Creation Groans

The week is winding down on the farm, calves were born this week and all is well with those little things. We’re gearing up for corn planting this coming week, this week spent moving cow/calf pairs to different pastures which cuts down the winter chores considerably. I personally don’t rush getting the corn in real early because of the fact most of it is chopped for silage and I really don’t like doing the chopping too early in the season when its warm or down right hot outside yet. The middle of September works the best for me, me being the guy chopping the corn in a JD 4320 with an old weather guard cab and no air conditioning. The engine and transmission can really make things hot in the cab, almost unbearable when doing a job that works the engine as hard as corn chopping does. Live and learn, I try and do things that work out for the best around here.

Today was down right cool outside and it still is as I write, cloudy and cool, with a wind to boot. Tomorrow is supposed to be sunny and warmer with the week ahead looking more seasonal and warmer. Even if its cooler out its still almost hot compared to wintertime so I ain’t complaining! And with tomorrow being Sunday that gives me something special to look forward to. To get back to our little church family, we missed the Wednesday evening service because of the Hispanic outreach we were involved in at another church. Ah, no place like home says ol’ Farmer Tom as he clicks his boot heals together!

In the last post’s comments we were talking about bringing Christ to the people because to put it bluntly a person can’t expect people to come to church on their own. Some do, but a very small percentage. I was one of those in the very small percentage, but that’s more to do with a wife and family that did encourage me along that line. But what about those who have no such encouragement?  I’m re-reading a book called “Soul Winning”, I’ve read it through a couple times before and its been about a year since I picked it up. Last night I did pick it up again and I will say its probably the best book ever written on the subject of taking Jesus Christ outside the confining walls of the church building. An easy to read book, a rather large book really, but written with so much Biblical common sense that it makes a person truly wonder why the regular way of thinking about church has strayed so far from the Biblical way of thinking and living it.

Now that I’m re-reading it, and it all seems brand new to me, kinda like the Bible, no matter how many times a person reads it its always new and fresh, it couldn’t come at a better time. As stated in the last post and comments, doors are opening up, even doors I tried to ignore for the past year, opening up so I can’t hardly avoid them without flat out running away and I have no intention of doing that! Rural ministry outside the church walls. The first time I can remember ever writing about this was almost two years ago in a post called “Outside the Walls” and it has been burning ever since in my heart. Of course many things have happened since then and we are doing things I never dreamt we’d be doing in the Lord’s service back then, but God keeps putting things in front of a feller to stretch him and it never gets comfortable for long.

The last couple of days have been mostly tractor driving and a person has the whole day practically to think and think. Plans form that I’da never believed even a year ago. The planning is easier, not the impossibility that I’da though it was a year ago! OK, I know I can beat this subject to death, but I write what’s on my mind and that’s about all that’s been on my mind as of late. Of course most things that develop will be chronicled here as time goes on.

What an awesome God! I think of that every day as I go about my business outside! People in the city could hardly imagine the wondrous life that surrounds us out here on the farm. The sounds in the morning, the wildlife that abounds around us at all times of the day! Thinking like this i’m reminded of some verses in Romans 8

18 Yet what we suffer now is nothing compared to the glory he will reveal to us later. 19 For all creation is waiting eagerly for that future day when God will reveal who his children really are. 20 Against its will, all creation was subjected to God’s curse. But with eager hope, 21 the creation looks forward to the day when it will join God’s children in glorious freedom from death and decay. 22 For we know that all creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time. 23 And we believers also groan, even though we have the Holy Spirit within us as a foretaste of future glory, for we long for our bodies to be released from sin and suffering. We, too, wait with eager hope for the day when God will give us our full rights as his adopted children, including the new bodies he has promised us. 24 We were given this hope when we were saved. (If we already have something, we don’t need to hope for it. 25 But if we look forward to something we don’t yet have, we must wait patiently and confidently.)

How creation is eagerly waiting for the return of Jesus! It puts a whole different perspective on things out on the farm in the early morning when the wildlife noises are coming from every direction. Creation is waiting for God to reveal who His children are! The age of the curse, the age of sin will be over with. Glory! How could a feller not spread the Gospel to any and all when even the creation around us is eagerly waiting for the day!

Published in: on May 9, 2009 at 7:41 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/05/09/creation-groans/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Evening Tom…. This is a quick one because I’m beat!! Hay season here ya know… well long past it, but too wet to get it off. I think there is a window, but its iffy.

    So anyway, with all the cuttin and tractor sittin I did today, I have some cooments on your ol post here… Maybe we can have a duel and see who’s butt is smarter from all that sittin :).

    Its a great post… I heard a song today that was right up this alley…. It hit close to home, but I’ll talk more about that tomorrow… 🙂

    I’m really close to headin to bed, readin my bible, and hittin the hay right now!!

    Have a GREAT evening,

    Brad

  2. Evening Brad!

    News on this front is….I finished the manure pile a few minutes ago!! YEE HAW! Three weeks of hauling every available moment makes getting that job done a pleasure!And this ain’t hauling with no wheel barr’a either 🙂 The manure spreader is a 375 bushel New Idea and a feller can get allot of manure on that baby! But done is done!!

    Hay’s a few weeks off here, needin a tad bit of rain one of these days but no big deal yet by any means. Now if it don’t rain I might just start corn planting tomorrow. Getting started is the only hard part cause once I get going I can cover acres fast!

    My butt is pretty smart right now from all that tractor sittin 🙂 At least now the tractor can pull something else behind it!

    Boy is it weird not having to feed cows in the morning! Feels like a change in life! 7:30 rolls around and I can do farm work instead of chores, cause the steers and heifers and pigs and chickens only take me about an hour and a half, almost like not working at all 🙂

    Well, hope to hear from you in the morning!

    God Bless!

  3. I’ve got the new blog bookmarked. Should I deleate the old ones?? Happy Spring by the way .:D

  4. Hi Patti!

    Was wondering today while in the tractor how your trip was going! Hope all was well with it!

    I have no plans on ever writing on the other blogs anymore, they’re retired and ran their course. Plus life sure is easy tending this one!

    Again, glad your back and it just feels good having you around here!

    God Bless!

  5. “What this world needs is not another one hit wonder with an axe to grind
    Another two bit politician peddling lies
    Another three ring circus society
    What this world needs is not another sign waving super saint that’s better than you
    Another ear pleasing candy man afraid of the truth
    Another prophet in an Armani suit

    What this world needs is a Savior who will rescue
    A Spirit who will lead
    A Father who will love them in their time of need
    That’s what this world needs ”

    Now Tom, I’m loading up the hay mower yesterday and this is what comes on the radio. Usually, I just listen to it as background noise, but I was listening to the words and it hit me pretty good. It and our conversation this past week has got me thinkin some more.

    You know friend, it ain’t about money or our views or anything. What this world needs is Jesus… Plain and simple. If ol Jesus comes to someone in a subway station then that subway is better than all all the megachurches or country churches that couldn’t get Jesus into their heart….. So now….. how can I help in the subway… or the jail… or the slums…

    There are so many non-christians that need Jesus that ain’t pretty or good. How can I help them….

    Alright, enough rambling. The weather here is iffy. I thought I’d better get a little hay off anyway. Still have a ton to go.

    I know what you mean about turning the cows loose. I go by once a week and make sure they haven’t hightailed it to another farm…. It sure beats everyday…

    Time to hit it again,

    Have a GREAT day,

    Brad

  6. Morning Brad!

    They’re talking possible rain here later but we’ll see. Gotta get things organized for corn planting this morning.

    This evening , if possible, I’ll try and write something in the order of what we are talking about here and the true reason for the church. I got it as I was reading last night just before bed and well, it was too durn late for me to even think about starting something here.

    Its something I always kinda knew but sometimes its hard to search for the proper words to put em down with. I think I have the proper words now and as usual it is in a country twist or a farm story, a country parable.

    If I can’t get er tonight it’ll be on the top of the list, in fact the only thing on the writing list 🙂 Sometimes it bothers me that some of the stuff I write could be taken as church bashing but that truly is not the case with me and the thing on my mind should show that.

    Them words you wrote here are GOOD! I don’t know if I ever heard that one before. Well, Lord willing we can keep this going a bit cause with the song’s words you wrote and what’s on my mind it all comes together!

    Gotta git!

    God Bless!


Leave a Reply

