them being good people. They just ain’t saved and they are a rather rough bunch if you catch my drift. Good folks though, a fella can trust them. Well, in this walk of faith called a Christian life I decided to publicly stand on my faith in God. Besides, the Bible says that we are to be a godly example to those outside the church. Especially if a person is in any sort of ministry. Paul told young Timothy that very thing.

1 Timothy 3:7Β (New Living Translation)

Also, people outside the church must speak well of him so that he will not be disgraced and fall into the devil’s trap.

So standing by the corral fence I took the leap of faith. Now I can say I have faith any old time but to put something on the line to a bull customer is jumping in with both feet. I said its going to rain and rain good. I believed that God answers prayers and I believe my prayer for rain was answered, even before the fact. He looked at me kinda strange but a farmer that has gone through multiple droughts will notice when someone says its going to rain, even when the odds ain’t that great. So in a while we parted ways. I said to God, “I witnessed to him my faith in you, now I sure do hope you deliver!” In many circles today what I told God would be considered an extreme lack of faith, but I’m just an honest farmer talking to Him.

That event was on my mind all day, through the evening and night and next day. Coming home from church I had to stop in town on the way home and pick something up at the gas station. I was almost walking in the door and I heard someone shout my name from a car parked over to the side. It was the bull customer’s dad. He said, “Hey Tom, my boy said you said it was going to rain a good rain!” Now remember it was still dusty drought outside during this conversation. I came over by him and said yep! I’m believing God for a good soaking rain! He was still smiling but I knew it cut to the heart. And the answer he gave will always remain with me. “I’m believing with you!” Remember, these folks don’t go to church and I know they ain’t saved.

Oh Lord, old foot in the mouth Tom did it again I figured. But I do believe and I do know that God backs up anyone that will put his faith in HIm when spreading the Gospel. Even if its spread by little things like I just mentioned, like giving God the credit for everything, including crop saving rains while the dust is still blowing. That Sunday evening we went to church for the special revival services that were being held there and still no rain. That night after church I came home and i couldn’t sleep because of the conversations the past weekend. I musta stayed up till two in the morning waiting for rain. Finally I fell asleep. The next morning water was standing everywhere and I think I was dancing like a wildman! What a God! A few days later I ran into a family member of that family that bought the bull and I could tell something was a little different. They are wondering about this old farmer, wondering about that guy who said that God would make it rain a good rain when it sure didn’t look like it!

Putting faith into practice reaching the lost. That’s what its about. God says He’ll back it up with signs and wonders when we put our trust in Him while spreading the news about what His Son did for us. Its not always cut and dried evangelism, its how we act when we’re with the unsaved that speaks volumes. Did it bother me? Yes it did. I didn’t stay up most of the night cause I had nothing better to do! But God showed me that when we trust in Him, even when the mind and flesh is screaming against it, He delivers to show the lost that He lives!

Published in: on June 16, 2009 at 8:25 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/06/16/backing-up-the-word/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good Morning,

    Now your \”Witnessing\” and mine sound pretty close to being alot alike. I know we talked about this before… There is a fine line between others hearin the word, and them turning off the mind switch as soon as they hear you start talking about it.

    My favorite line is \”There ain\’t nothin wrong with God\” whenever someone starts talkin about \”them Christians\” . The other day, my redneck brother and I were talking and he was talkin about those bible thumpers…. I drew a breath and he said \”I know…. I know… There ain\’t nothing wrong with God…..\”

    Will it help?? I dunno…. Its the only way I know to do it. I\’m not a scripture quotin type guy… maybe the simple message out there will work.

    Now about this Honduras thing. Tom…. I would like to do that… Maybe its in the cards… Who knows maybe between the \”y\’alls\” and the \”Don\’t ya know\’s\” we could help out down there πŸ™‚ . I know this…. When I whip out my \”Y\’all are fixin to munch on the vittles of Jesus\”, I\’d better have a good interpreter πŸ™‚ ….. in fact maybe he better just speak in tongues thats the only way folk would be able to understand me down there πŸ™‚ ….

    Let me know when your planning to do that. I told my girlfriend about it and she was kind of excited…. Her sister was in Costa Rica for a year as a missionary…. I told her we would see… This ol farm doesn\’t take care of itself, but I figure you got the same problem and my summer window is alot bigger than yours….. Yep… I think I\’d like to do it…

    We had a big ol storm blow through here night before last. Lots of downed trees…. I was out checkin the pastures last night and it looks like everything survived ok…. I sure am glad the rain is hittin up there. This year, we have been drought free… The hay is great and it looks like I\’m not going to have to beg to hay others fields this year… not by a long shot!!

    I\’m glad everyone is gettin back tonight. Its pretty exciting being single right off, then the house gets real quiet after a day or two… Those beanie weenies taste real good for the first couple of days… after that… well……

    Alright, I\’d better get myself a 1000 word limit… πŸ™‚

    Have a GREAT day,

    Brad

  2. Morning Brad!

    Ah, the last day of Banquet TV dinners πŸ™‚ Of course I don’t have broadcast or satellite TV so that cuts the taste back a bit. Never went to a cafe once though, toughed er out we did πŸ™‚

    This Sunday if I don’t have brain freeze at church I’m gonna touch on what you are talking about and what I’m writing about. That faith to do simple witnessing, surely not by the book according to many, but witnessing through normal life. Plus I love when God backs it up!

    The thinking about Honduras is real! I’ve been near the place I was talking about, where wife and daughter broke through and we have an open invitation to spread the gospel. Now Brad, the one thing I do know is when your in the rural areas I’m talking about is that they love farmers! I mean everybody loves farmers, for real! Now your a farmer too and even though the Spanish might be a bit rough, just like my almost zero Spanish, you wouldn’t believe how fast a person can break through and communicate. More than likely someone will know English anyhow and help out, that was always the case for me.

    I’m shooting for next summer. Even as busy as I am there are possible windows to go. In fact its easier to go far than to go close for me. Get me a minimum of a thousand miles from home to avoid temptation of heading home to go back to work and its a whole new ball game πŸ™‚ Besides I’m getting more and more help on the farm from family nowadays and that might make it possible.

    Well, I got more comments to answer, might get to that a bit later, running late. What can I say, I’ve been sleeping in for the last week πŸ™‚ Ah, to be a tad bit lazy doesn’t hurt once in a while and to be a tad bit lazy when there’s mud puddles in the driveway is just downright nice πŸ™‚

    God Bless!

  3. morning,
    is the family home safe and sound?

  4. Good Morning Tom,

    I’m assuming the lumps in the bed are in their appropriate place this morning?? I hope everyone had a safe trip, and you recovered from all that city drivin. I’ll tell you, I get the shakes for about 2 days after having to go to those big cities…. I’m about as nervous as a long tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs when I’m driving through ’em…..

    Well, we had a good bible study last night. The guy who taught it is one of them high dollar angus breeders. Anyway, I thought I’d just go up and talk a little cattle talk after. We’ll I introduce myself and we talk awhile and them he says “Brad, let me ask you something? Do you know Jesus Christ as your personal Lord and Savior?” My answer suprised me… Not the answer itself, but how quick it came out of my mouth. Usually, anything personal I hem and haw with people a little, but right away I said “Yes”. Then I was wondering why I answered so quickly….

    I’ve been thinking about that all evening and this morning. It was one simple question that gets answered in churches across the world everyday, but my response was so quick and so matter of fact, I know that Jesus is not just in my mind, but in my heart… What a wonderful feeling.

    Now….. I’ve borryed two spanish type language things I can listen to in my truck and at home. I’m not sure I’m gonna get any better, but if we go next year on this boondoggle, I want to be ready!! πŸ™‚

    Well Tom, I’d better get on. Here’s to a GREAT day on your Northern farm…. and my Southern one….

    Brad

  5. Morning All!

    Kinda red eyed this morning, excuse me, got back after midnight from driving down there. Whew! Tad bit rough doing that! Now for life to get back into its normal beat around here, whatever that is.

    I didn’t talk with them much last night, was to busy hanging on to the steering wheel and flooring it, just to keep up! But we can catch up over the next few days around here.

    Now that the rough driving is behind me for a while, at least a couple months before I have to head that way again, I gotta screw my head on straight and farm and think faith matters in a more relaxed mood. Yep Tom, time to get back to what you love!

    Sorry for the short one, really tired this morning, even slept in till 5:45, feeling slothful now πŸ™‚ Lord willing things will be normal by tomorrow around here. Gotta get!

    God Bless!

  6. You go! πŸ™‚

  7. Hey Patti!

    In a few days there will be photos of the trip at PhotoBucket, or something like that πŸ™‚ I’ll let everyone know!

    God Bless!


Leave a Reply

