A Twin Day!

When taking care of cattle sometimes the unexpected happens. Today was one of those days out here. The cowherd is just starting into their calving season here and not on green pastures yet. That’s coming in the next two weeks and then the major chore times will be done around here. Then chores sometimes consist of checking the cows with a pair of binoculars when they are far off in a section of the pasture that’s not easily ridden too in a truck or four-wheeler. So the cow herd still gets some corn silage every morning in the barn lot feeders. They’re kept out of that lot except for eating the silage in the early morning. This morning as I opened the gate and the cows came rushing in there was one cow left outside with a new born calf and then I seen another newborn a ways away from that one, all alone. So after a while when the cows were finished eating and it was time to release them out into the calving pasture I stood by to see if any cow would claim the calf on the way out. And no such luck! Then as they were over a ways on the gravel knob eating their daily hay I inspected every one to see if there were signs of any calving overnight, and again no such luck. Then it started to dawn on me, those calves could be twins and seeing that most cows can’t count past one I figured I’d bring the calf that was all alone over to the cow with the newborn calf at her side. And then the mystery was solved! That old cow licked the second calf just like the first. In a situation like that I like to lock them up together, away from the main herd, for a few days so the calves get to knowing mama better. Once they were in the nice bedded down calving pen especially made for situations like that and other things it was a delight to see both calves sucking mama at once. One on each side of her and that old mama cow would take turns turning her head back licking a calf on one side and then turning the head to the other and licking that calf while they were getting that precious first milk.

Being its a windy cloudy day and I have a pretty bad sore throat and cough I decided to lay low a bit today being that the oats is planted and the hay along with it. And in my short time periods in the house I came across a Bible verse, Proverbs 12:10.

A righteous man regards the life of his animal,

That verse strikes home to people on farms and ranches. And its not only about money, or lost income when having to take care of animal problems such as today’s perplexing situation out in the calving pasture. No, its more about caring for the herd, knowing that your the difference between life and death with many of the animals every day. I couldn’t imagine walking away from a problem or a wreck on this place. Everything else stops to lend a hand where needed concerning the well being of the herd. That trip to town that I was planning gets put on hold. That trip to church has to wait. Everything goes into the well being of the herd.

Now they say that the Lord is the Good Shepherd. And seeing that I have no sheep on the place at the present time I have to adjust this a bit and change it to Good Cattleman. Most of the problems on the place with the cattle are self induced by the cattle themselves. Such as today’s problem with the twins. There’da been a wreck without that intervention and care. Now all is well. I figure we’re like that too. Most problems are self induced and the Good Cattleman has to lock us up sometimes and get us heading the right direction. I know that I’m penned up durn near daily and for good reason! But just as those cows trust that the feed will be there every day for them in the morning, gee, talk about faith, I gotta trust in the Lord to see me through. And again I came across another Bible verse a few hours ago while reading in the house this afternoon. Its from Proverbs 3:5-6

5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
6 In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.

Just like those cows trusting me, I gotta trust the Lord to see me through every day. If I stray off on my own, well, that’s when the trouble begins! And it might take penning me up a bit to get me back on the straight and narrow.

One more Bible verse for today. Again, I came across this and it all came together today for me as the events unfolded and daily life goes on around this place. Its from Psalms 37:3-5

3 Trust in the LORD, and do good;
Dwell in the land, and feed on His faithfulness.
4 Delight yourself also in the LORD,
And He shall give you the desires of your heart.
5 Commit your way to the LORD,
Trust also in Him,
And He shall bring it to pass.

This is a different kind of post for me, just dwelling on life out here today. And from reading the Word it all comes together. There’s allot of lessons to be had out on a farm or ranch. Lessons that line up with the Good Book in every way!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://christianfarmandranchman.wordpress.com/2009/04/24/a-twin-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh wow. Your post spoke volumes. What a beautiful way you put everything. This is EXACTLY something I’d like to offer my readers on my blog…. there’s something about comparing the basic fundamentals of daily life (like your cow herding) to scripture that makes the scripture just come alive. My blog domain is theproverbswoman.wordpress.com — I’m adding your blog under “delicious links”… Your blog both moved and inspired me and I’d like to send people who are searching for something more back to it.

  2. Thank you very much for the kind words! And thanks for the link to your blog and linking here! Does my heart good to know that these writings are appreciated by folks here and there! Just simple country stuff is all, the way I love it!

    Again, Thank You and God Bless!

  3. I think that’s why I like it so much… It’s simple.. down to earth… you speak of what you know and don’t appear to try to be impressing anyone. Your blog is real… and I think that’s what people are searching for… Anyway, you’ve got a new reader out of me. Thank you for taking the time to put your thoughts into the world. You have most definitely blessed my day. 🙂

  4. Welcome to your new home! I was a bit rattled when I went to Northern Farmer & read that you were closing down. But, I really like the new site and I think the new direction seems to be perfect for the direction God has been leading you folks in. I love watching the Lord at work! I believe that the dreams that you have been yearning toward in a farm ministery will bear fruit and help reap lots of souls for the Lord.

    “Let your light so shine before men, and they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven.” Matthew 5:16

    May the Lord bless you & your family as you seek to serve Him.

  5. Hi Proverbswoman!

    Well, as time goes on there’ll be allot more stuff like you read here so far. I do skip around a bit on what I write, just like normal life skips around somewhat, especially in a life style like mine 🙂
    God Bless!

    Ah! Lee Ann!

    Glad you trailed me here! As you know I don’t comment much around other blogs but I’m on yours reading almost daily, good stuff and keep it up!! It’ll take some getting used too for me to settle in here too, but it will be done! My mind is full of subjects, and not only faith subjects, but the funny thing is I can’t separate regular subjects from faith subject anymore 🙂 If time allows I’ll be writing about weeds and about cattle implants, (hormones), in the near future and both those subjects are really interesting. One might say how can that be interesting, but just wait! Of course I hate weeds and cattle implants so that’s a hint 🙂
    God Bless!

  6. Thanks for the kind words. You are an encouragement to me, and reading your posts inspire me too.

    I know what you mean about not being able to separate faith subjects & regular life subjects anymore. I’m to the point in my walk/life where it all wraps up together and can’t be cubbyholed into neat little sections anymore. Either God is in all of my life or He isn’t in any of it. When people confide in me that they don’t know how to witness to others about God, I often ask them “How do you NOT know how to tell folks about God?” I can’t seem to have a conversation that DOESN’T include God. Ah, I’m getting wound up now. I need to go to Mountain home & fire up the keyboard. See, I’m inspired already!

    Have a great day, and may the Lord bless you.


Leave a Reply

