He’s More Than Able To Fix It

John 14

9 Jesus replied, “Have I been with you all this time, Philip, and yet you still don’t know who I am? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father! So why are you asking me to show him to you?

10 Don’t you believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words I speak are not my own, but my Father who lives in me does his work through me.

A Friday evening and it was trying to rain outside so I’m inside. Rain hasn’t amounted to even getting the ground wet but if I was outside I reckon I’d be wet. But I have faith that this will be a good year! Even with the dry conditions things are going well. The hay is still growing and the pastures are doing fine! The corn came up perfectly even, the planter working great and the crop has a blessed start! In my last post I mentioned healing the land and this has been on my mind something powerful today. At the same time I’m reading a work book from our church bookstore which isn’t all that big, the store would fit in a closet with room to spare for clothes and guns and all the other stuff a country person might pack in there. The workbook is about healing and it shows that its God’s will to heal, to heal them all. Now I know that a heck of allot of Christians balk at this and I always did to until a person does the unthinkable, the almost unimaginable thing today in this day and age, and that’s get into God’s Word.

Funny, after a lifetime of going to church here and there before finally giving in and accepting Jesus I had all the traditions of man in my mind and in my heart. And I see this everyday with people I come in contact with. The thought that God is the author of disease, of natural disasters, of everything that hurts a person on earth. They say it must be God’s will. And the biggest revelation I ever had when reading the Word of God is the realization that it is not! And while on that thought I do believe one of the most asked questions I come across in day to day life concerning faith matters is, why does God allow these things to happen? Or a terrible disaster strikes a person or family and the folks think it was God’s will that such a thing should happen.

When farming a person has allot of time to think and to talk to God, yes for anyone who doesn’t understand, talking with God. If someone was to sneak up to me when I’m outside working on a fence or something they’d be looking around for a bit trying to figure out where the person was I was talking to! And I do know and am very thankful that in my lifetime I’ve had the opportunity to live this life on the farm away from much of the hustle and bustle of the rat race.  The one thing I know with all my heart is that God is not the author of accidents, sickness and the death of loved ones. People also blame God for the storms, catastrophes, earthquakes, droughts and floods that happen. The news, insurance companies and people of faith even call these “acts of God”. The thing I learned from the Word is they are not acts of God, they’re acts of satan. Even saying something such as this has set off firestorms from the “religious” in the past and present, but the funny thing is, the same thing would happen when Jesus would speak to the religious in His day. And I’m on a roll with this and will continue it in almost every post because this is a foundation of faith that the early church had that got messed up and almost lost over the centuries.

Now it hardly pays to even discuss this with someone who doesn’t believe the Bible, and I’m not talking about a non church goer, but church folks that believe their church has the way and don’t believe the scripture to be the final word. Traditions of man is what I call that. But as a man of the land I see things all around me, I appreciate the beauty of nature every way I turn. The Word tells and describes the world before man sinned and all was lost. There was no death, no injury, no disease. Sin entered and the devil took the dominion of this earth from man. The devil has the legal right to it and is the author of every terrible thing that happens.

When Jesus walked this earth He used His authority, a sinless man filled with the Holy Spirit, the Son of God made man, to rebuke the storms, to rebuke disease, to raise the dead. We don’t see Jesus bringing any storms on people, we see Him calming the storms! We don’t see Him sending disease into people, we see Him healing them by casting out the devil who is the author of disease! And with this in mind, we don’t see Him sending disaster on our farms and homes. That is a different author, not God! Jesus never rebuked God the Father!

Understanding this simple and fundamental cornerstone of faith changes everything that was instilled in me years ago. God is our friend, He loves us and is not the author of the terrible things that happen to us! I don’t want our family and farm to be under the devil’s control! And it doesn’t have to be!  “When God’s creation is broke, He’s more than able to fix it.” And our faith opens up the door for Him to do that! Reclaiming the rights we had before sin entered this world! yes, creation is groaning for Christ’s return, and until He comes down from heaven He’s welcome to have the authority on this farm and in this family now!

Romans 8:18 Yet what we suffer now is nothing compared to the glory he will reveal to us later. 19 For all creation is waiting eagerly for that future day when God will reveal who his children really are. 20 Against its will, all creation was subjected to God’s curse. But with eager hope, 21 the creation looks forward to the day when it will join God’s children in glorious freedom from death and decay. 22 For we know that all creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time. 23 And we believers also groan, even though we have the Holy Spirit within us as a foretaste of future glory, for we long for our bodies to be released from sin and suffering. We, too, wait with eager hope for the day when God will give us our full rights as his adopted children, including the new bodies he has promised us. 24 We were given this hope when we were saved. (If we already have something, we don’t need to hope for it. 25 But if we look forward to something we don’t yet have, we must wait patiently and confidently.)


Published in: on May 29, 2009 at 9:06 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/05/29/hes-more-than-able-to-fix-it/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Very well said Tom! God doesn’t “allow” bad things to happen no more than I would allow bad things to happen to my children. I really get upset when I’m at a funeral and people say “well, I guess God needed another carpenter, or angel, or bus driver, or pizza delivery boy, in heaven”. I want to get up and say, “wait a minute, God didn’t allow this person to die”, But like you say as soon as you mention satan people look at you like you’re some kind of nut! I’ve heard from so many people that they only believe parts of the bible, the parts they like I guess. What a world we would have if people believed that the entire bible was the truth and the word of God. I guess we just keep praying for eyes to be opened, hearts to receive, and ears that listen for the truth!

    I talk to God when I’m mowing and most of the time it’s with a song. I don’t think people would think I’m as crazy as you if they heard me singing on the mower but if I was just talking they might ask me if I was related to some guy named Tom over by Upsala! Ha!

    I’ve watched you change so much over the last few years and a better man of God I don’t think could be found. Your life is living proof of what God can and will do when we submit to Him. Praise God for your strong devotion and the way you spread the “Good News”. When the time comes for you to go home I know you will hear the words, “well done, good and faithful servant”.

    Be blessed, Don

  2. Hey Don!
    Well, I do sing but human beings aren’t allowed to hear me 🙂 Cause if they did there’d probably be a rush to the promised land that wasn’t planned 🙂 Heaven forbid that I be the cause of such a calamity 🙂

    This subject is burning in me, (not the singing part), and this is only the very tip of it. The very beginning. The most amazing thing to me is what the Bible actually says. And how through the traditions of man it can be skipped over, or ignored or downright rejected.

    Jesus came to set us free, but most, even though saved, are still accepting bondage to the world and he who rules it. The Word says that we are to be Christ like. And what did Christ do? He didn’t accept things on earth as the “will of God”, he cast out every disease, he rebuked and calmed storms, and if these things were from God then He was going against the will of God, which He sure wasn’t!

    So when we see what the Bible says about this it puts a whole new perspective on things. That we are to walk like Jesus walked, spreading the Father’s love, taking authority over the prince of this world and and quit submitting to his authority.

    Don, just remember that I got the call during a praise team song in 2006! I will be mentioning that in the future, this next month on a Sunday. Key word here, “praise team”. I just wish I could sing sometimes cause I’d be right up there with you 🙂

    God Bless!

  3. You have reached a depth of understanding many many christians never reach… I needed your post very much today..thank you and I’m so looking forward to more 😀

  4. Thank you Patti, I was a little nervous, not when I wrote it but afterwards. And if the post helped you at all with your day it was well worth writing it many times over! I am hoping on continuing and expanding on these things.

    God Bless!

  5. Don’t ever be nervous about speaking your piece. Your thoughts and ideas are just as good or better than anyone elses, and don’t ever let them tell you otherwise.

    Blessings,

    William

  6. Morning Tom,

    A very good post. You know though, I sit out there and think too and I took a little different perspective on it all. After Kathy died, I had a verse just show up out of the blue one day. It really cleared my head on got me thinkin alot.

    It was from the book of Wisdom Chapter 3 and it said…. “The souls of the just are in the hand of God, and no torment shall touch them. They seemed, in the view of the foolish, to be dead; and their passing away was thought an affliction and their going forth from us, utter destruction. But they are in peace. For if before men, indeed, they be punished, yet is their hope full of immortality. Chastised a little, they shall be greatly blessed, because God tried them and found them worthy of himself. As gold in the furnace, he proved them, and as sacrificial offerings he took them to himself. Those who trust in him shall understand truth, and the faithful shall abide with him in love: Because grace and mercy are with his holy ones, and his care is with his elect.”

    Now what I came up with from all that is it sure is just a matter of perspective. For me this was a disaster beyond all belief. I was shaken to the core…. For Kathy, this was where she had been trying to get to her whole life. Her faith has been lived out. It made me realize it was about time for me to put up or shut up about mine….

    A Disaster for me yes… For her it was a chance to be with her Lord…. The ultimate happiness….

    Well… enough of this deep stuff…. I got my youngest graduated. Did pretty good too… somethin must have been making my allergies act up though…. My eyes were watering for some reason… 🙂

    Thia weekend I’ve been trying to keep the woods out of my hay field. Also had to do a mini roundup of some of the neighbors calves that got out. I’ll tell you, I sure do like predicitble ol cows… Them calfs think they are horses or somethin and turn on a dime….. Pretty hard on an old man’s legs….. and ego… 🙂

    Well, better git…..

    Have a GREAT day,

    Brad

  7. Hey William!

    Thanks, and I will just keep going a bit further on this subject in the near future as time permits. Plus its kinda like homework for me and will help allot in the very near future in our little church. By the way, I sure do like that little pony you folks got 🙂

    God Bless!

    Morning Brad!
    Hope it all went good with you this past weekend and the dust got dusted and all of that 🙂 Missed all the upper midwest rains again this weekend in our neck of the woods so no mud to worry about this morning.

    At first glance a fella could think that what I wrote and what you wrote were two different ideas or trains of thought but I’m glad you did write that here and I’ll tie them together as I keep up with this all. Because believe me, there is no conflict of thought here at all. Of course when I first read this all on the computer and I’m kinda staggering yet from trying to wake up it kinda shook me, but two or three sips of coffee under the belt and its all coming together.

    A fallen world, a loving God, deep subjects. Now you re-sparked me for my day on the farm. Gotta get allot done this week. Next week is a whole bunch of stuff at church, not to mention myself becoming single for a couple weeks and living the simple food life, (very simple foods 🙂 ). But I calculated I have just enough fat reserves to make it through. I think next time around I’m going to Honduras too, I do like their food allot! So no problem in that department.

    Oh, had fifteen cows out in the alfalfa field Saturday morning. Now that’s always a nice wakeup 🙂 They opened the gate of all things. Now I have a dangerous cow in that herd, don’t know which one, but ones of them got brains 🙂 A beef man’s worst nightmare…..

    Re-reading the verses you wrote here, no, there is no conflict what so ever, none. Just as there really cannot be from scripture when a person gets right down to it. Again, this is good that you brought that up cause it pushes me, plus not to mention trains me in more and more to what is a common question that needs answering more often than not. Of course at first I balk at being pushed but I always do, but its already coming together before 6 AM.

    Getting long winded, er, I mean long fingered here this Monday morning and there’s a dusty farm awaiting me. Oh, I got the movie back, Faith Like Potatoes after a few weeks of being lent out overnight and I watched the hour long thingy on Angus Buchan, the real story, which is much bigger than the movie itself. Amazing, amazing! This is all going to be good!

    God Bless!


Leave a Reply

