Calving, Rustlers, Fences and Faith

Windier than the dickens today with occasional showers and ice showers. The temp is well above freezing as I write, in fact its forty five above but the ice pellets are hitting the window as I type. Tomorrow I should be able to finally hit the fields and they’re talking that by Thursday it should be in the mid eighties. So being that its going to be warm weather I decided to run to town late this afternoon and but 75 more eartags for the new born calves. Plus being that I was at the fleet store I figured I’d better pick up one more straw cowboy hat for the hot weather to come. Kinda like that hat they sell there, plus like the low price. I had bought one a couple weeks ago there but decided that I need a Sunday best and a work hat also. My supposedly good hats from years ago kinda lost that nice look that’s so important to fashion conscience cow/calf raisers like me! The calves are starting to hit the ground here. Three were born today as it slowly starts and all are doing well! The youngest daughter was looking out the window before we headed to town this afternoon and saw a cow with some feet sticking out of here rear end, called me to take a gander and from our kitchen window I declared it to be a good looking labor and we’d check how it went when we got back from the fleet store. Well, we got back and the little black baldie heifer is sucking away out there in the blasting wind and ice pellets, happy as a lark! I tell you, it pays to have good cattle! Now being that this might be the last evening for a bit that I can kinda relax around this place, its too windy to even attempt anything anywhere around here by the looks of it, I was reading in the free publication that I get called “Iowa Farmer Today” and came across a thing in the livestock section which by the way ain’t half bad. And the price is right. But I was taking a gander at a thing from Texas about the cattle rustling down that way and it sure sparked my interest, especially the part where this cattle rustler was talking about how he can load a big trailer full of cows in a half an hour from a pasture. Now I figured if it wasn’t for the prison sentence hanging over a guy’s head it would be good to team up with a gang like that for a few days and learn how they do that cause I sure can’t. Getting our cattle caught is an adventure in itself. And to just pull up to a place and load em up, well, these guys must be good! Now once ours are corraled its a different story, but to get em corraled is quite a feat! The way I figure it, once that rustler gets out on parole he’d have a good career holding livestock handling clinics all over cattle country. But maybe its the excitement of doing it sneeky that makes it more fun. Plus as I was reading, you go steal a computer or electrical junk and the hot price is pennies on the dollar, but you steal some cattle and the price is what they are worth on the market and a feller could make considerable money in a short amount of time. Luckily that problem is not much of an issue in these parts and I’m thankful for that! I noticed on the way to town a while ago as I drove past one of our fences it looked like someone musta drove through one a ways from the road. No big deal, just another hour’s worth of work to do. Wonder who did it?? Last time old Tom found the license plate that the barb wire tore off the truck that smashed a fence of ours and the deputy was so happy about the only piece of evidence I had that the drunken truck driver was getting visited by the county deputy shortly after the crime scene investigation. Maybe if I have time I’ll head over to that area of fence tomorrow or shortly there after. To blame windy now! This sure is the busy time of the year, but there will always be room for faith things. Faith the country way! Just the way I like it! In many ways its hard to focus on things like that now because of the workload, but once I start in the fields that’s when a person can think all day long on faith matters. Working out here I can see no other way than giving it all to the Lord! And when He’s in charge of the place things happen! I couldn’t even attempt to imagine what it would have been like in the multiple bad years of severe drought without faith that the Lord would see us through it all and we’d come out the other end in good shape. In fact I’m chomping at the bit I’m so excited about getting things back in order around here. The cow herd is smaller than it used to be, but there’s a silver lining with that! The gals that are left around here are the good ones, the survivors, the ones who could take the tough times and keep going, not the slackers that made a good show of it during the years of abundance and then couldn’t hold their own in the tough times. I asked the Lord for a durn good herd and one way or another that’s what I have now! And one must remember, the slackers were a drain on family money, and a feller put up with it, but now they’re gone and the steady cows are left. God is good! And He sees things in the big picture, something no human can really figure. The Lord loves a dirty faced beef cow man as much as He loves high tuned preacher that never gets his fingernails dirty. I think the Lord loves calving season too, watching them little things running doing the calf dance in the evenings. Well, He made them to do that stuff and a God like that is awesome!

Published in: on April 20, 2009 at 8:15 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , ,

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. hi,

  2. Hi Jan!

    Wow, it didn’t take you long to get here 🙂 Thanks for taking a look!

    God Bless!

  3. am going to miss the other one though 😕

    but ya can’t git rid of me that easy 😉

    take care
    it’s time 4 lights out here! nite nite

  4. I’ll miss it too, it was my favorite, but a feller has to move on. It was either that or quit entirely. Every blog I have will be ended in a week or two. That’ll take a heck of allot of pressure off of me and with a little luck I can relax more and have a good old farm and ranch blog with a healthy dose of faith thrown in the mix
    I’m not worried about losing a bunch of readers cause if I do that’s the way it goes. I’m proud of you though! First commenter on this blog!! Hmm, gotta figure out a prize for that I guess 🙂

  5. Howdy Tom!!!

    It is looking good. I will take a look around more here when I get some rest. It is getting late around these parts.

    But, I thought I would say hello none the less.

    Christina

  6. Hi Christina!

    I knew you’d detect the new link 🙂 It was kinda like slipping a note under the door when I made sure it worked!

    Rest, oh yes, that’s something I get in winter 🙂 Gotta get going soon today, its calving season and planting season!

    God Bless!

  7. Morning Tom!
    As much as I dislike to see Healing Waters go the way of the dodo, I can sincerely appreciate your decision. Besides with this look it is like coming home!! 🙂
    Few updates:
    Still haven’t been able to sell, trade or barter the quarter horse so no cattle yet…(father in law has 2 ba bulls and they are a handfull!!!)

    Garden went in this past weekend. 80×90 plot, I think I will have my cup running over come harvest time. I purchased seed from Seed Savers and looking forward to redoing it again next year with my own seeds!! WooHooo!! Corn, pole beans (2 varieties), acorn squash and zuchini(sp).

    I have my auto bio of Peter Cartright but have not been allowed to begin reading…however this interest has opened a few doors in the Methodist church(s) in town. Still seeking Father if attending is the next path for family and I.

    The current path of study is OT Theology and its Hebraic roots, culture and context. As I study this I am digging back into the word. Like you always say, you can never get enough of that living bread inside, (or something like that)

    Bless you brother, keep the faith, ‘quip you like a good soldier, be instant in season and out of season, do the work of an evangelist!!

    p.s. little something I received this morning, might edify you or the readers…sure spoke to me….

    Title: The Light That Fails

    Key Verse: We all with open face beholding … the glory of the Lord.

    A servant of God must stand so much alone that he never knows he is alone.
    In the first phases of Christian life disheartenments come, people who used to be lights flicker out, and those who used to stand with us pass away. We have to get so used to it that we never know we are standing alone. “All men forsook me . . notwithstanding the Lord stood with me” (2 Tim. 4:16-17). We must build our faith, not on the fading light, but on the light that never fails. When “big” men go we are sad, until we see that they are meant to go, the one thing that remains is looking in the face of God for ourselves.

    Allow nothing to keep you from looking God sternly in the face about yourself and about your doctrine, and every time you preach see that you look God in the face about things first, then the glory will remain all through. A Christian worker is one who perpetually looks in the face of God and then goes forth to talk to people. The characteristic of the ministry of Christ is that of unconscious glory that abides. “Moses wist not that the skin of his face shone while he talked with Him.”

    We are never called on to parade our doubts or to express the hidden ecstasies of our life with God. The secret of the worker’s life is that he keeps in tune with God all the time.

    Your brother,
    Brian

  8. Hey Brian!

    I figured the only way I could continue blogging is to drop down to one blog, and it would have to be new, a fresh start. I do like this format and sure am glad you do too!

    Just got in this evening from a long day of field work and planting oats and hays. Do it all over again tomorrow and hopefully get most of it done before the weather decides to work against a guy!Then next week the dust might settle a little and there’s no rush with the corn planting so I can look at the garden and plow er up and get started there.

    If those Methodists are holding true to the Word that’s a pretty good church, if they modernized, well, not so hot! Same as any church as far as that goes I guess. The resources they have for home meetings and such are practically second to none. Plus they really stress holiness which is badly lacking in this day and age. There still are many out there with the fire that was in Cartwright’s time!

    I ain’t doing any study at the moment, just the daily Word, in the New Living Translation, and I love it! And get this fieldwork done with and get going on summer rural ministry, yee haw! Farm and ranch stuff! With some Hispanic stuff thrown in the mix!

    And thank you sir for the nice read! I’m gonna copy and paste that and print it out kinda fancy to have in front of my nose from now on! That really hits home!

    So, I’d better hit the hay and do it all over again tomorrow! Thanks!

    God Bless!


Leave a Reply

